We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, place, people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, place, people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This place has a good position out of the main square but only a short stroll away. Ideal for the beach which is literally over the road.
Yiannis and Mary will make you very welcome.
The studios and apartments are kitted out well and are of a good size. The ones at the front have a suberb view of the bay.
Elounda is packed with great restaurants but some of our favourites were The Ferryman, Kalypso in the main square and Oceanis which is next door (Plaka side) to Corali. We ate almost every lunch and a couple of evenings at Cypriana which is just a couple of doors away - here we had great food whether it was breakfast or evening and a great welcome from Maria who will shout 'hello darlings' at you whenever you pass.
Would recommend Elounda as a great holiday location and Corali as a great place to stay.
PS If you want to visit Plaka for the day avoid the happy train which costs E8 per person and take a taxi down there which costs E7 and you can stay as long as you like and have great views of Spinalonga.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshirePussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    31
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is the second time i have been to Porto Bello, and once again it was great! You have a great sea view from your room as you are looking over the beach. The rooms are clean and tidy. The pool area is spotless and the bar ideal.

However, this time we noticed that the food/drink was much more expensive then the last time we visited 3years ago. There and many places to eat within Elounda, and most are lovely.
If you are looking for a great place to stay and a relaxing holiday, visit Porto Bello!

Here are some tips/advice about Elounda:

When ordering a steak and you want it mid/rear, always ask for it to be rear as they cook the meat for too long.

Don't hier a car out there, as the locals do drive on the wild side!

Always wear sun cream as in august the temp. hits around 40degrees, you will burn!

And finally, book a boat trip. It a fun day out and the breeze is to die for.

I hope this review has been helpful, and i hope you have a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed in the Portobello apartments in July as part of a wedding party. We had a lovely, spacious sea view room which was kept lovely and clean - bins emptied daily, sheets and towels changed twice a week. The inclusive air-con was welcome at times; I don't normally like using air-con but some evenings were so hot I relented and turned it on for a while. The beds were comfortable, even my pillow was comfy which is a rarity on holiday.

Yiannnis and Eleni and Mary are all so warm and welcoming, they make you feel like friends straight away. Nothing is too much trouble. The pool and gardens are kept immaculate, Yiannis is always pottering around keeping things shipshape.
The pool bar is well stocked, and the draught Amstell is served in iced glasses, perfect on a hot afternoon and evening (and morning occasionally!). If you get peckish they do a lovely Greek salad, or tuna salad, or filled pittas, toasties, sandwiches and icecreams and all are very reasonably priced and generously portioned. The house wine is very nice too.

Most of the other guests we met were return customers, some have been going back there for years. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Nice clean apartments and with great staff, we had a side view overlooking the garden, our choice. Large room with balcony and small kitchen with everything required for a stay, breakfast can be included if you do not want to do selfcatering. The whole area is very clean and the gardens well maintained. The only comment would be that the pool is deep , I am 5ft and could not stand up in it, no problem as the town beach is just outside the door with sunloungers and umbrellas available, the sea was warm and shallow great for children. There was plenty of free parking outside the complex on the road to Plaka.
Spoilt for choice for eating out, our favourite was Taverna Leonidas overlooking the port, great staff especially the waiter, he went and asked if they would cook me something that wasnt on the menu, which they did great service, large portions (especially the starters need only 1 between 2) excellent house wine and very reasonable in price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Nice and tidy family run apartments across the road from the beach right in the centre of Elounda for all restaurants/bars/shops etc.

The pool and terrace area is very well looked after and the pool bar is also handy for a drink. If you care to know a large beer at 3.50euros (June 2010) - about 50c more than the standard price of bars in Elounda.

The gardens are immaculately kept and the whole place is very clean and tidy.

The price of 65 euros a night (June 2010) for a studio apartment with seaview terrace is great value. Elounda is a lovely resort and a great base for eastern Crete.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Becks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Jean and Glenn Burns
Well, we have just returned home from another holiday at Corali studios with Yiannis, Elena and their lovely family and staff. We have been coming here for five years now and each year brings us such wonderful memories. We love the location of the studios - what can be better than simply crossing the road to the beautiful beach! What makes this accommodation stand out from the rest is the total committment of the Bellos family. We have such fun with Yiannis and Elena, especially early evening when we join them at the pool bar for our regular carafe of wine. Nothing is too much trouble for them, their main concern is your comfort and happiness. We consider all the family and staff as our second 'home'. Daughter Mary and son Jason are so helpful and Jason has such a dry sense of humour, to be in his company is infectious!
Our favourite restaurant is the Anemomylos, ran by Spiros and Maria. This is situated next door to the Corali and offers a wide choice of meals, both excellent value and quality. We also enjoy the Leondis, say hi to Pantelas the waiter, he is such a laugh and so courteous.
I could write pages of my experience and love of the Corali studios but the best way to sum up would be simply to say 'Our Little Paradise'.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnsey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Elounda, but our first at the Portobello Apartments.
The apartments are in a prime location 2 minutes from the beach & a 5 minute stroll to the centre of Elounda.
They are spotlessly clean & serviced every 3 days. Air conditioning is included in the price.
The apartments are, as most in Greece ,basic, but all that is needed.
The sea view from the apt is amazing.
The pool /bar area is very relaxing & the staff, pleasant & welcoming.
Yannis, the owner, is always busy in the gardens which are immaculate.
Myra in reception is most helpful,as are all the family.
We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked for 2010! The next time we are taking our friends. It seemed that nearly all the people we met were return visitors.A recommendation in itself.
Elounda is a lovely place & certainly draws people back as it seems do the Portobello Apartments & Corali Studios & rightly so!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirednightsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments

Property: Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments
Address: Akti Posidonos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments Hotel Elounda
Corali Studios And Portobello Apartments
Corali Studios Elounda
Corali Studios Hotel Elounda
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing