We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here. The room and bathroom were good size and clean. We enjoyed the location ie short walk to shopping, restaurants, port, buses and attractions. All staff were positive and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 while we were on honeymoon trip around Europe and especially Greece. So, our choice of Olympic was not based on tripadvisor but on a suggestion of my friend who stayed before. He was right. The hotel is located in a nice area where there is a bus station in 1 minute from the hotel. The hotel is big and nicely decorated. Not so big rooms but welcomed and clean. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It is centrally located in a clean, safe area, close to museums, shopping, the waterfront. Rooms are large and well equipped with bathtub, satellite TV, etc. I travel on a budget and really felt that I received excellent value here. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel was easy to find, it was central to the main tourist areas including the Archaeological Museum (still mainly closed but with one small gallery worth visiting). It was also close to many bars. Reasonable prices online for a short stay. Staff were friendly in the cafe and bar (they chilled a bottle of wine for us 'cos the cooler in our room was u/s). Lovely balcony on first floor looking out over the old well now cafe (dating back to 16'th c.) Bedding was clean. Room and bathroom was tidy. BUT ... the woman on check out (only one) was intensely rude. She made us wait at least 10 minutes whilst she explained to a couple of tourists how to get to Knossos. All we needed was to check our bill balance. We were thinking of trying to book extra nights for later but she was so rude and aggressive we checked out, took our luggage, and used the Internet to book another hotel nearby. For a double / twin room (2 people) we were only given one key which caused an amount of inconvenience. The hotel is not near a bus route or the bus stations) and so with luggage taxis had to be used.

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Laminate floors, TV, blow dryer, fridge, AC, stand up shower. Triple room was two beds and a cot, but clean. The beds were OK, but the pillows were very hard. The view was of a wall. Very good location right next to shops (of all kinds - groceries/bakeries/tourist items and sinks!) and restaurants, short walk to museum. The breakfast (included) was all right. Internet was an extra charge. They arranged a car rental for us very fast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Olympic is a modern, centrally located hotel. We stayed one night and had no complaints with the cleanliness, the staff, or anything else. The breakfast buffet was pretty good and the hotel is within walking distance (two or three blocks) of Plateia Venizelou, which is a fine square with good restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

After spending a wonderful week in a great hotel in the area of Agios Nikolaos (Iberostar Mirabello), we spent a terrible extra night in Crete in this place due to the delay of our flight.

The hotel is located in the very centre of Irakleio, which is not exactly Paris. Our room was small and dull, with the carpet full of stains. We found hair on the pillows (some others of our group found clothes in the closet). It was terribly hot inside, but you couldn’t open the window (looking a narrow patio with all the air conditioned machines) because it was even hotter. You couldn’t turn the air conditioned on, either, because was too noisy for sleeping.

On the morning, we kindly requested a document, in order to make a complaint before the company. It was impossible to obtain a single paper from the hotel, despite the fact that it was true that we spent one night there.

I did not pay anything for the room and seemed to me awful. What if I had to pay for it!

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Ulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.6 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#40 of 58 in Heraklion
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#27 of 58 in Heraklion
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Heraklion
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#18 of 58 in Heraklion
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Plateia Kornarou 43, Heraklion, Crete 71201, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: $50 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete is the biggest island of Greece, its capital is Heraklion, which is the most populous city on the island. Heraklion is a bustling city that still retains traces of its history. The Olympic Hotel, a 3 stars hotel, has a great reputation in Heraklion from back in 1969 and is located on Kornarou Square, one of the most famous and central squares of the city. Due to its great location, the hotel is very easy to reach and allows you to quickly get to most of the attractions the city has to offer. Hotel Olympic is a 3 * hotel with 73 comfortable rooms renovated in 2003 of which one is fully equipped for people with special needs and in 2017 the reception area and the main restaurant were fully renovated. All rooms are tastefully and elegantly decorated. They are fully equipped with air conditioning, double glazing windows, satellite TV, direct dial phone, mini fridge, safe, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi access (adjoining rooms available). The hotel offers a restaurant offering Greek and Cr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Olympic Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing