We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ruins”

The Palace of Knossos
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.88*
and up
Knossos and Heraklion Day Tour from Rethimno
More Info
$138.81*
and up
Private Tour to Knossos and Archaeological Museum or Shopping from Heraklion
More Info
$56.56*
and up
Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour
Ranked #4 of 84 things to do in Heraklion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These labyrinthine ruins are said to have been home to the monstrous Minotaur, a half-man half-bull creature that devoured young virgins.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Ruins”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My sister and I visited these ruins on 30th September. We were able to enter for free due to it being a Heritage weekend when we visited. We decided not to use a tour guide but just wandered the huge site ourselves at our own pace, every now and again listening to other peoples guides as we passed, at least the ones speaking English. We really enjoyed the site as we both love ruins and history and it was well worth a visit and a bonus to get in free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kkscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,437
    2,809
    1,693
    516
    187
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very interesting, impressive, just unbelievable. The only problem is that even in October it is overcrowded, I could imagine what goes on during the season. It could spoil your experience because there is absolutely no opportunity to have a good look almost at anything. You really have to be there at the opening or may be before closing. The place is open sun

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alonaandsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very touristic”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Greek’s history is so rich and interesting that we figured we had to visit the “most important monument in Crete” (as quoted in many places) when in the area.
Well, it was interesting enough and worth the 1 hour visit. Not more than that. You can hire a guide and hope to be lucky and run into a good one, or you can read the details as you walk you own pace (signs and explanations in English are good). Expect many tourists and many locals trying to sell whatever they can to the tourists.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJAelxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Archeological vandalism? we thought so.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Knossos is clearly a site that should have been worth seeing, but the problem was we couldn't decide what had been rebuilt and what was original. We were very disappointed. We happened upon a ancient town called Gournia just to the East of Ag Nik - better and more interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Malame to Knossos”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took a 1 day trip from Malame to Knossos with the holiday company Thomson/First Choice.Think it was 48 Euros at the time of writing There are other alternatives. You can hire a car, use local buses which means a journey into Chania, bus to Heraklion, bus to Knossos. We didn't want to use these, so the tour was our option.

The coach picked us up promptly at 7am and then made the journey to pick up at other hotels. The coach was comfortable and air conditioned, but offered no refreshments. There was some delay as we transferred passengers of different nationalities from one coach to another. Not sure if this is a usaul practise or something to do with the guides available on the day. We picked up our guide on the way. We reached Knossos at around 1030am. We had to buy our entrance tickets (6 Euros) as these were not included in the tour.

After a toilet break and drinks, the guided tour started shortly before 11am. It's very hot at the site but the guide gives you a chance to rest and find shade as she describes the Palace.

She was very infomative and made the tour of Knossos very enjoyable. The tour lasted just over 2 hours and then we had an opportunity for a quick drink and then back to the coach.

The trip also incuded a stop in Heraklion. The guide gave us an orientation talk on Heraklion and then we had just under 2 hours to wander and get some lunch. The town has some sites worth viewing, including a couple of museums.There are some good resaturants towards the harbour.

We got back on the coach at 4pm and got back to Malame around 7.30pm.

It is a long day. Much of the original Palace has been lost. The original reconstruction had been carried out hastily using the available material which happened to be concrete. The Palace and the grounds are interesting and Heraklion is worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vinny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace of Knossos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Palace of Knossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing