We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, and we'll be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lato Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It is a wonderful feeling to wake up in the morning, and to gaze over the marina, to the fortress and beyond. If you stay at Lato, make sure you ask for a room with a view. The best time to visit is in the summer, when Herb's Garden is open. We'll be going back in March 2014, when we will dine at Brillant, the second restaurant in the hotel, as I understand Herb's is only open in the warmer season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mihaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

The best advantage of the hotel is its position
Walking distance from the port if you arrive by boat ,walking distance from the city bus station ,which we took to go to Knosos ancient palace with only 1.40€
Only 10' walk to go from the hotel to the city center for shopping or eating
The room was very modern ,clean and spacious
I liked the breakfast that it was traditional and continental
Nice people at the reception
I appreciated that they gave me the room earlier than the typical hour since I had arrived before 2

Room Tip: If you are a family ask the connected room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axyga x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is very special to us as it was our first stay during our Greek Odyssey. We opened the door to our spacious sea-facing room and took a deep breath as we looked out to the fortress and harbour, it was magical. We dined in the rooftop restaurant and still dream of the delicious cuttlefish risotto (worth travelling half way around the world for...). The reception staff were excellent in helping us to hire a car and pointing us in the right direction for a walk to the nearby Archaeological Museum (an absolute must if you intend to visit Knossos). We loved this hotel and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: a room in the main building facing the fortress is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at a superior room with sea view in the main building (85.50 euros in January). I had asked for high floor with the view of the fortress. We were very happy with the room. It was quite large with a big balcony and magnificent views.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. Only 5-10 minutes walk from the main bus station. Buses to Knossos also leave from that bus station. The buses to the airport depart from a different stop, but again, within easy walking distance.

Iraklion is a nice city. We liked it better than Chania. This hotel is very close to the town center.

Breakfast was OK. The people at the front desk were courteous. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it. We also requested a breakfast package due to our early flight, but the contents were not worth the effort.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel. The only problem we had was the noise of the toilets flushing. This happened every other minute during the day. The noise was still there but less at night. I mentioned it while checking out and looks like they are aware of the problem, but there isn't much that can reasonably be done about it. Earplugs?

Room Tip: Main building,high floow with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korinna_Alexandry, General Manager at Lato Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear ryokogasuki,

Thank you for choosing Lato Boutique Hotel for your accommodation while in Crete. We are very happy to receive your great feedback concerning our property and services, as well as the city itself.

Your input is very valuable to us and contributes the most in our efforts for excellence.

Your remarks have been already processed and I am happy to confirm that concerning “early breakfast package” our team has applied specific actions towards exciding expectations.

Concerning the unfortunate incident of constant noise during the day, that was due to a maintenance error to the staff elevator during its operation hours (that was the reason for lacking this noise during night hours). We are deeply sorry for this awkward occasion. It’s totally fixed now. Your room at the top floor is neighboring only a couple of suites, which by no means would have generated toilet flushing noise at all.

We are committed in implementing all necessary procedures and investing all necessary resources in providing high quality hospitality services. There is nothing that can stand between us and our goals in meeting our guests’ expectations and fulfilling their needs.

We are grateful for your preference and your kind feedback and we are all looking forward to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lato Boutique Hotel is located conveniently close to the ferry port and the bus station and just a few blocks away from Heraklion downtown area. If you book a room with a view (the sea, of course), it's just ok, but if you don't, rooms are tiny and the view is awful. On the other side, staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is just ok.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricio_Odw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Last October I had the chance to visit Heraklion - Crete right on the Eve of The Cretan Union Cup.
I stayed at Lato and was simply impressed by its unique location, the kindness of the staff. My room was super comfortable, with lovely colors, super clean and with a beautiful terrace. I couldn´t take my eyes from the azure sea and endless blue of the sky. I thought that was the best of my experience until I went to the hotel´s roof-top restaurant – Herb´s Garden and tasted the fabulous food, while enjoying the views of the city at night. Simply amazing. My trip was only for two days, but I enjoyed every minute and Lato´s staff made a really enjoyable stay for me. I will come back to visit Crete and I already know where I´ll be staying: at Lato Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views at the Venetian Castle. You´ll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corinamanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for five days between Christmas and New Year's for a wedding. The hotel was almost fully booked but the service was still excellent. We were given a very small room upon check-in so went back to Reception to enquire if a bigger room was available. They moved us straight away into a much bigger room. They even showed us two more rooms the following day. Our room was in the main building and it was the most spacious out of all the rooms we were shown. The two other rooms they showed us the next day were in the annex and were smaller but more modern with tea and coffee making facilities. I preferred the look of the more modern rooms in the annex but we would have had a view of the road outside of the hotel so we decided to stay in the main building with a partial view of the fort.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food and wine they served at the wedding was very good. We were particularly impressed with the Reception staff who went out of their way to help us with any queries we had. There aren't many parking spaces outside the hotel but you can leave your car keys at Reception and someone parks/collects the car for you. There was one night when we got disturbed by noise from an adjacent room and loud talking in the hallway. The hotel isn't all that well insulated and the doors to the rooms are quite noisy to close. But this wouldn't stop us from staying here again. The location is perfect within walking distance to the fort, the centre and various nice tavernas. The only thing missing is a pool. The hotel does have a sauna/steam room but you have to pay to visit them which is a shame as in most hotels access to the spa is free for guests. On the plus side, there is a computer with free access to the internet and free printing in the lobby, which was great because we could check in online and print our boarding passes for the flight back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerurlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Address: Epimenidou 15, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $61 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing