We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”
Review of Elounda Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Heights
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one week in July. We have been very fortunate to travel on many holidays abroad all over the world but Crete remains one of our favourites and particular the Elounda area ( this was our 9th trip). We tend to go for 4 to 5 star hotels with all the amenities but decided to choose Elounda Heights on the basis of the reviews and how it looked in the pictures. To say we were not disappointed would not do justice to this beautiful place and welcoming family. What a gem of a place.

From the moment we arrived late on a Saturday evening we were warmly welcomed and instantly relaxed. We were quite peckish at 10pm and didn't expect any food but Vangelis (the owner with his wife Ann) offered to cook as a light supper, a mixed omelette with Greek salad, it was just delicious for such a simple meal. We had a couple of drinks with the group at the Bar and an early night.

We wanted to go on the boat trip on the Sunday but chose not to as I was likely to get sunburnt (even with factor 50) on the first day. It was very quiet on Sunday morning as nearly all the guests had joined Vangelis on the boat trip. We enjoyed a nice breakfast and light lunch and relaxed by the pool. The scenery is stunning from the pool view and also from the balconies and place as a whole,and all you can hear is the faint relaxing Greek music and the sound of crickets. The silence was broken for a while when the other guests arrived back from the boat trip, they had all really enjoyed themselves and obviously were in high spirits from Vangelis's cocktails. They were really impressed with the food on the trip and just didn't anticipate such good food could be rustled up from a Galley kitchen. That evening we watched the World Cup football and celebrated with our German friends.

That next evening we chose to eat in Elounda at one of the many fish restaurants we had been to on previous trips. It didn't disappoint. As an aside we noticed a photograph of Vangelis in his younger days when he was filmed as a waiter in "who pays the Ferryman".

As the week went on we enjoyed the Company of the other guests and got to know each other better than we would have done in some 5* large and impersonal hotel. Vangelis and Ann grow as much of their own fruit and vegetables as they can and every meal we ate was delicious. In particular one evening we joined our new friends for a bar-b-q and a great evening with some good music and singing from John. We all had a few beers and ended up dancing which I'm hopeless at but enjoyed. At the end of the evening John sang a very moving song he had written about life in the army.

There is much to do in Crete but we chose to relax. I did walk to the small village of Plaka and enjoyed a nice lunch with views of the Island of Spinalonga. We returned there one evening for another lovely meal.

Back to Elounda Heights. Vangelis himself is quite a character, always with a smile. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Vangelis is quite happy to invite you into the kitchen to see what's cooking and there is a special every evening (mostly Greek of course).

In summary it is a double edged sword writing this review when the Elounda Heights is so perfect. Our only regrets 1. We wish we had discovered it 10 years ago. 2. We wish we had been on the boat trip and 3. We worried it will be fully booked when we want to go in future. So to get round number 3 we have already booked for next July and this time for 2 weeks. Looking forward already.

Thank you Vangelis, Anne and daughter Natalia and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 519 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

Been to the Heights a few times now and always have a really good time. This trip was just me and the wife. Met up with several friends from previous holidays and also made new ones.
Stayed in Ares studio which is on the upper level. This has been remodelled since we last stayed in it. It now has a "proper" double bed (instead of the two single concrete beds. Also the balcony area is fully tiled with its own private sunbeds and umbrella . The views from the balcony are tremendous.
The staff work really hard to make this the perfect place for a relaxing break. The food as always was really good.
The village of Elounda is a nice place to visit and there are other towns / cities / attractions witin an easy car drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petelikesmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want peace and quiet and a beautiful setting, then this is for you. The staff know all about good service and hospitality. Many couples return for some "R&R" many times. The steep hill need not be a problem, as a taxi gets you up there in no time at all and the seclusion and breathtaking views are well worth it. Free air conditioning, spotless apartments, plenty of sun beds and a beautiful pool are standard here. Lunch at the pool bar means you need not go out if you choose not to, but it is not far to the town and good bus service.

Authentic Cretan cuisine is offered in the evening, ( some are Vangelis mother's own recipes), as well as a varied menu. In fact Vangelis, please put me down for the "special".

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 51Evie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

OK so we are regular visitors and our review might be a little biased, but it really is as good as 90 odd percent of reviewers on here say. The rooms, the grounds, the atmosphere, the views, the food, the service and most of all the people who make the place tick. If you are looking for a peaceful break with all the above, this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank metaxaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I've never been to the Heights before, so I'm not submitting this review as one of their 'regulars'. My brother was getting married in a chapel just over the causeway, so I stayed with my partner and various other members of my family for 9 days earlier this month. All I can say is believe all the great things you've read! The staff at the Heights will be as involved or as distant during your holidays as you like; there if you're up for a chat and a laugh, not in the least bit intrusive when you want some down time.

Your room will be cleaned every couple of days, providing the right balance between hotel and apartment. Everything was light, airy and spacious, with fantastic views over Elounda or towards the causeway depending on your room. The pool is surprisingly big (bigger than you think once you're in it), and there was enough loungers every day even with my family taking up most of them! The pool bar is ace, but pretty dangerous as far as the room tab is concerned!

Despite my brother not actually getting married at the Heights, the staff couldn't do enough for you, & staff & guests alike came to clap and cheer as we all set off for the big day; that's just the kind of place the Heights is.

You'll read some reviews saying the guests can be a bit cliquey with the owners, & to an extent it's true. But to be blunt, it's the kind of clique you want to be in. Partly because of the occasion, and partly because of the hospitality, this was a trip I will genuinely cherish forever. To sum up the ethos of the Heights I'll leave you with a quote from our stay:

Vangelis: Are you having a good time?
Us: Yes, thank you!
Vangelis: Good. Because you know if you're not, you've only got yourself to blame!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank foodcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Perfect as always - our 3rd visit. Great hosts, great food, great accommodation, great views, great company, great relaxation, great boat trip, great weather. Great big wait before we go again - unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our first time at the apartments and it exceeded out expectations. The whole place was immaculate, very friendly and willing staff (family run) and a great spot on a hill offering stunning views. Perfect for couples!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.4 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
658 reviews
98 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
19.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights

Address: Emmanouil Pouli, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $66 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, is a delightful family-run complex of nineteen studios and apartments, perched on a hill with panoramic, breathtaking views over the beautiful Mirabello Bay and the Venetian castle on the island of Spinalonga. It is just 300 metres from the village of Elounda, surrounded by beautiful gardens and complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. The apartments and the studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. The property offers magnificent views in a quiet and tranquil setting reserved only for adults over 18. The hotel for the last 10 years has been reviewed as one of the top hotels in Elounda. That's why we have a very high number of repeat guests We invite you to explore the majestic scenery and tranquillity of the area and enjoy your stay in our awarded hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda
Elounda Heights Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing