We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good posotion but nothing special”
Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good posotion but nothing special”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

the hotel is perfectly located exactly in the centre of Heraklio, everything is walking distance. The best rooms are in the front side facing the square, all with balconies but too noisy because of the traffic; the others on the back side are terribles: very small with even a smaller balcony and noisy as well since they are face the Street as well; the inside ones are better, biggers but no balcony at all. The cleaning is minimum, we stay a week and they never change us the sheets, just the towels (every day) and never clean properly the floor. Considering the prices are a bit too expensive for what the rooms offer but I defenetly recommend the hotel if you want to be good located.

Room Tip: rooms that face the square in the highest floors to not be disturb by the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    64
    23
    6
See reviews for
33
57
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Location is perfect... at a walking distance you have everything you need... it is clean and the staff is ok... but for the rest everything is so basic... perhaps I had my worst breakfast I ever had in a hotel like this... the poorest and the worse quality in everything from the something that looked like cheese to something that looked like ham... I will absolutely never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evdokimust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Olymipc hotel is very well situated near to the heart of Iraklion. It is a short walk to the main town square, archeological museum and the bus to Knossos. There are a lot of good value restaurants, cafes and and tavernas nearby and the main market street is nearby.

The room was large, cool and spotlessly clean and the air-conditioning ran quietly.. The staff were helpful and spoke excellent english.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is at least one room with a balcony. Ask for when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelling on my own, I stayed here one night on Saturday, 24th A ugust. The room was clean. Traffic noise disturbed my sleep, a little, ands the breakfast was indifferent, to say the least. However, I wonder if anyone else has concerns over missing items? About 10.15pm, I went out for a meal for about 2 hours. Unusually for me, I left a £20 note in the front of my hand luggage (my only luggage) and I think I left my watch. Then and breakfast time were the only times the case was left unattended until I reached my family's rented villa.
Thankfully, I had not left anything of real value in my room.
It wasn't until a week later when I returned to Heraklion that I realised the items were missing. I stayed at another hotel, but checked at reception to see if my watch had been handed in. I didn't pursue the issue because I had no-one with me to corroborate my story; however, a niggle of doubt remains and this is why I ask if anyone else had a similar experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gooseberry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an one day business visit to Heraklion so I had to stay in a centrally located hotel.
An advantage is the taxi rank 24/7 and the shopping area which are next door. I only paid E 65 ( I booked it the day before) which is quite reasonable if you consider the time of the year 31/8 to 1/9. The room (304) is rather small, but the breakfast is rather big and the reception service is quite helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and keep the window closed in high season to ensure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel looked great.Good location, attractive ground floor, good elevator.
I'm a smiley, happy person & usually make friends as I travel. Not one staff member smiled at me in 4 days. I got no sign of recognition at any stage of dropping & picking up key.
I asked for a power converter plug, and the guy answered "No." I followed up with "Really?", & he told me to go to the supermarket somewhere nearby (& closed for the weekend!) to buy one.
Later I phoned Reception to report that my TV was switching itself on & off. The woman replied "Is that all?" An hour later she came to the room to give me a lesson on how to use a remote control!!
Breakfast was just OK, but I don't know why they needed a security guard dressed as a waiter standing over the buffet table in a threatening manner. The coffee was appalling.
The room was clean, no toiletries, inadequate curtains (unless you enjoy seeing sunrise every day), air-con locked to a pre-set I found too cold.
I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmelLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heraklion hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our trip to Crete touring around on our own. Its location was really good as it was convenient to get here from the airport. We took a taxi but the Airport bus also goes through the square in front of the hotel. Great location for sightseeing too. A short walk to the Archaeological museum. Again the bus for Knossos also goes by the hotel. It was a short walk from an area of bars and restaurants which was really busy with locals.

The hotel was very clean and the buffet breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
6.8 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
52 reviews
25.7 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
118 reviews
33.5 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#19 of 35 in Elounda
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.5 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#11 of 31 in Agia Marina
217 reviews
37.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
210 reviews
29.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Property: Hotel Olympic
Address: Plateia Kornarou 43, Heraklion, Crete 71201, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Olympic Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing