We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location = noisy”
Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“central location = noisy”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

we are staying here for 3 nights on a package and did not chose this place, its central yes but thats it. its noisy and the breakfast is below average, the room is small and the beds hard. i wouldnt tell you not to stay here but its not the place id ever want to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
31
57
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodrum City, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I brought a group of thirteen to the Hotel Olympic while touring Crete. I needed the help of reception to order taxis to take us to the airport on Sunday 27 April. Irene was on duty that morning and when she realised that the police had closed the streets near the hotel because of a Marathon that was being run that morning, she had phoned the taxi company and the police before I had even come down for breakfast. When it as time to leave for the airport she helped us carry our luggage to the pick up point.

I have travelled extensively throughout the world on business and for pleasure and never received such warm, competent and helpful service from reception in any other hotel.

I can recommend the hotel for a stay in Heraklion. Well situated for the sights and restaurants, and it is very clean and comfortable and friendly staff.

Christine Davies

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISTINE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was in Heraklion on a business trip so I stayed for two nights. In the center of the city. No need for car or taxi, we walked around easily. Clean and friendly. We had a little bit of noise because of the cars during the night but as I said for a short visit it is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very good location in the centre of Heraklion. Waking distance from the sea and next to a very popular hawkers market and restaurants. Buffet breakfast was also very good for the price. Taxi stand next to the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunner365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is located close to the centre of the city and also close to the main road to the airport. Although the hotel is old and renovated, it is a decent solution for a short stay, especially if you are in the city for business. Rooms are small and some of them have no view at all. Still, they are clean and all the basic equipment is available as well as free wi-fi. The staff is friendly and eager to help you. Breakfast is quite simple with only the basics.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night, whilst traveling for business. The room rate was low, but fare for what I got; that is a cold room without any personality, a crt tv, and 2 single beds with slightly scented sheets. Also a good wifi (free) and.... that's it. I didn't try breakfast...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located exactly in the centre of Heraklio, everything is walking distance. The best rooms are in the front side facing the square, all with balconies but too noisy because of the traffic; the others on the back side are terribles: very small with even a smaller balcony and noisy as well since they are face the Street as well; the inside ones are better, biggers but no balcony at all. The cleaning is minimum, we stay a week and they never change us the sheets, just the towels (every day) and never clean properly the floor. Considering the prices are a bit too expensive for what the rooms offer but I defenetly recommend the hotel if you want to be good located.

Room Tip: rooms that face the square in the highest floors to not be disturb by the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
25.7 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
114 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
47 reviews
33.5 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.5 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
203 reviews
37.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#15 of 165 in Rethymnon
203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#28 of 33 in Amoudara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Property: Hotel Olympic
Address: Plateia Kornarou 43, Heraklion, Crete 71201, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Olympic Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing