We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super amazing - value for money - traditional experience”

Ligo Krasi...Ligo Thalassa
Ranked #27 of 396 Restaurants in Heraklion
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“super amazing - value for money - traditional experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved everything in this restaurant! I have visited this place twice and I was waiting this summer so as to go again. It's not cheap and it's not expensive. I could say that it makes you happy giving money for the taste of the plates and the amount of food that they provide you! The dessert that they are offering for free is the cherry on the cake as they're not stopping bringing more & more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evanpierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    179
    110
    42
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you'd like to be ripped off then this is the place”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been in Crete for over 2 months and sampled some delicious meals all over the island with fantastic service and great value for money. We decided to give Ligo Krasi a try and it was a big mistake. It appears as a popular joint with a busy service and full tables. The waiters run around looking busy with bluetooth in their ears and many shouts across the restaurant. Yet it takes them over 20 minutes to take your order, then another 30 minutes to get your food. We ordered the fish of the day and were shown a fresh whole fish and told it would weigh 500gm. When it arrived, we were shocked to see only half of the fish on the plate and a 1/3 of it was its big head! When we asked the waiter what had happened to the remaining half, he said they had filleted it as it tastes better that way and that we would only be charged for the half we'd been served. What false reassurance! The bill arrived and we had been charged for the entire fish! and when we disputed this, we were told that they weigh the fish before the bones and scales are taken off (claiming that the scales would weigh 150gm- total lie!).

There are plenty of honest, delicious restaurants in Heraklion where you can have delicious fresh fish for half the price this restaurant charges. Ligo Krasi is run by a bunch of guys whose sole interest is to make a fast buck by ripping off tourists! Avoid at any cost!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Parad0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lemon or fish?”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It looks like Heraklion is NOT the best place where to have good dinners in Crete. We spent here the first and last night and during the latter we had dinner in this kind of fast food. First impression was that the waiters where threatened to die immediately if they stopped running at the speed o light... not a relaxing place. When it came to the food, everything was average, as long as the fish dishes did not arrive. But then: the grilled cuttlefish was dry, the sardines where not fresh and flavored with lemon (old trick to cover the unpleasant smell of not fresh fish), as well as the "steamed mussels" that we never had dressed with lemon before. However, despite the lemon, in this case they smelled too much, so we left them all. If you are good at recognizing fresh fish, you may check in the showcase, choose a good one and have it just grilled. But if you are not (or, just like us, you don't want any of the exposed ones), you better avoid this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianpaolo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Europe
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place, tasty food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place definitely deserves higher ranking. Wide choice of fish and meet, great salads and amazing appetizers. Seafood comes at good value prices and thank-you sweets and raki is more than generous. Get the pasta with seafood, which is more than enough for two!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 01SKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely fish”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Filled with Greek families enjoying Sunday lunch. Lovely views towards the Venetian fort. The fish, burgers and tuna salads we ordered were delicious - so was the raki!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ligo Krasi...Ligo Thalassa also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Ligo Krasi...Ligo Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing