We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there, it's terrible...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heraklion Youth Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Heraklion Youth Hostel
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't go there, it's terrible...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

It's a really bad place. We asked for a room for two persons, they got us a key for a room with three dirty bunk beds not well placed in the room and two towels that were not looking good at all. We checked the bathroom and it's smelly and not that clean. We got the key back to the reception few minutes later... They asked 30€ per night... For that money in Crete you can sleep by the sea in a fine, clean apartment with private bathroom and that's it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank helloimfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    17
    9
    23
See reviews for
1
12
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

It was dirty, bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and smelly (we actually decided not to shower there), rooms were barely cleaned up and it was so cold I could feel the wind blowing through my hair at night. True, it's not very expensive, but for 10 euros I've stayed at incomparably nicer places. Defifnitely not a place to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsFunky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heraklion hotels

All over :-)
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We were a group of four travelling. We were given a room with 8 beds and were told that we could have it to ourselves. Two of the beds had been slept in the night before. They told us they would clean the room for us. We put our luggage down and went to explore the town. On returning, the room had not been cleaned. We were told that once the luggage had been placed in the room, then they no longer cleaned it.
The bathrooms were REVOLTING. Not a place I would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clean-Sleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

we stayed there only two nights, and that was already to long. i´ve never seen a dirty hostel like that. the toilet and the shower were in the same tiny room. just disgusting...would never go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank laddie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Worst hostel ever, I wouldn't ever stay there again even if they paid me to stay there. Bedroom was filthy and the bed looked dirty, they give you one sheet that is see through. Bathroom / toilet was disgusting. One bathroom light didn't work and the other toilet had crap in the toilet which is where you had to shower. No toliet paper provided and the toilet paper bin (cos you cant flush your toilet paper down the toilet) is outside the door. Mirrors were filthy to the point were you couldn't see yourself. We were there for 15 minutes and went to ask for our money back. The lady said no because she had turned people away who wanted to stay there (crap!!). So we asked for an extra sheet to sleep on and went to bed with insect repellent all over our bodies. Luckily we managed to get out without catching any diseases!!

  • Liked — Nothing - it was horrible
  • Disliked — It was filthy and I was scared of catching diseases (seriously)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

The most dirty place I had never seen !
- Floors haven't been swept since weeks
- dead bugs on the beds and the floor
- sheets haven't been changed
- 3 toilets and 2 showers (including 1 in a toilet !!!) for 6 dormitories of minimum 6 beds each : haven't been cleaned since days (tooth paste, old soap, airs, and forgotten towels everywhere)
- flies and other bugs in the all bulding

And when I asked to the manager, during her nap, why nobody cleaned, she answered me the made didn't come this day (I think she didn't come since at least a full week...), and that she can't do anything, especially not give me back my money (I left the place immediatly )...

Very well known for this problem by the other hostel, and the tourism office also, but apparently still has its licence...

AVOID THIS PLACE ABSOLUTLY !!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything Dirty + Manager Really Rude When I Complained
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Totoromaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#12 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#15 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Rea
Hotel Pension Rea
#19 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heraklion Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heraklion Youth Hostel

Property: Heraklion Youth Hostel
Address: Vironos 5, Heraklion, Crete 712 02 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Heraklion Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heraklion Youth Hotel Heraklion
Heraklion Youth Hostel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing