We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, good, basic, city centre hotel”
Review of Iraklion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iraklion Hotel
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good, basic, city centre hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed on my own at the Iraklion for two nights, while I was exploring Knossos and the other sites around Iraklion, before heading off to another part of the island, and would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere that's good, basic and central. It's a family run hotel, and the best thing about it is the service, all the staff I encountered were really friendly and welcoming, they do that lovely thing of seeming to really enjoy helping you, and take obvious pride in treating each guest like a family friend. The room I was in was quite small but facilities were all fine, it was good value vs what they charge. Breakfast is never the most high priority meal of the day at Greek hotels, but their breakfast is perfectly decent. You're 5 minutes walk from the bars and restaurants of 25 Avgoustou and Korai, and not much further from the port, which is well worth a stroll around. Also very close to the bus stop from which you can catch the bus to Knossos. It's fairly no frills, I wouldn't recommend it for a longer/relaxing stay, but as a central resting place from which you can explore the city and the sites, it's perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samlowry1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    123
    48
    10
    2
See reviews for
46
98
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was not too far (within walking distance) from the action and the room was large and clean. I liked the balcony too. My only complaint about this hotel was that there was a stale oder from previous smokers. We were located on the 5th floor with a view of the rooftops. It wasn't the prettiest sight but, not bad for the price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloMe-oTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent four nights at the Iraklion, The room was large and clean, the staff invariably friendly and helpful. Zacarias, the owner, runs his hotel with pride and instills his staff with it as well. It is about 10 easy minutes to the main shopping street with many restaurants, bars and shopping. Google maps shows it in a different location, much closer to the port, so use the physical address to find it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I stayed here overnight on our visit to Crete and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They had great recommendations for local restaurants and how to navigate the city. It's in a wonderfully convenient location, very walkable to city center where there are many cafes and shops, and to the water. Clean rooms and fast WiFi. Highly recommended to stay here.

Room Tip: From other reviews we requested a room on upper floor and away from street which made for a quiet st...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rugsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We took the bus from Crete to Iraklion which was an easy and cheap mode of transportation. Upon arriving at the bus station it's about a 10 min walk to the hotel or you can get a cab. This is a simple, clean, business style hotel that is located close to the port and other places in town and restaurants. We picked up our ferry tickets from the office (5 min walk from the hotel). The breakfast is standard and the staff can help you with basic questions. Stayed here in Sept. 2011.

Room Tip: Sea view room is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I'm travelling around Europe for three months so everything I do and every place I stay has to be in a budget.

I stayed here for five days and it was a simple gem. For the price you got exactly what you paid for, a simple room with a bathroom and television. It has a desk and wardrobe to hang clothes if you want. They were nice enough to put me on the fifth floor in the direction of the ocean so i had a beautiful view from the balcony.

I came by boat from Athens and arrived at the hotel at 6am. Check in isn't until 12pm. They were nice enough to let me take a nap in another room until 12 and then I was able to check into my actual room. It was perfect as I was tired.

Room service is inconsistent. The third day two ladies came pounding at my door asking if I needed room service.. Well at that point I was over it and found the towel cabinet so have been taking my own towels. Then another day someone came storming into my room while I was sleep. No knock no warning. I told her I was fine and didn't need the room service.

Hotel is centrally located. Near the center where all the bars and restaurants are and close enough to walk to the water.

If your just looking for a place to rest your head this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dche85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in October 2012. I mistakenly booked the wrong dates through greeka.com. I emailed the hotel and was pleased that they corrected my error promptly. Throughout my stay the service was swift, efficient and friendly. The breakfast buffet (€4 extra charge) was a bargain.
The hotel is on a side street just off a main road but the traffic noise is very moderate for a Greek city. Cleanliness flawless - I'd happily hire their cleaners for my home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntheFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Heraklion
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iraklion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iraklion Hotel

Property: Iraklion Hotel
Address: Kalokerinou & Delimarkou Str. 128, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#12 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iraklion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iraklion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iraklion Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing