We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice!”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Hesperange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sofia is a small hotel close to Heraklion airport and a short bus/taxi ride away from the center of Heraklion. Rooms are nice with a reasonable size bathroom. They have a pool and a very nice little pool bar/restaurant where you can have a really nice meal for a good price. Personnel is really friendly and does everything to make your stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnossent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    219
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
108
176
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ideal hotel for an overnight stay near the airport. Food facilities were basic, but the rooms are comfortable and air conditioned Reasonable fuss-free value for money.Not really a hotel for a longer term stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Sofia Hotel mainly to be close to the airport for an early morning flight, and the hotel was great for that. It's in a pretty quiet neighborhood and the staff at the reception are friendly and helpful. Our room was fairly clean but the room and hallways smelled like smoke - We had requested a no-smoking room. The room had all the necessary basic furnishings, but walls were in need of plaster and paint repairs. Our shower had only a hand-held shower, which I find unacceptable - apparently the overhead mounting bracket had been removed, or never installed.
Not much in the way of tavernas or shopping close by. Hotel restaurant OK as long as you don't mind extremely slow service, neighborhood kids riding their bikes through the eating area and dogs fornicating next to your table.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for access to/from Heraklion airport. 5 minutes by taxi (10euros).
Basic breakfast included, nice pool, good pool bar, good friendly staff, plenty shade in grounds to hide from the sun or loungers round pool if required.
The only problem was the poor air conditioning, not much power and unless kept on 24hours did not keep the room cool.
Would definately use again if travelling to Heraklion airport

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent only one night here in a triple room. Rooms are basic, clean and beds are very firm! Breakfast was included but very basic. We liked that restaurant was opened till 11pm as we arrived late. Friendly reception staff, who kindly ordered us a taxi and gave the driver instructions in Greek.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

On arriving after dark I was shown into a rather nasty room . The following day I asked to move and that took two days as the manager is very elusive and also as I am English they seem to favour there German guests The food in the evening is very poor the same thing every night and again it is for the German pallet I would not go back to this small hotel but crete is beautiful all in all very unfriendly hotel poor food and the older family members that live there are very creepy also if you have any mobility problems this is not the place for you as everything is either up or down a very steep slope or many many steps and that includes the rooms

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank coordinater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in this hotel just 1 night and we were very satisfied(if you do not mind planes which you hear all day and night long but this you have to expect from the hotel so closed the airport),it has very modern furniture,aircondition,hairdryer,swimming pool is clean and has also small one for children,breakfast is very good

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine,just mind you will hear planes all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
1.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: 57 Stadiou Str, Heraklion, Crete 71601, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2009 we renovated our rooms, in order to offer you a really pleasant and comfortable accommodation. Our purpose is to please every visitor, whether he is on a business trip or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Heraklion
Sofia Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing