We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very delicious seafood”
Review of Ippokambos

Ippokambos
Ranked #9 of 393 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very delicious seafood”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location of the restaurant is very convenient with a nice view of the harbour. Service was great, the guys very welcoming and polite and made us feel comfortable. The food is just amazing! We had the garides saganaki (so yummy!), the fried kalamarakia (fresh), the octopus, the dakos salad and the grilled mushrooms (which were slightly overdone unfortunately..). We were also offered two desserts and raki in the end! It was suggested to us by locals and would definitely recommend it to anyone that likes seafood!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DespoinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    237
    68
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you like to wait for your food, eat by the road and smoking guests. This is the place”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went out for a quick dinner and returned three hours later without having had my main course served. The restaurant is located right by a road with heavy traffic. Smoking is allowed.
Obviously there is something about the place, as people are standing in line to get a table. I did not get it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife had desperately wanted to eat here again from a previous visit a dozen years ago, which told me it should be great. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for vacation (in the prime tourist season), and we only managed to eat once before leaving Crete. I must admit, the location is spectacularly scenic, with the ocean walkway and Venetian fortress nearby. The food was great, even above the normal high standard you get in Heraklion. The service was exceptional. For instance, our server told us that we were ordering too much, so we pared back our order, and the portions were perfect. I'd gladly go back, and heartily suggest trying it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcpKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besancon, France
1 review
“life's best experience in a restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I often go to restaurant in many places around the world. But this time, it was a really authentic welcome! This is so unusual for touristic destination! The boss is very friendly but always at the right distance. Very very kind atmosphere.
The food is excellent, quality/price rate is also excellent. I also noticed that many Greek and Cretan people eat there. Good indication that the place is just wonderful.
Go there and ask a "raki plate". This is really typical and wonderfully tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unbeatable value for money !!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant two times during our vacation: the first time after having read the recommendation on a popular tourist guide. The outside veranda was quite crowded, and we noticed that some other customers had the same guide on their tables, so we were worried to have chosen the classic "tourist trap" with cheap food at high price.
None of it: the place is full of local people, the menu is "no frills" but includes lovely appetizers (don't miss the mashed "fava" - broad beans - with onions and olive oil) and very tasty seafood and fish dishes (I personally loved the grilled octopus and the grilled sardines). The final dessert and raki are offered by the house and this is definitely a plus.
The staff is efficient but courteous, and despite the crowding, you never have the feeling to be "pushed" to leave your table to someone else.
We visited various restaurants in Crete with good food at reasonable price, but Ippokampos beats them all !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve_b2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippokambos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Ippokambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing