We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, great location, very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The location is great, with plenty of places to eat nearby, very close to the centre (5 mins walk) and to the main shopping streets of Heraklion.
The satff are very friendly and helpfull. They will gladly give you advice and go take initiatives to finde or arrange something something for you or solve a problem for you.
Don't expect too much from breakfast, but I still thought that it was adequate and very good for the room price I paid.
The bed was spotless, however the bathroom was not bright and shiny (no serious problems there though, either).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 201 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The location is wonderful for the market, the port area where a lot of the restaurants are and the shopping area. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
We had asked for a room with a double bed and balcony (booked quite a long way in advance) but when we got there and were shown the room it had 3 single beds, 2 pushed together and a balcony. I went back to to reception and the receptionist said that was the only room with a double bed and balcony but if I wanted to move the next day there would be one available at the front of the hotel. However the receptionist gave me the key to 2 other rooms with double beds to look at to see if they were suitable.
These rooms had a double bed but no balcony and were so small, I am sure you would have trouble squeezing past the end of the bed to get to the bathroom. We decided to stay in the room we were in as it was much, much larger being a family room.
The room was very clean and with a small refrigerator. We didnt eat breakfast at the hotel as it was extra so I cant comment on that.
All in all a great little greek hotel right in the centre of everything and very good value at the price of 70euro a night.
I would definately stay here again but I would make sure that I had one of the front rooms with a balcony and double bed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms with a double bed and balcony at the front of the hotel, or the fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here. The room and bathroom were good size and clean. We enjoyed the location ie short walk to shopping, restaurants, port, buses and attractions. All staff were positive and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 while we were on honeymoon trip around Europe and especially Greece. So, our choice of Olympic was not based on tripadvisor but on a suggestion of my friend who stayed before. He was right. The hotel is located in a nice area where there is a bus station in 1 minute from the hotel. The hotel is big and nicely decorated. Not so big rooms but welcomed and clean. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It is centrally located in a clean, safe area, close to museums, shopping, the waterfront. Rooms are large and well equipped with bathtub, satellite TV, etc. I travel on a budget and really felt that I received excellent value here. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel was easy to find, it was central to the main tourist areas including the Archaeological Museum (still mainly closed but with one small gallery worth visiting). It was also close to many bars. Reasonable prices online for a short stay. Staff were friendly in the cafe and bar (they chilled a bottle of wine for us 'cos the cooler in our room was u/s). Lovely balcony on first floor looking out over the old well now cafe (dating back to 16'th c.) Bedding was clean. Room and bathroom was tidy. BUT ... the woman on check out (only one) was intensely rude. She made us wait at least 10 minutes whilst she explained to a couple of tourists how to get to Knossos. All we needed was to check our bill balance. We were thinking of trying to book extra nights for later but she was so rude and aggressive we checked out, took our luggage, and used the Internet to book another hotel nearby. For a double / twin room (2 people) we were only given one key which caused an amount of inconvenience. The hotel is not near a bus route or the bus stations) and so with luggage taxis had to be used.

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Laminate floors, TV, blow dryer, fridge, AC, stand up shower. Triple room was two beds and a cot, but clean. The beds were OK, but the pillows were very hard. The view was of a wall. Very good location right next to shops (of all kinds - groceries/bakeries/tourist items and sinks!) and restaurants, short walk to museum. The breakfast (included) was all right. Internet was an extra charge. They arranged a car rental for us very fast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.6 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#27 of 58 in Heraklion
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 58 in Heraklion
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Plateia Kornarou 43, Heraklion, Crete 71201, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Olympic Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing