We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time I tried seafood and the experience was to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ippokambos

Ippokambos
Ranked #9 of 374 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First time I tried seafood and the experience was to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am very happy I finally mangaed to find this restuarant. I visited Heraklion four years ago with my friends and we passed by this great restaurant near the sea and everybody was waiting in line just to cath a table. We were so curious that we decided to stop and try it. The food was amazing. After 4 years I can still remember the taste of the snails in white wine with a touch of condiments. Thinking to come back to Heraklion only to visit again this great place! Would definitely recommend it :p

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrinaBanicaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    220
    65
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HERAKLION
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“open all year long!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is placed right next to the sea, with perfect view and you can also see the sunset at summertime sitting outside. Their seafood is always fresh and very tasty.They can combine traditional plates with gourmet flavor. The last time there, we really enjoyed cuttlefish with ink and raw seafood (gialisteri in Greek).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELENI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Calamari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

So it says on the menu that the calamari is frozen, but it certainly wasn't when I visited (and they often have it fresh outside the tourist season, if I understood the incredibly kind proprietor correctly). Speaking of out of season, it's one of the few restaurants in that particularly sought after area that stays open year round, and you can get a hearty fish soup and delicious baked feta even in the punishingly mild Cretan winter. Oh, and don't write off the complementary dessert and raki, because damn that was the best baklava I've had in recent memory.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ippokambos was a hike from our hotel but so worth it; we got squid (it was fresh not frozen) baked feta and Fix beer. With a bread basket (variety and fresh) was a small plate of hummus and eggplant (melizanosalata). The staff was friendly and helpful and the food excellent--and the price reasonable GO!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jejoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the most descent places for sea food in Crete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ippokambos is a nice small fish food restaurant located on the beach road of Heraklion. Being a client there for more than 15 years the basic feature is the standard excellent quality with always fresh ingredients and service allways . Most of the clients are locals and in my opinion the key of the success of this restaurant is the fact that it's a family business .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Epikouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippokambos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Ippokambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing