We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofia Hotel, is a good place to stay for short periods of time whilst visiting the local attractions.”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Sofia Hotel, is a good place to stay for short periods of time whilst visiting the local attractions.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

When we got to the Hotel, Sofia the manager was very nice and showed us directions to all the closest attractions which we wanted to go to. We were shown to our room and the the air conditioning wasn't working. We went to reception, and luckily were able to change rooms. We discovered that the pool was closed at the hottest part of the day from 2-5 as it is siesta time, and the hotel get complaints from the neighbours, as they are making too much noise. We agreed that we could go in the pool as long as we were quiet. The pool area is quite small, with only a few sun beds. It is quite noisy as there are planes taking off and landing every few minutes, and the cicadas never stop. The rooms are clean, and Average sized. The hotel is walking distance to restaurants and supermarkets, and the airport and port are very close. Overall, this is a good place to stay if you are only staying for a short amount of time, but not for longer periods.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellissa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    223
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
108
180
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

it is comfortable if you have a car, maybe a little pricy, you can definitely find something cheaper. I would recommed this for families since it is very quite.
breakfast is average but there is everything you need.
swimming pool and wifi included.
finding it was a terrible experience with google.. just ask for the BMW on ikarou street!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martimega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We needed a hotel room the night before an early flight out of Heraklion. This place was perfect. The staff was very friendly, hotel was clean, food and drink were available. Best part was the 5 minute taxi ride to airport at 6am. No problems. Highly recommend for convenience and value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I cannot thank the staff at this Hotel enough, as they really saved me from a nightmare. My car keys slipped out of my bag in the room and the staff went to the trouble of finding me on holiday to return them and because of their excellent customer service, I, was not left stranded at the airport as I would have been. They were so helpful and kind. They insisted it was their duty (but I wonder how many other hotels would do this?) Also because we arrived late I had been worried about finding the hotel but it's so easy, coming out of the airport there is a sign so you cant miss it, we parked right outside easily and we had an ice cold beer ready when we arrived late and tired( the bar is 24 hours) so lovely start to the holiday. I thought the noise from the aircraft would be a problem, but we never heard it. A lovely comfy room and really nice buffet breakfast. Next time we come to Crete we will stay at the Sofia and I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is not as advertised. The air-conditioning did not work adequately (and yes, the balcony door was closed). The room was a small box, no bigger than an ensuite bathroom in most other hotels. The towels were old and torn. The room was not heat-proof or sound-proof as they advertise. It was exceptionally noisy from within the hotel, not due to airport noise. I have never experienced such shabby, disgraceful conditions in any hotel (or MOTEL for that matter). I would class this place as a maximum 2 star. Breakfast was a joke with some scrambled eggs in a bowl, some cold meats and bread and all set up on three tables. The orange juice was just diluted orange. The elevator is an absolute experience to behold (a small portaloo sized thing with a door that 2 people can barely fit into). I can assure you I will never stay at this ramshackle "hotel" again and will ensure none of my friends or family will have to experience it either. I have also conveyed my sentiments to the Thomson holiday staff and reps at Heraklion airport.

Room Tip: Make sure when arriving that you are not placed in the "BOX" room that you cannot have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beddau, Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A lost passport forced an unexpected stop-over and we were fortunate to be guided to this hotel.The very friendly and helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable, and on this alone we would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a short stay or stop-over.Situated in a pleasant residential area it is just 5-10 minutes from both the airport or the city centre.Some aircraft noise but nothing to be bothered about.Our room was spotless,air conditioned and had a balcony.Breakfast was plentiful in a pleasant dining area and the poolside bar/restaurant had a good selection of drinks and meals.There was a small quiet pool with plenty of loungers and shade , ideal for a bit of relaxing. The staff, the facilities and the general atmosphere of the hotel turned an unfortunate mishap into a delightful short stay.We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandHelen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very friendly staff, helpful with all kinds of requests. Good breakfast. Good pool area with an outside pool bar day and night.
The beds were to hard for me (I like a medium bed).
You will hear some airplane traffic as it is very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Double rooms are a good size. Small balcony on the outside. Less airplane traffic on the street-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenHorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
1.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: 57 Stadiou Str, Heraklion, Crete 71601, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2009 we renovated our rooms, in order to offer you a really pleasant and comfortable accommodation. Our purpose is to please every visitor, whether he is on a business trip or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Heraklion
Sofia Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing