We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good typical Cretan grilled meat”
Review of Giakoumis Taverna

Giakoumis Taverna
Ranked #17 of 396 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
kamilari crete
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good typical Cretan grilled meat”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A good place to try charcoal grilled meat both the Lamb chops and Pork chops were good, but remember the Cretans like fat and bone on their chops,but you will get meat too. The boiled Greens were to die for, overall a good Cretan lunch, I would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueincrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    27
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went here on recommendation from the Rough Guide. Giakoumis may serve the best lamb cutlets in Crete on a good day, but they clearly saw us tourists coming and set out to give us the second best of everything.

First, after we sat down we were told that most of the items on the menu were now off the menu. We ought to have left then.

The famous lamb cutlets were mostly fat and salt. We're not picky or squeamish, but we know when we are being ripped off.

Ordered red wine - no red wine available, only insipid "rose". Lyrirakis is undoubtedly good wine; this was not a good example.

Finally, the manager/waiter disappeared into the darkened surrounding streets before we could ask for a bill and did not return. Eventually another man, who had appeared to be a client, finished his meal and attended to us.

This may be the best place to enjoy a typical Cretan carnivorous lunch; it is not a place for a relaxed evening meal.

And, with respect to Kirios NikolasKostakis, we did not expect a Northern-European style meal; we enjoyed several much better Cretan style meals elsewhere on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilternwayhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Want lamb chops or pork steak for lunch? This is THE place to come”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Some reviewers write poorly of Giakoumis. That's not surprising, for two reasons.

Either they expect side orders of chips and salad etc - forget that, that's not the way things are done in Crete (bar all-inclusive hotel restaurants).

Or, they order the REST OF THE DISHES! Don't - or expect them to be average.

INSTEAD, order, a. lamb chops and, b. pork steaks. Feel free to gorge youself, order an extra meat dish for every two people at your table. Have a Greek salad (or -autumn to spring- finely chopped raw cabbage with olive oil and lemon juice), chips (separate order), beer/wine and you're done.

After you've eaten, sigh contentedly and allow the food to settle in your stomach for half an hour while sipping your wine and watching the people passing by in the alley and the Evans str. (narrow) thoroughfare. Now you're fixed proper. To cap a perfect lunch consider a nap afterwards, if feasible. Now you're in position to review Giakoumis.

P.S. This is a lunch-only place; and it closes around 4 p.m.
P.P.S. Crete is heaven. If you know where to go and (big and) if you can tune into the rhythm and ways of life. (You might find Richard Clark's Crete - A Notebook helpful.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolasKostakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Whilst the service was friendly the food was poor. We chose the lamb chops which they are famous for. Whilst they were tasty the portion was small and was just a plate of chopped up chops. No chips or salad garnish. The briam was not particularly tasty and lukewarm. However the wine was good.

This place is recommended in some of the tour guides but to us seemed to be living on its past reputation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For serious meat eaters”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is where you go for perfectly grilled lamb chops washed down with fine Lyrarakis wines. Set down greasy alley in Herakleion's market, don't expect frills, and don't order anything they don't recommend. I have only ever had the lamb chops, because that's their specialty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherdnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giakoumis Taverna also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Giakoumis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing