We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned Loads”

Knossos Archaeological Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.20*
and up
Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour
More Info
$213.56*
and up
Knossos Palace and Heraklio town Private Half Day Tour
Ranked #8 of 84 things to do in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knosos Archaeological site 12km south of Heraklion
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Learned Loads”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was amazed by all the stuff you don't get taught in school. I'm probably going to sound really stupid now but I always thought the civilised world in Europe started with the Romans. The Greeks were thousands of years ahead and I really had no idea! To be fair I've enjoyed reading up on it after visiting more than I enjoyed being there but I'm glad I went. The expensive tour guides are very very pushy and most of the information points are more concerned with the bloke who discovered the ruins rather than the history of the place in it's prime. A scale model would have been really useful to be able to see the whole site and layout but overall a good experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    718
    385
    123
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Archeology or vandalism?”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Certainly there was a Minoan palace at Knossus. But what you will see is the fanciful interpretation and crude reconstruction of what Arthur Evans thought he was excavating. Basically, almost everything you can see, the red pillars, etc. is fake. Worse, the shoddy concrete fantasies have obliterated in many places the actual archeological remains, ruining the site for further study. Add to this the swarms of visitors, even at the end of October, the trashy souvenir shops selling "authentic museum copies", and this is an experience I would sooner forget. At least the frequent and cheap bus service to/from Iraklion gets you out of there as quickly as possible!

If you want to learn about Minoan culture, instead visit the excellent newly-renovated archeological museum in Iraklion, and the extraordinary and beautifully preserved excavations of the Minoan town at Akrotiri on Santorini. In both places you will find one-tenth of the crowds, and ten times the information about actual Minoan civilization.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly disappointing !!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to Crete specifically to study the Minoan Civilization, and all of the tour/guide books indicate unequivocally that this Museum is the place to see everything that we wanted to see,

However, there was one room with in which parts of frescos reproduced and you could see what they might have looked like when they were whole, and another small room with some bits and bobs , but nowhere the wonderful collection and displays, which we had expected to be the highlight of our trip to Crete.

The reason?

Simple, they have been doing a "Renovation" of this museum since 2006 !!!!

No problems for them I guess, they get the same admission price...

WHAT A HUGE DISSAPPOINTMENT !

Obviously they don't let it be known that all of the treasures you're looking forward to seeing,
are put away for the " renovation"

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyzabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recreation of ancient civilization”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The history surrounding Knossos is fascinating; an ancient civilization with advanced knowledge of engineering and architecture that was destroyed following a volcanic eruption in Santorini. Subsequently man took several centuries to rediscover the knowledge lost along with the Minoan people.

Despite visiting in October (off season) the site remained busy with guided tour groups which can make exploring the complex difficult.

Most structures has been reconstructed since the initial discovery of the archeological site, intended to give one an impression of the Minoan civilization, although this may be inaccurate and doesn't allow the visitor to create their own impressions.

The authenticity of this archeological site has not been preserved, our visit didn't live up to expectations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

wonderful and interesting experience. Amazing art and engineering of the times. Definitely must see words can not explain how amazing this archeological gem is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knossos Archaeological Site also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Knossos Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing