We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurants with great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herb's Garden

Herb's Garden
Ranked #11 of 361 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here's the finest "balcony" in the city embraced by the soft breeze of the Cretan Sea, offering the most beautiful panoramic views of the old city harbor and the Venetian fortress you'll ever see. The inspired menu primes your palate for fresh fish and seafood cooked to perfection, tender meats, refreshing vegetables and season salads, fine appetizers accompanied by ouzo or raki, and a variety of fine wines.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurants with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked our hotel room at Lato and thought we go out for a place on the main square for dinner. All the restaurants seemed touristy so we decided to go back to our hotel and try the herb garden. Great place and excellent service! - sure beats most places in our home town Sydney, Australia. Definitely recommend Herb Garden.

Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    110
    28
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
312 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is on top of the Lato hotel, were we stayed. Make a reservation, it is small and popular with tourist and locals. It has a great view of the harbor, Venetian fort, Med sea and surrounding mountains of Crete. The food is excellent. I tried the Creten goat, which tasted like a lamb-beef roast. My friends tried the mussels, rabbit and white grouper. We shared a mousaka. They have mostly Creten wines, which pair well with the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Greek food with a modern twist.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A beautiful setting, overlooking The Venetian Harbour in Heraklion. The service we received was excellent, attentive but not intrusive.
The food was simply outstanding in it's quality and presentation. It was elegant and unique both in flavour and design.
Having spent two weeks eating traditional food with local Cretans in Tavernas situated where tourists would fear to tread, this was so different. The traditional Cretan menu is very much the same wherever you go but this was such a pleasant change to order from such a creative menu.
I would not hesitate in recommending a visit to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
234 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nouvelle style Greek cuisine high above the port.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A great view and good food and service. A smarter restaurant than normal in Heraklion - starched table clothes, and prices to match. A lot of Cretan dishes (rabbit, goat) as well as the more standard ones - the fish (white grouper) was well flavoured. Excellent ice cream for pudding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, amazing view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Food was excellent, not many choices on the menu but each and every one of their dishes was unique. Great taste and presentation. Friendly staff, polite and professional. The view is simply stunning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene_kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb's Garden also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Herb's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing