We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and atmosphere but food is average”
Review of Bistro La Boheme - CLOSED

Bistro La Boheme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Me and my business partner, created this bistro, according 3 factors:quality, aesthetics and quality. We try keep prices as low as we can even that creates us some other problems..... We are a small bistro that can provide food services up to 18-20 people at same time but only after a reservation.Normaly we can serve 15-16 same time...We use a high quality certified organic extra virgin olive oil that we also produce..I mention that as we use olive oil in most of our dishes..Please feel free to contact us for any further information you want... Thank YouAlex
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere but food is average”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have heard excellent comments for this restaurant but unfortunately after visiting it we were a bit disappointed food-wise, The atmosphere and service were perfect, however the food was not what we expected. We had a La Boheme salad and bruschette to start. The bruschette were very good but the salad was...boring. For main dish there is a limited choice (only 4 items, different every night) and again we thought that it wasn't something special..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManosPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
241 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A lovely Italian restaurant in the centre of town”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This small, seven table restaurant is very good. A small menu with daily specials written on a chalkboard, but everything good. We had a very fresh salad (in fact everything was fresh), bruschetta, penne pasta specials and lasagne as a family of four. Good wine list and excellent service.

The cost is above that of a taverna, but its worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small cozy tasteful”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Bruchettes with salami gorgeous. Penne with gorgonzola great. 1 portion is sufficient for 2. Pannacotta with crunchy Nutella a trouvaille. Prosecco flowery and elegant. Pino Grigio as it should be. Espresso like home. Limoncello digests it well. The family offers a tranquil setting with homemade stuff.
Pleasant and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Enjoyable return visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This tiny restaurant was just a five minute walk away from our hotel. We had eaten here previously in May and enjoyed it so much we just had to go back for more. Fabulous bruschetta followed by home-made tagliatelle verdi with pesto al limone, so wonderfully different from ordinary pesto. My husband had penne with fresh salmon and smoked salmon, quite rich but very tasty. There are only four or five dishes on the blackboard but all are made fresh. This is our second visit and won't be our last. Love it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Italian family restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Homemade Italian style food. Good quality with personal attention of the owners. Fresh and good tasting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Boheme also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing