We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

myself,partner and our 10 year old son have recently returned from a fab holiday at the oga in elounda,crete. the apartment complex is lovely and one of the best we have stayed in in greece.the rooms are spacious with nice decor and furnishings ,very well equipped ,the external pool area is great too(my son thouroughly enjoyed the pool) plenty of sunbeds and does not get overcrowded.but most of all the family ,(julia dimitri,manos ,andreas and mollie the dog)who own and run the apartments are lovely and make this place so popular with there hospitality and friendliness. we will fingers crossed be returning next year. other reviewers have said it is noisy but we did not find it too bad, but you have to remember you are near the centre of the village so there is going to be some traffic noise. to sum this place up is to say its a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have the best balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gibboleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    30
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
127
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

My friend and I have just come back from a week's stay in the Olive Grove Apartments so our stay was at the end of May 2011. We were delighted to have chosen a very nice place for our holiday as you never know what it will be like until you have stayed in a place. The apartment was comfortable, clean with fresh towels supplied and it was cleaned 3 times a week. Almost all the apartments have a balcony, some enclosed, some not. It is very central to the shops and tavernas but was peaceful. Julia, Dimitri and their boys are very friendly and approachable so the atmosphere around the bar and eating area was very congenial. (You can eat and drink at the Olive Grove if you like and the menu is varied. You can have a good cooked breakfast as well as lots of snacks plus there is a long list of drinks including cocktails.) The Olive Grove has the added bonus of two swimming pools (1 very small one for children). We tried a few restaurants in Elounda before being told about 'Anemomylos' in a road called Akti Posidonos, just around the corner from the apartments and at the end of the first batch of restaurants. The family here are friendly and polite and the food is substantial, tasty and not too expensive. They get a lot of customers because it is so good. We can honestly say we enjoyed our week in Elounda, particulary because of our accommodation.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the pool are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SWMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We went back to the Olive Grove Apts for the second time due to the fact that the apartments were spacious, very clean and central to Elounda which is a fabulous resort.
The boys and Julia who run the bar and the complex are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. You really do get the personal touch. The pool is not awash with Lilo's etc like you can get in the bigger apartment complexes and best of all you don't see people getting up at ungodly hours to put towels on sun beds.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen12305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

First time at the Olive Grove and also Elounda had a lovely time, it was a completly different experience from the past review. The olive grove are family run apartments they work hard and make you feel very welcome. We had no problem with noise from the bar area and found it an enjoyable place to have a drink and chat with the family and the other guests, the BBQ is a must as its a funny night with a quiz and lovely food.
Elounda is a lovely villiage with plenty of restaurants and bars. Spinalonga is a nice trip especially if you have read the book the island.
We would recommend these apartments to anyone and will hopefully return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faye94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

well reviewed & looking for somewhere close to everything we booked the OGA. as mentioned by many others the rooms are both spacious & very clean with 2 balcony's, our's overlooked the pool area. air con was available at additional cost but we chose to ride it out & see how things went with the doors/windows open, afraid we have to agree with others regarding the noise from both the bar area in the early hours & later on the vehicles etc from the nearby road & that was still evident after shutting all windows etc. there is no denying the OGA are close to all you need & pretty good value, but the overall atmosphere reminded us of the TV show Benidorm with a poolside bar that appeared no different to any weekend night in a british working man's club...doesn't say much for the other hotels in elounda if this is voted no. 2.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blessed95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Never done this before, but felt compelled to write a review after having spent a fortnight at the olive grove.
As a family we have been to crete on a couple of occasions and we love the island, we find the mix of activity and beach time suits us all, and now we feel we have found the perfect place to stay on crete.
The olive grove is situated close to the heart of Elounda, but we had no problems with noise,(as mentioned in other reviews) we were in room 2 which is to the side of the apartments, with a small road running alongside, the odd car or moped would come through, but with the double glazing we heard very little.
The owners and staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful, everyone works very hard to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one, when we arrived (at 10.30pm) we were met at the gate by Manos (one of Julia the owner's three sons & resident barman) who showed us to our room, the hospitality continued throughout the stay, with Manos, Andreas,(another son,) Julia (the owner) always on hand to chat, fix awesome cocktails, give advice on local attractions/resturants, even Molly the dog was as friendly as could be.
On another review of the olive grove we read that Julia did an awesome breakfast, and as we had several whilst there, we can,definitly agree with that!!!
We also have to comment on the cleanliness of the whole place, it was spotless! the pool area, as well as the rooms were cleaned regularly.
on a personal note, we would like to thank everyone at olive grove (including Hayley) for giving us a fantastic holiday, we will DEFINATLY be back, (if only to regain our quizzing crown!) and special thanks to the boys for entertaining Dan with Ipods etc!
really hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allanhomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great little family run place in a great location in this lovely village. This was our first time to Elounda, and after a fair bit of research we were lucky enough to book these apartments, and it will hopefully not be our last holiday here.

The Apartments - very pleasant, well-maintained & spotlessly clean one-bed apartments wth living room and kitchenette, & seperate twin bedroom. Living room had single bed & sofa bed so loads of room, coffee table, AC available (60 euros per week if booked throgh First Choice). Kitchenette had full dining table & chairs, hob, kettle, toaster, iron! & unusual pluses like tea cloth, washing up stuff, even salt & pepper and a full set of dishes, pans & cutlery etc (very unusual compared to the standard very basic SC standards in Greece we are all used to). Bedroom again good size with proper full size wardrobe (complete with loads of hangers) and plenty of storage space, dressing table with large mirror & hairdyer! Safe box in wardrobe, I think 10 euros pw. Bathroom had proper walk in shower with tray, and doors all round, so the rest of the room stayed dry, & all fully tiled, new looking, clean & shiny - definately a 1st for us in Greece, and we've stayed in quite a few.

Pool/Bar area - again well-maintained and very clean. Didn't have time to use the pool or eat much there (a week not long enough) service was very good, and the full english breakfast we had freshly cooked by Julia was yummy (5 euros). Called back into the bar for a nightcap most nights, and it always felt very welome and sociable. Some very nice people staying there too, and a good chat was had by all.

Location - Excellent base more or less in the heart of the village, round the corner for the church, minutes walk to the village square, harbour and a few more the beach. Easy stroll to most of the tavernas and bars, shopping etc. Ideal if you have any walking difficulties. Not noisy but be aware you are in a village.

Julia & the whole family work more or less round the clock to provide a very warm & friendly yet still very efficient service ( & Steve keeps it spotless too), and we look forward to returning when we can.

By the way, we stayed the last week in September, in apartment 11 (next door to 10 see previous review), and we didn't find it noisy nor see any ants. There was the normal hustle & bustle you would expect in the heart of a village morning & evening, but then again I really like people watching - just nosey I guess. I suppose different strokes for different folks......!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaynebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Property: Olive Grove Apartments
Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing