We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This score of 5 is indicative of the other meals we have had in Crete”
Review of Ladokolla

Ladokolla
Ranked #29 of 401 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This score of 5 is indicative of the other meals we have had in Crete”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is a rating on the Crete scale not the overall world scale. That said, we really enjoyed our meals. We started by sharing a Caesar Salad. I wouldn't call it a traditional Caesar salad but it was very enjoyable. Our mains were specials. Mine was a cuttlefish rissoto with ink and my wife's was a grilled grouper with fresh tomatoe and cheese sauce with shrimp. The service was very pleasant but rather slow. That was O.K. One server really went over the top to explain the menu and wines to us ---- his name is Apostolis and he is great. Apostolis took the time to review the fresh fish specials of the day. If we wouldn't have gotten him we would have been relagated to ordering off the menu. That said, I am confident that the regular menu food would have been great as well. Apostolis is proud of his culture and wants everyone to share it ---- wines, food, etc. A really good fellow. The outdoor atmosphere was extremely pleasant in a small open area/square.
This was our last night in Heraklion and this restaurant and meal was a great way to top off our experience. As they say --- try it, you will like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LostWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    87
    25
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in Heraklion!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended by a good friend of ours who my fiancée and I were staying with in Heraklion. We were walking around the main square and our friend suggested we go there and said they have the best sea food. Our friend knew the owner and told us that this restaurant is owned by a very nice family. We were greeted very warmly by one of the daughters of the owner and even though we didn't have reservation, she gave us a great table outside. I really liked the theme of the restaurant which I would say was kind of a Tapas style where you could order a few different dishes and share it amongst friends. We ordered fried calamari which was the best fired calamari I have ever had. We also ordered a salad, fried shrimp, fish, risotto and shrimp spaghetti. It was a lot of food for three people but we really wanted to try different things and I am so glad that we did because everything was just so delicious. At the end they gave us a complimentary desert where we had the chance to try a few different kind of deserts. My favourite was the apple pie paired with ice cream which was out of this world. All in all the service was impeccable and the food was outstanding and we would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnasseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood ouzeris in Greece!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Heraklio would not be the same without Ladokola. A relatively newcomer, counts roughly around ten years in town, but it has been established as probably the best seafood ouzeri, in a place with admittedly strong competition.

Natasa in the service is the soul of the place, but her father in the kitchen is the General and at the same time the Commando who makes sure that everything is executed in perfect order, even in hectic times when the place is operating at full capacity.

A huge menu is offered. Perhaps it is best to decide first whether you are having seafood or meat. This will immediately decrease the options and help you manage the chaotic menu easier. Although the meat dishes are equally satisfactory, the strong point of Ladokola is the seafood. Do not be afraid to order even the most scary sounding and looking dishes, they are always perfectly cooked and of excellent quality. If in doubt what to choose, Natasa will safely and efficiently guide you through the menu and help you order what suits better to your taste.

On the expensive side, around 30-35 euros per person, however, still very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monika from Poland”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the best reataurant in Heraklion. Run by fantastic passionate family fully dedicated to customers and quality of food. I am food lover, snobish and exploring a lot of restaurants in Europe. The restuarant was recommended by local friend. Dry octopus delicious!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Day Out”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Just a few beggars walking round, but no fault of their own. An excellent meal out. The best around. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladokolla also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Ladokolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing