We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, relaxing establishment with stunning views of the sea and islands.”
Review of Elounda Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elounda Heights
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Situated on the hillside overlooking the village of Elounda (only a few minutes' walk away), Elounda Heights is both quiet and picturesque. Walking up the hill is not so easy as walking down, but it is only a short distance and should be no trouble for the average person. Taxis will bring you (and suitcases) to the door. The hill is one of the assets of Elounda Heights, as without it, there would not be such a great view or peace & tranquillity. We spent 10days relaxing - sometimes by the pool, occasionally at one of the (many) beautiful beaches within walking distance. The island of Spinalonga (famous for its history and as the subject of a best-selling book) can be seen from the studios and is just a short boat ride away. Elounda Heights is owned and run by Ann and Vangelis (excellent English speaker and source of all local knowledge) who are always on site. Vangelis can be found tending to his garden in the early morning, and later at the poolside bar - being available to cook your breakfast should you wish it. (Some people to prefer to self-cater in the privacy of their apartment/studio, others would rather indulge in Vangelis's superb cooking - either way, it's your choice). Lunch and evening meals are also available on site (superb menu, with a different Greek special dish each day). More organised (optional) get-togethers occur once weekly with a meze evening or BBQ - and these offer an opportunity to meet other guests if you wish to join in. There is also a weekly boat trip organised by Vangelis for those who wish to venture further afield for the day. Local beaches are plentiful and the sea beautiful and clear - excellent for swimming and snorkling. Local supermarkets and other shops (e.g. chemist, newsagent, souvenir shops, hairdressers) as well as restaurants/tavernas in nearby village only a few minutes' walk away. Elounda is situated in a stunningly beautiful area of Crete and historically was a fairly sleepy fishing village. There has been development recently (municipal beach and services) to improve services to tourists without attracting too many crowds. Generally the hotels in Elounda are at the upper end of the price range compared to other areas. Elounda Heights is therefore a 'gem' in a delightful part of Crete. It has very reasonable prices, offers flexible arrangments for your stay (self-cater or enjoy Vangelis' cooking or a mixture of both) and will offer you a tremendously warm welcome. You can relax and enjoy yourself without moving an inch - or you can explore the local villages and beaches on foot or hire a care and explore further afield. It has to be said that many of Vangelis's guests return year after year - for very good reason - he is a most charming and accommodating host with great attention to detail for your comfort. There is an evening bar available in the main reception area, internet access (small charge), a (small) library of books, pool table, boules and other games. The swimming pool is of perfect dimensions for the size of the property and offers an oasis where you can cool-off after a few hours relaxing under the intensely blue sky. The gardens are mature and beautifully maintained - with delightful aromatic herbs dotted about amongst the flowers. In previous years we have holidayed here with our children and we found this a very pleasant and child friendly place to stay - one very fussy eater was accommodated wonderfully by Vangelis modifying the more usual menu for him. Our children were between 5 - 11. You might find some difficulty with younger infants as pushing a pram or buggy up the hill would be tiring, although this could be managed by hiring a car or using a taxi (plentiful in the local village). The studios are adequate rather than luxurious and housekeeping occured 3x weekly - but this was perfectly acceptable when cost and uninterrupted privacy were taken into account. Regular buses (air conditioned 'coaches') go from the village in both directions to Plaka (lovely beach opposite Spinalonga) or Agios Nicholaos (regional capital where there are more shops and generally more lively night-life). Altogether this is a superb place to stay and will offer you probably the best holiday ever when everything, including cost and ease of booking, is taken into consideration. To book, simply email Ann at Elounda heights, then book your flight with easyjet or one of the tour companies. Simple! To arrange transfer from the airport, simply ring or email Ann or Vangelis the day before and they will organise a taxi for you at reduced rates. I thoroughly recommend Elounda Heights for your summer holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 518 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

Clean spacious studios, beautiful pool, breath taking 360 degree views, a welcome gentle cooling breeze. Vangelis does amazing meze nights, not to be missed, food outstanding. Really quiet and romantic place, still remember sitting on the swing seat and counting the stars! Thoughtful touches such as milk and orange juice in the fridge when you arrive. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We were just passing by on a round trip of eastern Crete and saw the sign just by chance. The view was amazing, the studios looked so comfortable, the pool was so inviting and when we met Vangelis (the charming owner of the apartments) we knew at first sight, that it is not just profession but passion what makes him offer this littele paradise for his guests! We simply had to stay there! Allthough we had only 2 nights left we felt very much like being friends, enjoyed also the cooking of Vangelis and the very individual Service of him and his wife Ann. We will come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enamm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is a very special place run by really special people, Ann and Vangelis, who make their guests extremely welcome. We arrived to be offered a delicious lunch of barbecued chicken, greek salad and wine, from Vangelis whose cooking skills are divine. Each day he's up early tending his garden, then running the pool bar and entertaining guests with anecdotes and information, while making breakfasts and lunches and preparing the evening 'special' (which also was exactly that). Many of their guests are, not surprisingly, frequent returners, and among those who, like us, were first timers the general consensus is what a really fab find. Our apartment windows gave great views of the sea, the charming village of Elounda and Spinalonga island (made famous in Victoria Hislop's novel The Island), and our only negative comment would be that the furniture and furnishings are a little tired and need updating. However, the rooms are kept clean and there are twice weekly bed linen and towel changes. Ann is often around for a chat, although she is very busy with her dog rescue work helping abandoned or abused animals to be relocated in loving homes, often by sending them to another country. The couple also have their own adorable dogs and a cat with the biggest attitude of any feline I have ever met! The hotel is up a steep track road, just a few minutes from the village, and we would recommend a car although some brave souls toiled up and down in the heat. Elounda village is full of bars and restaurants and some pleasant shops, plus supermarkets, and across the causeway is wild land with interesting remains of an early Christian basilica. There's so much to do in this part of Crete with a visit to Knossos top of the list. However, you might just be tempted to stay propped at the bar listening to Vangelis, or Ann, and you'd learn a lot by doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copycatsofcoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at Elounda Heights for a week to take away the stresses and strains of modern living and to get away from the rat race - and thank goodness we found this gem of a place. Nestled on the side of a (quite large!) hill, it is a truly fabulous accommodation. The views are amazing, the rooms spotless, the pool area tranquil, the gardens a joy to look at and that was just the beginning. Ann and Vangelis pride themselves on making your holiday as relaxing as possible, and ensure you don't want for anything. You can even get your water from them instead of lugging it up the hill. Vangelis is a little gem all by himself - his food is outstanding, he always serves with a smile and he even gives you cookery tips. We stayed for 7 nights and only ventured out twice! Didn't need to go anywhere else as it was all there at Elounda Heights. The trip to Spinalopnga and Plaka was a great day out and very moving. Can't wait for the next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Elounda Heights. The walk up to the apartments is steep but worth it. The owners, Vangellis and Anne are fabullous hosts. The party nights and boat trips that they host are not to be missed. The apartments are clean and the service is wonderful. Vangellis cooks each night in the restuarant. He is a wonderful cook. There is an amazing view from the pool and bar. Vangellis will cook the fish that you caught on the boat trip for you. Service and scenery make this a spectacular place to stay in. Thankyou Vangellis and Anne.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshirehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We spent a week at Elounda Heights and have to say that the setting is totally stunning. The grounds, pool and views of the bay and Spinalonga Island are beautiful.Our one-bedroom apartment was large and airy and had a lovely big balcony.The kitchen, however, we feel could have benefited from a microwave.The hill is, of course, a downside but you get used to it and I have had two knee ops but managed every time, never needing a taxi which you can get from the town square for 5 euros. We missed the famous meze night and because it was late in the season and very few guests there was no Sunday boat trip so we can't comment on these.We were looking forward to our meals there after all the positive comments but found a very limited menu which was expensive with small portions and certainly not the fresh ingredients we had hoped for.The tavernas in Elounda have much more extensive menus, equally well-cooked and much better value and we had some lovely meals there.
Vangelis and Anne work very hard to keep the complex so beautiful and they are very welcoming.Their dogs and cat are no bother at all and are very friendly and congratulations to Anne for all the hard work she does for her anim al charity.
There was anice little welcome pack on arrival for a much needed cuppa and the safe was free.So , all in all, a very nice week and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.4 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
19.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights

Address: Emmanouil Pouli, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $63 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, owned by Vangelis and his English wife Ann, is a small boutique aparthotel with beautiful gardens complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. All the apartments and studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. It is truly an oasis and if you want to relax then this is the place for you. Great for honeymooners and couples just wanting a quiet restful holiday. Ideal for families wanting to unwind by the people while enjoying a fantastic view over the bay of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda
Elounda Heights Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing