We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lato Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and fantastic location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very sweet little hotel located just minutes from the action of Heraklion harbor and old town. When we checked in we were given a double bed with a huge room. We had a sitting room and a very large deck. After the first night we asked for a king bed and with no problem our room was changed. The second room wasn't as big and we didn't have the sitting room, but it was fine for us. Everything was so clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The reception staff was very helpful while we were in Heraklion, but they went above and beyond when I called from Chania and told them I left some posters in my room. They offered to mail them to me and I got them within the week!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    589
    163
    35
    10
See reviews for
293
946
91
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limetz-Villez, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Magnificent sight of the room and the Panoramic restaurant. Close to the historic centre and culinary pleasures. Isolated well Chamber. Most : smiling and always attentive staffs. Situated well to use and to connect all the ways of transportation. Only Inconvenience some planes.

Room Tip: Rooms the full South are very well with sight on the seaport. We had a room western side. In our ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location is great within easy walking distance of waterfront, shopping and restaurants. As it was our anniversary, we ordered the romance package. When we arrived, chilled champage and hors d'oeuvres were waiting for us. Our room was decorated with rose petals and candles. The room was a very nice size, modern, with a large balcony looking over the port. Beautiful and spotlessly clean. We ate upstairs in the roof top restaurant one night and the food was delicious. What really made the stay special for us though was the lovely staff. Everyone from the desk clerk to the valet to the waiter was so gracious and helpful. Thank you Lato for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, accessible to the high street and Venetian harbor (150 meters), to the airport (5 kilometers), to the main bus station (200 meters), and the archeological museum (100 meters). It's a popular choice. Reception staff cope well with the busy-ness. I stayed there for the first occasion in May. My room was on the west side, with a balcony and an angle-view towards the Venetian harbor. A good size room; warning: the entrance to the shower recess would defy anyone more obese than me. The room was very tastefully painted in 'Minoan' colors. There was wifi connectivity in the room, and a computer and printer on the ground floor. I paid €82,5 a night for each of 2 nights (includes breakfast), for a 'superior single room with seaview', in May. I also arranged an airport pickup through them for €15. There is a standard Western breakfast; I didn't try the coffee. (For excellent coffee go to the small coffee-shop (i.e. a shop that sells coffee beans and real coffee) called CoffeeWay on Avgoustou 25 Street, between the Venetian loggia and the Morosini fountain.) There is a minimarket a couple of shops away. Mosquitoes at night, I had to shut the balcony door. I liked being in my room. I had a second stay there 5 days later (May 31) for 1 night, before catching a plane to Istanbul the next day. I had not been able to book a room with a sea view, and had booked a 'superior single room' [without seaview necessarily] at price €74 (included breakfast). On my previous visit to the hotel, 4 days earlier, I had put in a request for a seaview (which I was prepared to pay for), on my return, if one came up. When I checked in this second time my room did have a seaview, to the west, as on previous visit. This room was similar to the previous, though the configuration of the shower recess was more accommodating to wider people; the balcony was smaller. The view of the Venetian harbor was the same. Perfect. It was good to be able to print out my flights' boarding passes at the computer on the ground floor. Around 16:40, room service dropped in a plate of pastries, just for me, the bloke said; I have no idea why or who else was getting them -- no idea what they were either: they looked like the pasta type called farfalla but were a wee bigger and honey-sweet. This hotel is indeed a 'top choice'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We (three women) had a very comfortable stay in Hotel Lato. The location is superb - easy to get to Bus Station A (3 min walk) from where the buses to Knossos leave, as well as buses for Rethimno, Chania, and other south-eastern destinations in Crete. The room for three that we were given when we arrived was loud at night. It was room 225 and it was facing the street on one side and the hotel elevator on the other. So after the first night we asked for another room. The staff did their best to find another room for us. We went out for the day and they moved our luggage to the new room. The new room was 103 and it was was great. It had a view of the harbor but facing a quiet back plaza between houses. It had two balconies and french doors. The bathroom was large, with a luxurious shower.

The neighborhood felt very safe, a short walk to the main drag, 25 August St.

Room Tip: Room 225 is very loud as it faces the street. Ask for a room facing the harbor as those rooms seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June. It is a modern hotel in a good location. Easy walk to the harbor, to sites and shopping. The staff was very helpful and efficient. The breakfasts were typical of the European buffet breakfasts -- good but not exceptional. Our room had a sea view and it was clean, modern and comfortable. We had an unfortunate experience with El Greco tours cancelling our Samaria Gorge tour at the last minute, and the hotel worked very hard to find us another. They were unsuccessful, but we truly appreciated their efforts on our behalf.

The staff helped arrange tours to Knossos, to Arina Beach and to Chania. They seemed very customer focused and we recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Never Too Old to Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel has the best location in town. Very near the main bus station. Hotel is clean and looks fresh. The hotel upgraded us to a suite which was a very nice surprise. :) The view from our balcony in the room was fantasic. Big shower room with very good water pressure which makes bathing an enjoyment. The complimentary buffet breakfast was the best we had during our 2 weeks trip in Greece. Lots of varieties to choose. Wifi was strong in the room and the english channels with CNN, BBC and Eurosport made your stay even better. Staff was courteous and friendly. The Herbs Garden on roof top was a must to visit. The service was very good and the view was awesome indeed. We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were to visit Heraklion!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
173 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Property: Lato Boutique Hotel
Address: Epimenidou 15, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing