We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place for a coffee and a bite”

Music Cafe Bar Matala
Ranked #192 of 516 Restaurants in Heraklion
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Our first pit-stop in Matala with a late Cretan breakfast. Lively square at daytime. Nice staff. Average but still good to visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

An excellent choice in Matala, this cafe has lots of outdoor seating in the main square. The food was very fresh, and the huge potato omelet served with tzatziki was phenomenal. Complimentary shots of homemade lemon raki were a nice touch.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Great cocktails and happy hour during 2 hours. Common cocktails well served and with good taste, sometimes surprising.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brikakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Been going to the Music cafe for some years. Such a cool vibe set by the great couple who run it, their staff - maria was new this year and v good - and the relaxed drinks and music. We listened to a local band play Lyra music for nearly 7 hours. Fantastic and what a way to spend an evening/night! If anyone knows the name of the local guys who played the Lyra music please respond as I'd love to get a recording.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank x167mgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

looking for a late breakfast we thought give the music cafe a try. this was a top decision! Very nice welcome (in general Matala is friendly but there are differences of course). We chose 1) the special sandwich and 2) the omelette "music cafe".
drinks: a cappuccino and latte macchiato (strong,double shot.)
Got the coffee drinks and hurra: really received a strong double shot latte macchiato!! :-D
tried this on other locations. that was weak. so thanks for this. ;-)
Then the food... WOW! (check out the photo)
perfectly decorated with love. and the taste: YUMMY!!
in the end we've been invited to a lemon raki. I said better no, got a cold and try to recover so i got special crete medicine: warm raki with honey! so nice! :)
we come back!!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank cleague97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Music Cafe Bar Matala also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Music Cafe Bar Matala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing