We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport and center - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Close to airport and center - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

In case one doesn't come by car it is easy to get here by bus and a short walk or EUR 6 for a taxi from the airport. When arriving from the airport it is recommended to take a taxi. Afterwards one knows where the bus stop is. Rooms are clean and modern and WIFI works well. Breakfast is standard. There is a small bar in the hotell to buy mineral water and order coffee. Quite calm area. There is pharmacy, petrol station, hair dresser and a supermarket close by even if this is rather a residencial area. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a outside swimming pool.

If you only want to be in the center of the town and without a car then it is maybe better to choose another hotel even if it is quite convenient to take the bus. Depending on the period of the year and the pricing one can decide. It is certainly a perfect hotel for somebody on a "rent-a-car" holiday who uses this for one night at the beginning or end of a trip as it s close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global_connaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    215
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
108
172
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good location (coming from the airport, sign posted, side street opposite BMW garage; takes about 5 min) with good size swimming pool. OK size room with balcony and spacious, clean bathroom. A/C efficient and quiet. It's easy to get to the center of Heraklion by bus. The nice lady at the reception explained very well the various bus stops and where to get tickets, etc. Parking is a plus. The hotel is situated in the quiet residential area. you can hear the planes on take off when you are outside (but it's not LHR, so not very frequent).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criparius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night arriving on a flight at about 2300 before heading south on holiday the next morning. It is only a 4 minute (but €10) taxi ride from the airport. The room was modern, smart and clean but not luxurious. We had no problems with the beds or bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did suffer from aircraft noise until we discovered a window in the bathroom was open. Once all windows were firmly closed it was much better. It also meant the air conditioning started to work.
We thought the buffet breakfast offered a good choice of foods and unlike some places they didn't stick out a huge pile to lie around for hours. There was a bit of everything and as a food item was used, it was soon replaced by a fresh supply. You had the option of eating indoors or out near the pool.
The very urban location meant there were no great views from the balcony, just appartments. I think it suited our purpose very well and would probably be fine for business trips. Not so sure about it as a holiday base for many days as it isn't very near the coast or centre of town.
I think some of the older reviews should be ignored as the place has clearly been refurbished in the last year or two. Recommended for airport users unless you want something very upmarket.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Silverhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We needed a place to crash before an early flight back to Athens, and did a quick search while on our way to Heraklion from Agios Stefanos. Sofia Hotel is clean, has an amazing location literally 5 minutes from the airport, and the staff were very helpful. We needed a bite to eat at 2am after a 3 hour drive, and although their own kitchen was closed, they helped us out with a delivery menu (which was quick and very good for a late diner).

It's very reasonably priced for what it is. Highly recommended if you need something very close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived in Crete 30 minutes after the car rentals closed. We found this hotel for overnight. A great find. Very clean, very nicely decorated and furnished. Exceptionally friendly staff, very accommodating. Very modern bathroom with glass door circular shower. Three beds all very clean and crisp. Free internet. Breakfast (included) was plentiful, variety of hot food, multiple cold meats and cheeses, cereal and cakes. Selection of breads and cookies. This certainly sets you up for the rest of the day. Very worth the money and will recommend to all. Plus, only 5 minutes from the airport, so very handy to stay if you have an early (or late) flight.
Only one criticism the beds are very hard, but this is found all over Crete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had to visit Crete for business Trip for 2 days. I stay to "Sofia Hotel" because it was outside of the center of the city, very fast and easy access from the airport of Heraklion (5 minutes by Car) and the most important was that I could park my car without extra charge to the Private Parking area safely.
The room price was very reasonable comparing the quality of the Hotel. The Wifi was Free even if I couldnt connect because of Technical problem and the Room was really clean without smells and other things. Regarding the quality of the bed I have to say that It was medium.
In general for that type of Hotel the offered services was enough and satisfied without expecting something luxurious and big.
I can suggest it but keep in mind the Hotel is located away from the center of the City of Heraklion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantinos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Living in the south east of Crete for a good part of the year I always spend the night in Sofia prior to an early morning flight. Driving through the Dikti mountains in wintertime at o-dark-hundred to Heraklion isn't the most relaxing start for a trip abroad. Hence the convenience of Sofia Hotel at 1 km distance from the airport. And at walking distance (4 mts) from public transport into the city center.
Sofia was totally renovated in the last couple of years and that makes it today to a place with a businesslike appearance which seems to fit the average guest. No frills or luxury, but efficient and friendly. The rooms have been enlarged with mostly one double bed and one single bed, airco, fridge, and a a spacious bathroom.
Though they claim to have wifi everywhere in the hotel it didn't work in the rooms I slept in the past year.
And, as I said, because I'm using Sofia Hotel for early flights, I can't judge the (included) breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruudkeulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
1.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: 57 Stadiou Str, Heraklion, Crete 71601, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2009 we renovated our rooms, in order to offer you a really pleasant and comfortable accommodation. Our purpose is to please every visitor, whether he is on a business trip or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Heraklion
Sofia Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing