We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
122
282
83
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
122
282
83
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport heraklion airport swimming pool late flight one night this family run hotel air con hire car next morning nice pool minutes by car short stay clean hotel convenient location city centre small balcony double bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 508 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

We stayed overnight whilst here on business. Close to the airport, but no jet noise. Clean and comfortable. The standard rooms have air conditioning are of a good size and the beds comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff.
I would book again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank The_Somerton_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

My family stayed here for 2 days because it has everything and is a 10-euro taxi to the airport. Generally we were satisfied. Room had everything expected, at least that we cared about, and the place is quiet despite proximity to airport. Easy walking distance to good restaurants, bakeries, supermarket, and cheap buses for short ride to downtown. Staff are very helpful. The wireless signal was periodically (and fairly frequently) very weak, both in our room and in the lobby. These periods were usually quite short, however. A true oddity for a 3-star hotel in a major European city is that the tap water is, according to staff and signs, not potable - one is supposed to buy bottles of water from the bar. However, nowhere else in Heraklion did anyone tell us this, and I drank quite a bit of tap water without problems.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsimberloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

The Sofia Hotel is located at 1.5 kilometer distance from the airport and generally taxis will charge you 10 EUR to get there. The rooms are big and confortable. The breakfast is rather simple. Being next to the airport also means hearing the noise of the aircraft early in the morning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We stayed at this hotel twice over eight days after reading good reviews on various sites and because it is close to the airport and therefore handy for taking off to other parts of Crete. (Just return to the airport, right on the roundabout and you are on your way to western or eastern Crete by the main motorways.)

This is a modern hotel that has fairly recently been refurbished. It has a swimming pool (which we did not use), car parking, lifts to upper floors, wifi (weak, except in the main foyer), and a restaurant. And, it is close to the airport, which is also a minus because of the aircraft noise.

The hotel has doubles and family rooms. On the first occasion we stayed at the Sofia, we were assigned to a large comfortable room on the first floor with a large bathroom, walk-in shower, and two additional single beds besides the double bed. On the second occasion, when we stayed for two nights, we were initially assigned to one of the smaller double rooms on the ground floor, which was afforded a certain amount of privacy from the road by a 3 foot wall and double-glazed windows and a door that opens on to a small balcony. This smaller room would have been fine had we not encountered the room’s ridiculous corner shower unit that has curved doors – or, more accurately one curved door that was not wide enough to slide across to cover the entire opening. Initially, after noting the soft edging on the one moveable door we thought a second door had been removed after being damaged but subsequently learned after complaining to the front desk that all the small rooms in the hotel had this feature! I guess the hotel must experience a lot of flood as guests find it impossible to prevent water from the shower flooding the bathroom! Good enough, the young man on the desk came and offered us one of the larger family rooms. Since we had unpacked and relaxing after a long journey from eastern Crete we were not best pleased to be asked to move to another room. However, the new room was adjacent, larger, and without the problematic shower unit.

So, future guests, if you are thinking of staying at this hotel and don’t want a flooded bathroom ask for the larger rooms.Hotel staff told us that this gap was "normal" in most of their rooms!

The shower unit was the major defect in the smaller room but both types of room lacks sufficient shelving space to put toiletries and racks on which to dry towels.

Notwithstanding these problems, however, we found the hotel comfortable and apart from the shower unit episode enjoyed our stay. The beds were fairly comfortable and there were enough soft pillows. Each room has AC, and a securely fastening (more or less soundproof) window or door out to a balcony. Although wifi is apparently available in the rooms throughout the hotel, the signal in parts (including our room) was very weak, necessitating using the stronger signal in the foyer.

We only had breakfast in the restaurant, which is included in the room price. The coffee is good, as is the wonderful Greek yoghurt and honey but there is very little fruit and the cooked offering comprises cooked reconstituted ham, chopped wieners, and rather dry eggs. If you prefer something else, there is a bakery across the street and another one on the main Iraklion Street, past the Piraeus bank, which serves wonderful baklava, cakes, bread, and coffee. Apart from the pastry shops, the restaurants in the area are mediocre. We tried three and were not impressed.

As you will quickly appreciate as you arrive, parking could easily be a problem for the hotel when you look at the free-for-all in the surrounding streets but it is not because the hotel has its own car park, which is a real plus.

The front desk and restaurant staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the hotel has a nice ambience.

We also thought the area pretty safe for walking about; the greater danger is from local drivers’ ignoring basic driving rules, parking anywhere even if causing an obstruction, and tripping over the uneven pathways especially at night, as street lighting is poor.

Nonetheless, if we return to Iraklion and have a similar itinerary, notwithstanding the shower unit problem, we would probably stay at this hotel again, but be very careful in accepting a room that we were offered.

Room tip: Avoid the smaller rooms with the gap in the shower cubicle (see attached)
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Rather small rooms with simple decoration and somewhat dated. Only a small minibar is offered in room, you will find that no teapot,coffee maker or water heater is available. The bathroom however is a positive, because the shower cabin can be completely shut; it will prevent the shower water from spilling all over the bathroom´s floor; thank you very much.

Good wifi's signal, no breakdowns.

One particular aspect is that the Sofia hotel offers as an option, a rate with breakfast included , We opted not to take the offer since our departure flight was scheduled for 5:00 a,m., on the next morning.

Parking space: the on site private parking lot available is good for say, about 12 cars, I believe it is offered on a first come first serve basis. We were lucky enough to find a spot. By the way I don't recall seeing parking places in the vicinity, so drivers, beware.

There is a pool and snack bar; downtown Heraklion is about 30-35 minute walk; and the Nikos Kathanzakis aiport is less than 5 minutes by car.Very convenient.

Summarizing, the Sofia is OK for a short stay. Air conditioner in room ran well., which indeed is a plus for travelers visiting Heraklion in the summer season.

Room tip: Doesn´t matter much, any room will do for a short stay.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 603raulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews