We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Grove Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

We have been going to Elounda for over 16 years now and this is the best place we have ever stayed. It is near everything (Elounda being a small fishing village) and by greek standards accommodation wise you'd think you were staying at the Hilton! Our room was spacious and very light (compared to some places we had stayed whilst visiting).

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegirls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    30
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
126
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

we have been goin to elounda for about 11yrs and stayed in a number of apts in and around the main square,the olive grove is by far the best, it would take some doin to top these apts. please dont forget that when you travel to greece its normaly very basic accom these apt are far from basic and we will most certinly be back next yr.highly recommened.Hill family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drunkenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

amazing holiday, defo going back next year, amazing people, best two weeks ever, worth its money :)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We last stayed at the Olive Grove back in 2007, and i have to say that it just gets better and better. The complex is still as fresh and vibrant as i am sure it was back in 05 when they first opened and is a real credit to the entire family.

The pool was a little cold but then we were there the 2nd week in May and did not have time to be warmed by the sun, but never the less this was beatufiful after a day in the Cretan sunshine.

We stayed in a ground floor apartment which again was immaculatly clean and very well maintained. You would not think that they are now in their 5th season.

The pool bar and the 'boys' were of course there for our every need - and always with a smile. The great thing is with the current economy they have stalled their prices so you still get a great G&T for a few euros - cheaper than most of the bars.

For those visitors who are stuck for ideas for eats and drinks try Babel Bar just opposite the harbour for a well earned ice cold beer then in the evening head up to the Ferryman Taverna for a proper Greek meal, you cannot beat the quality of the food or the service here.

Keep up the good work guys and we hope to see you all again very very soon.

To all those reading this book the olive grove for a fabulous and relaxing break to Elounda.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crops2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We booked the Olive Grove Apartments on the basis of reviews on Trip Advisor as we do with most of our trips, so based on previously highly recommended accommodations we had high hopes. Overall I would say Olive Grove does not warrant its current high ranking in Elounda accommodations.

First let me say that there were very good things about the apartment complex :-

Booking arrangements direct by email with Julia were excellent and she was very helpful.

The pool area is very nice, the pool is kept very clean, and the pool bar has very reasonably priced drinks and food. The pool was a minimum of 1.5 M deep though.

The apartment was in good decorative order, reasonably spacious and well equipped.

On the less positive side :-

There is a very large dog about 100 metres up the road behind the apartments. It appears to be permanently chained up outdoors and barks loudly day and night

We were at the apartment for a week and towels/bed linen were only changed once.

When we ran out of loo paper I reported that the maid had forgotten to leave us more on her one bed linen/towel change. I was informed by the owner that this was self catering and you had to supply your own. I've never come across this before, surely this is an essential like towels and bed linen.

The lounge was quite dark unless you left the door open and our balcony was very small, overlooked the car park and only contained one chair for three of us.

Also be aware they will only take cash (Euros) for final bill settlement ( no Visa) though an English pound cheque was accepted for a deposit (but not for final settlement). This caught me out but to ASSUME makes an Ass of You and Me !!

Regardless of this we had a great time in Elounda and would also recommend a trip up the road to Plaka to Georgios restaurant. The fish is magnificent, though pricey and the Tom Jones look alike waiter is very funny.

Also dont miss the 'Garden of Eden' restaurant just along the high street who do a fabulous breakfast (5 euros) or lunch served by the amazing Helena, who must cover 10 miles a day always with a smile and friendly comment.

In June we went to Chania, on the west of the island (stayed at the excellent Ammos hotel) and overall we prefer the west, but if you are going East , Elounda is very nice.

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — No window view and inadequate balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We have just returned from two weeks in this wonderful accomodation-the best we have ever stayed at in Elounda. The apartment was very clean and well looked after, with maid service 2-3 times per week. The pool and bar area were also clean and well maintained, with a lovely grassed area away from the pool where you can also lounge in the sun all day. We felt very well looked after by the Oikonomakis family and really enjoyed the BBQ and Quiz night that they run weekly. The apartments are ideally located just a few minutes walk from the beach, shops and bars.We will definately be returning next year for more of the same, as will many of the other people we met whilst we were there.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, wonderful clean apartments
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank metaxaandcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We had a fantastic 2 weeks in one of olive groves apartments, it was big enough for the three of us, and was very clean. The apartment was situated in a quiet spot in the olive groves, and it was very relaxing and with such beautiful scenery over to the hills. The apartments have everything you need to make your stay very comfortable, and you are a 2 mins walk from the village square and harbour, where all the shops and restaurants are. The beach has a blue flag award, and is very clean with loungers and umbrellas,and is a short 5 mins from the apartments. The bar at the apartments is lovely, and is open till very late,overlooking the lovely pool.

  • Liked — The size of the Apartment
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotgal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Property: Olive Grove Apartments
Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing