We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first restaurant in Elounda”

Kalidon The Floating Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 135 Restaurants in Elounda
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

as our 4th visit to Crete we found a place in elounda. Elounda is a small town to a bay with the tourist attraction Spinalonga. we walked around the square and boulevard along the water. here we were introduced to the floating restaurant. Friendly staff informing you about the menu. They claim to be a fish restaurant but had little amount of fish in stock. As both of us prefer meat, we ordered mixed grill and soutsoukakia (meatballs). we got served some bread with tzaziki to have before the main meal. This was lovely but hard to do wrong. main course got served and the meatballs were ok but not overig exciting. The mixed grill was a Nice choice of meat but soon got cold making it rather hard on some of the pieces of meat. for dessert we got baklava with icecream, the baklava was fresh but found it a bit too chewy. there was no pistache in it (only almond). all in all ok experience but it ende d to be a bit too expensive.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank C2833XKrichardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2019

We've walked past this restaurant many times so we decided it was about time we went in and we were very very pleased we did. The food is awesome up there if not the best we've tasted it Elounda and the waiters are very friendly and are happy to help with any questions you have about the menu. This definitely gets my recommendation and we will be eating there many times when we return to Elounda.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuartcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

This is our favourite restaurant in Elounda. We have been coming for 5 years. Amazing “floating” location. Friendly, attentive and welcoming service. Good value - best of all the local dishes made in the kitchen and very fresh fish. Ask what is home made and try it all. Any leftovers, feed the fish and watch them jump!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lawyer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We thought we would give the floating restaurant a visit on the last night of our holiday.
After sitting down, we realised this was a mistake.
The restaurant was deadly silent and couples around us looked sad. We were about to find out why.
After waiting 15 minutes to get served we ordered our starters and main meal. Many of us chose the ‘cheesy’ garlic bread which was a mistake.
Please see the picture below to show the lack of cheese on the stale hard bread.
Our chicken souvlaki was pink and not cooked, once we complained we were told the chef will pop it back on the grill.
DO NOT EAT HERE!

Date of visit: August 2019
4  Thank jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We were dragged off the road by the manager (?) and said we only wanted a drink and snack. When seated, the waiters response was a snorted 'we are a restaurant' ! This was by far the worst, and only, bad experience of eateries in Elounda and we concluded that it was probably a coach party destination, rather than one catering for individuals. Not recommended when you are used to good old fashioned Cretan courtesy and charm.

Date of visit: August 2019
4  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalidon The Floating Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kalidon The Floating Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing