We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel closed to the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel closed to the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in this hotel just 1 night and we were very satisfied(if you do not mind planes which you hear all day and night long but this you have to expect from the hotel so closed the airport),it has very modern furniture,aircondition,hairdryer,swimming pool is clean and has also small one for children,breakfast is very good

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine,just mind you will hear planes all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    216
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
108
172
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived in Heraklion by boat. It was only a very short taxi ride away. We paid 10 euros for the taxi but realised later for that distance it should have been less. The air-con didn't work in our room but there were no hassles getting another room. The room itself is clean and spacious though the beds were a bit hard. The young lady on the desk in the day is charming, very friendly and helpful. She is called Sofia, like the hotel. You may also meet her grandmother, the original Sofia after whom the hotel was named, sitting outside with her husband. A nice family touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is very practical to have such a hotel close to the airport (15´walking) with swimming-pool, breakfast and free wi-fi. But it could also be used for longer stays since you have a bus stop 5´ walking from the hotel. The personnel are very kind, like most Greek people, and the price and services make it a good option to visit Knossos and Heraklion.

Room Tip: The ones on the first floor (room 104) are very good with a view on the swimming-pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

In case one doesn't come by car it is easy to get here by bus and a short walk or EUR 6 for a taxi from the airport. When arriving from the airport it is recommended to take a taxi. Afterwards one knows where the bus stop is. Rooms are clean and modern and WIFI works well. Breakfast is standard. There is a small bar in the hotell to buy mineral water and order coffee. Quite calm area. There is pharmacy, petrol station, hair dresser and a supermarket close by even if this is rather a residencial area. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a outside swimming pool.

If you only want to be in the center of the town and without a car then it is maybe better to choose another hotel even if it is quite convenient to take the bus. Depending on the period of the year and the pricing one can decide. It is certainly a perfect hotel for somebody on a "rent-a-car" holiday who uses this for one night at the beginning or end of a trip as it s close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global_connaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good location (coming from the airport, sign posted, side street opposite BMW garage; takes about 5 min) with good size swimming pool. OK size room with balcony and spacious, clean bathroom. A/C efficient and quiet. It's easy to get to the center of Heraklion by bus. The nice lady at the reception explained very well the various bus stops and where to get tickets, etc. Parking is a plus. The hotel is situated in the quiet residential area. you can hear the planes on take off when you are outside (but it's not LHR, so not very frequent).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criparius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night arriving on a flight at about 2300 before heading south on holiday the next morning. It is only a 4 minute (but €10) taxi ride from the airport. The room was modern, smart and clean but not luxurious. We had no problems with the beds or bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did suffer from aircraft noise until we discovered a window in the bathroom was open. Once all windows were firmly closed it was much better. It also meant the air conditioning started to work.
We thought the buffet breakfast offered a good choice of foods and unlike some places they didn't stick out a huge pile to lie around for hours. There was a bit of everything and as a food item was used, it was soon replaced by a fresh supply. You had the option of eating indoors or out near the pool.
The very urban location meant there were no great views from the balcony, just appartments. I think it suited our purpose very well and would probably be fine for business trips. Not so sure about it as a holiday base for many days as it isn't very near the coast or centre of town.
I think some of the older reviews should be ignored as the place has clearly been refurbished in the last year or two. Recommended for airport users unless you want something very upmarket.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Silverhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We needed a place to crash before an early flight back to Athens, and did a quick search while on our way to Heraklion from Agios Stefanos. Sofia Hotel is clean, has an amazing location literally 5 minutes from the airport, and the staff were very helpful. We needed a bite to eat at 2am after a 3 hour drive, and although their own kitchen was closed, they helped us out with a delivery menu (which was quick and very good for a late diner).

It's very reasonably priced for what it is. Highly recommended if you need something very close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
1.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: 57 Stadiou Str, Heraklion, Crete 71601, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2009 we renovated our rooms, in order to offer you a really pleasant and comfortable accommodation. Our purpose is to please every visitor, whether he is on a business trip or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Heraklion
Sofia Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing