We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peri Orexeos

Peri Orexeos
Ranked #39 of 361 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed in Heraklion on a trip to Crete last month and ate at this restaurant twice, having seen the good reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed - the food was lovely (though the pasta was overcooked - but then, it's not Italy!) and it's a small and friendly place with a great ambience. Best of all - after our starter and main course, we hadn't ordered any desserts, but when we'd finished everything, they brought not only the traditional raki (lovely - but very strong!) but also a couple of desserts!! This surprised us the first time, and we wondered if it was just because we hadn't been there before - sort of a temptation to come back again? But the same thing happened on our second visit, several days later. This is a great little restaurant in the centre of Heraklion, located in a charming little alleyway lined with boutiques and small cafes and restaurants. If you're dining out in Heraklion, try this one - it won't disappoint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyD1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    59
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very good service, traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The restaurant serves traditional food and it was recommended to us by a local. It is located in a area full of restaurants and bars so there is a good vibe in the area if you like to be in the thick of the social scene. The service was very good, quick and friendly. The food is traditional Greek food. On the whole the meal was very good some dishes were better than others. The pork was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just had a great night out in this small and excelent resturants
Food was really creative and deliciuos and the waiters where friends (-:
The desert comes free nad it is a really good choclate soufle. We liked it so much we got a nother one and the grappa (or vodka) was pouring like watter.
Great place to go to!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itzik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
“Charming low key restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went here with my mum and the food was delicious. I ordered a chicken salad and an eggplant salad which are simple meals but the food was done so well it was an absolute pleasure to eat. Mum had the chicken stuff with feta and loved her meal too.The next evening we tried to restaurant across the street for something different and it was also nice but not as nice as Peri and much more expensive. Next time I am in Heraklion I will certainly come back as the service was quick and the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Subin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty food in very well decorated environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last Saturday we had psaronefri cooked in a roll, green salad and Cretan cheese saganaki, a glass of wine and a beer all with E 34 a very reasonable price and were treated with fruits and ice cream. We really enjoyed our meal and the service. The only catch was that no formal receipt was issued.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peri Orexeos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Peri Orexeos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing