We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a family run business. I would stay here again if I return. They helped me with tours and the local bus service. I saved considerable money using Crete's buses. Location is close to the city and the airport on a quiet street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had two rooms here (one double and one quadruple) for 6 persons.
This is not a luxury hotel, but it is clean and very comfortable. The rooms are OK and the service is wonderful. The main reason to stay here is, of course, the proximity of the airport. The terminal is at about 2 km from the hotel, so you can pick up your rental car (or take a taxi) to arrive at the hotel after only 5 minutes. We were worried a bit about noise of airplanes during the night, but Heraklion is not a busy airport, and I think there are even no night flights. Anyway, we didn't hear a single airplane during the night. The hotel offers very good prices if you contact the front desk directly (info@hotel-sofia.gr) some weeks or months in advance instead of passing through intermediary agencies or not making a reservation at all. Breakfast was basic but OK. Strong point: the friendliness of the personnel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

....but it's very, very good for a base for a night if you're flying in in the evening and you need a place to stay for the night. It's literally 3 minutes by taxi from the airport, and it's plain, clean and functional. The staff are excellent; nothing's too much trouble. Breakfast is either the usual bread / jam / cheese / cold meat thing or there's bacon (European style, but good nonetheless) and fried chopped sausage with fried egg and a vegetable omelette type thing. Not bad at all.

The rooms are a good size by city hotel standards and comfortable.

We've used the Sofia for two years to stay after flying in to Heraklion in the evening, and just get the car hire company to deliver the car to the hotel next morning. Simples, no hassle, and a civilised start to a holiday.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lawdylawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our second time of staying here on arriving late from the UK, Run by Sofia, this really clean, comfortable hotel is the closest to Heraklion airport, offers a great breakfast, lovely staff. so nice to sit by the pool with a drink after your flight, sleep in comfy beds and have a shower and breakfast and arrange for hire car to be delivered to hotel. exactly what you need if looking for a hotel close to Heraklion airport and great deals through booking dot com

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank peediewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the 2014 Easter holidays, we are a family with a 2 years old kid. We know the city and the surroundings very well, we had this hotel as our base.
The room was typical, nice and clean, with comfy beds. The breakfast was average, I would expect natural orange juice and a better coffee selection (not coffee machine, it makes crappy coffee). There's a pool which we didn't try (we didn't intend to, anyway) and some parking space (free of charge). WiFi is also available for free and performs quite well.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming, they are Cretans after all :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

lovely decorated room with stylish bathroom complete with a large shower. The view from the balcony was not very desirable, as it was overlooking a side street, however it was nice to sit on the balcony mid afternoon to shelter from the heat of the sun. The breakfast was lovely, always being re-filled. The small round sausages in particular were amazing. As for the staff, I cannot fault them at all, so welcoming and helpful. They even kept some of our toiletries which we had left, for us to pick up at a later date. The wifi was free and very quick. There is also a computer with printer in reception for all to use.

A 10 min walk to the main street provides you with a well stocked supermarket, many eating places etc.

Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: the lifts here are very small so if you are afraid of lifts, get a room on the first floor and take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had to leave our villa in Rethymnon at 10 in the morning with a 1030 flight in the evening. Hotel Sofia allowed the six of us to book one room for the day to give us a base. This allowed us to make use of their very sheltered swimming pool and then all have showers and get changed before leaving for our flight in the evening. The staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We used their bar area to get drinks during the day and the receptionist helped me to order food using a local take away service, which we ate at the hotel. Before leaving another member of staff gave me directions to a restaurant to eat our dinner.
The hotel room we were given had a double and two single beds in and whilst there wasn't a lot of space left in the room all six of us managed to get showered and changed with some degree of privacy. The room had a small balcony looking out over the front of the hotel. The shower room was lovely as was the large walk in shower. There were plenty of seating areas on the ground floor of the hotel and the swimming pool area was a wonderful sun trap with a large pool and smaller shallow pool.
Didn't sleep in the beds but my children seemed comfortable enough lounging on them and weren't there for breakfast though the breakfast area looked clean and welcoming.
We certainly had no complaints and would very happily use the hotel again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorasenoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
1.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
467 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
489 reviews
1.3 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
1,028 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Address: 57 Stadiou Str, Heraklion, Crete 71601, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#13 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: $47 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2009 we renovated our rooms, in order to offer you a really pleasant and comfortable accommodation. Our purpose is to please every visitor, whether he is on a business trip or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Heraklion
Sofia Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing