We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Memorable & Amazing Time at the Peninsula....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Memorable & Amazing Time at the Peninsula....”
Reviewed September 18, 2007

My fiance and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel. We flew in to LGW yesterday and can only wish we were still there!

We both had an amazing time from the point of arrival at the Hotel to our departure. We arrived at around 5am after a very 'good' taxi transfer arranged by our tour operator Sovereign. We were met at the car and taken to Reception where a kind Gentleman talked and walked us through all the details of the Hotel. We were understandably very tired so we were left fresh fruit and a bottle of champagne in our room rather than drinking upon arrival. All water is complimentary throughout the stay so we were able to cool down in the balmy summer evenings. Our bags were taken to the room for us.

We had a Peninsula Collection Suite facing the mountains rather than inland (Beach area). This is preferable as the view is breathtaking. You can see the sunrise every morning and the mountains make for a spectacular view. Our Suite was very spacious and clean (housekeeping was excellent and very thorough) and had 2 storeys. We had a balcony upstairs equipt with lounge furniture and downstairs patio doors with a patio and a private pool which was heated according to the weather. There was a hammock and more lounge furniture. All comfy and stylish. The room was cretan in style but comfortable and elegant. There was air conditioning upstairs and downstairs. A bathroom with shower downstairs and a large marble bathroom upstairs with twin basin, separate shower and jacuzzi tub which is fab! I agree about the lack of English speaking TV channels though, although one goes on holiday not expecting to watch much TV!

The restaurants at the Hotels (Porto Elounda and Elounda Mare) serve very good food (dinner and breakfast) and have commendable service. We had a very special night at the Calypso sitting outside by the infinity pool overlooking the sea. The food is Michelin starred and exceptional and the Restaurant Manager and Semelia named Chania is very attentive. He chose a perfect wine to accompany our meal and also recommended a good champagne as an apertif. The Serene Bar is set in a lovely setting also, right on the sea edge serving great cocktails. We often had our breakfast (we were bed&breakfast) on our patio by the our pool at an extra cost of just 5E.

We had fresh baked goods, wine and fruit brought to our rooms on several occasions as a gesture. We were even given a gift upon our departure by the Management and the General Manager of the Hotel came to wish us well whlist we were waiting for our return departure (whilst sipping cold mineral water)!

The Reception staff were exceptional throughout, always polite and willing to do whatever it took to help and advise throughout our stay. They are a credit to the Hotel and Owners of this amazing resort.

The Beach is also excellent and ideal to have the Private Peninsula Beach away from the Porto Elounda. It allows for a more relaxed and calm atmosphere. Again the helpful gentleman at the Beach secured and reserved our sunloungers for us each day so we had our favourite spot!

My fiance did his 15 minutes of jet skiing which he loved although 50E for this privilidge. Although expected at a 5* establishment. There are 3 boats/yachts moored at the Hotel which are used for events and boating trips. You can go to Spingalonga too which is not very far at all and worth a visit.

A taxi to Elounda is 7E and to Agios Nicolas is 12E. Very reasonable and pretty harbour villages with shops, supermarkets and restaurants a plenty.

We were always offered fresh towels each evening after house keeping had been which was not always necessary but appreciated nevertheless.

Overall the holiday was a relaxing, memorable and wonderful experience. The Peninisula is set in an amazing location with views to match. I would highly recommend a visit and cannot understand the 1* this Hotel was given by a previous guest - although we experienced a similar guest during out stay !!

Relax and Enjoy...!

  • Liked — The setting and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoopy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    30
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
105
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Elounda Peninsula is definitely a nice, relaxing resort but unlike some other reviews, I have stayed at many 5-star hotels (outside of Greece) that have executed the service and amenities better.

Maybe the person who greeted us was tired when she gave us the review of the grounds and restaurant options, but we felt that she wasn't genuine in the delivery and was trying to get through this task as quickly as possible. Several other encounters with the personnel at the front desk left us wondering why they were in a customer service position.

Our thoughts on the accommodations are in sync with others, so I won't comment on them except that I noticed a few rooms had a walkway next to them, leaving no privacy at the private pool.

There are a lot of water sports available, but all come with a steep price.

The restaurant food and service was good but quite expensive. Men, make sure you take long pants as it is recommended for all the restaurants.

The beach is great, especially if you have children, as it is sheltered.

When we booked this place, we noticed the reviews really varied. I think it depends on what you have experienced before and how far you traveled to get there. We had a wonderful time but it isn't a place to where we are likely to return.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wajwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

As we returned from a 4 days stay at Peninsula I felt the need to write a review in order to share the unique experience of Peninsula and as well to respond to some of the impossible to buy after being there reviews(how you can write bad things about such a unique place?). I stayed in a lot of so called 5 stars hotels in Greece sometimes being dissapointed(not what you expect at this category) . By standards of other Greek hotels this one should be rated as a 7plus stars.
The service was perfect, non intrusive but very efficient.The people are very friendly and does not look fake like in other hotels.Prices are high in the restaurants but not higher that the ones in the posh parts of Athens.Service at breakfast is impecable, on the food side you would expect more quality oriented(more creative dishes, quality no quantity).The beach is great, perfect for kids(you can really monitor what they are doing).The staff there takes good care of you.
The rooms are impecable and the view we had from our predidential suite was fabulous.The goodies we kept receiving in the room where exactly what you needed in order to feel that you are treated with special care.
The hotels offers a serenity feeling you do not expect in a summer resort and gives a taste of real hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alfavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Me and my wife returned from this hotel yesterday and I wanted to write my comments whilst they were still fresh in my mind. I also wanted to counter the comments below by the obviously hard to please reviewer that stayed there in August.

To put my comments into context, I (and my wife) have stayed at numerous 5 star hotels around the world on 4 continents, both for pleasure and on business.

From the moment we arrived at the Elounda Peninsula we were treated like royalty. The welcome drinks (after an extremely harrowing taxi transfer) were very welcome. Kiki took us to the balcony overlooking the resort to explain where everything was, whilst our luggage was taken to our suite. We were then escorted to our suite.

We had booked a suite with private pool (No. 48) and were very impressed by the quality and size of it. The fittings were of a good standard. The view onto the beach were excellent.

At breakfast the following morning, we were impressed with the very courteous staff and the panoramic views from the breakfast room.

We then went down to the private beach and were immediately welcomed by Evagelos. He reserved our chosen sunbeds every day and brought us cold water. He was very polite and friendly and always willing to assist. The private beach is very quiet and excellent for relaxation.

During our stay we did have a problem with our suite which resulted in me asking for a room change. In the time I was at breakfast, Yiannis (on the front desk) had arranged a free upgrade to a Presidential suite.(No. 50)

It is the mark of a 5 star hotel as to how they deal with a problem when it arises. I have never been treated with such respect and consideration by any other hotel. The new suite was fantastic. The pool was even bigger and the view even better!

The only slight downside for us was the lack of in room tea and coffee making facilities and a few more english speaking TV channels would have been nice. These are only minor points and should not disuade anyone from coming here.

It would be useful to hire your own car as taxis do work out expensive. The fare to Elounda town is 7 Euros (some good and reasonably priced restaurants here). The fare to Agios Nickolaos is 12 Euros (a bigger more picturesque town with more shops).

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as we aren't keen having to dress up to eat. We did have lunch at the hotel which was fine but nothing extaordinary.

To summarise, this is a proper 5 star hotel in the service department. The facilities are also 5 star and I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you want relaxation.

It's a shame more hotels don't consider treating their guests in the same way!

  • Liked — Friendly and professional service.
  • Disliked — No kettle and hardly any TV channels.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysaregreat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

My wife, 5 year old son, and mother-in-law just returned from one of the greatest vacations of our lives here. We have stayed in hotels around the world, and rarely have we found a setting so spectacular, service so flawless, and accommodations so extraordinary. We booked a Peninsula Collection Suite, which is their standard suite with private pool, through an internet travel agent last spring. When we later decided to add my mother-in-law to the trip, the hotel upgraded us to a Presidential Suite (Mykonos Suite) without a request from us or even a mention to us - this is typical of the kind of understated elegance this place represents: they weren't going to make a big deal out of the upgrade, they just wanted us to be comfortable. Some specifics:

1. Check In/Check Out: This was handled with extraordinary professionalism. When we drove through the gate, the guard called the lobby, and we were greeted as we pulled into the drive. We were handed champagne/water/juice, and handled with efficiency and ease. Similarly at check out, the hotel staff took our bags from our room to our car, which was packed and waiting for us as we left. They even strapped our son into his car seat, and handed us water for the journey out.

2. Room/Private Pool/Sea Access: No words can describe the beauty of this place. The pool, the sea beyond, the subtle and tasteful architecture - it was all exquisite. The bathrooms were immaculate and equipped with the latest steam shower, air tub, etc. The grounds around the rooms were extremely well kept; the housekeeping service was also great. The rooms and pool area are extraordinarily private because of the way they are designed; we were there during peak season but felt like we had the place virtually to ourselves. The pool is salt water, and I believe is heated during colder weather. Our suite and a few others had stairs down to a rocky shoreline with our own "patio" down on the rocks with chairs, umbrella, and ladder into the sea. Swimming from there at night under the bright moon is not an experience I will ever forget.

3. Beach: The Peninsula, which is the newest of this owner's three properties, has just constructed its own sandy beach which is charming, calm and beautiful. It was a five minute walk from our room and most rooms. It is great for small kids, but it doesn't feel overrun by them. Evangelos, our beach set up man, found us the perfect chairs for us near the water so we could watch our son; he then reserved these chairs for us every morning. We were served complimentary water and melon while at the beach. Sandwiches and drinks can be ordered beachside. The beach for the adjacent Elounda hotel offered water sports, etc.

4. Breakfast: This was served every morning from 7:30-11:00 (great hours) as part of our package in the main restaurant. The food was excellent and ranged from a generous buffet to a la carte selections like omelettes, etc. With our package breakfast was also available in our room for a small service charge.

5. Food/Beverage: We have some criticisms here. The quality of the food was very good at the various restaurants, but the range and timing needs some work. Ideally the most casual restaurant, the Taverna, would have been open for dinner. Gentleman - many of the restaurants require trousers, which is actually a nice thing, but be sure to bring some clean pants. Another issue was that nothing opened for dinner before 8:00 (20:00), which was a bit tough with our five year old. (This is cultural - Americans just eat earlier, so we adjusted.) The food in general was expensive, particularly given the weak dollar. I would suggest that before you arrive, buy some water, drinks and snacks so you are not always beholden to the hotel's prices. My wife and I did eat at the adults-only Calypso one night, which has a Michelin chef. It was good, but if you're used to five star restaurants in New York or London, it was not spectacular. Generally the Greek wine selection is quite good.

6. Entertainment: We went to Greek night on wednesday night. It was fun but a bit loud.

7. Other Services: We didn't use the spa or children's ark, but heard they were great.

8. DIY: It would nice if there was a bit more of a "DIY" attitude with some things. An in-room iron, takeaway morning coffee, etc, would add much to the experience instead of having to rely on the staff for everything.

In summary, the only true criticism of this place is you never want to leave. We did our Cretan sightseeing before and after our stay at Elounda Peninsula, which turned out to be a happy decision. Find a way to go to this place at least once in your life. We intend to return soon.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Didn't want to leave.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thunderbirdsarego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

After arriving in Greece at midnight, our private transfer (organised by planet holidays) was nowhere to be seen. After several unaswered calls and an hour later we were finally met by a chain smoking, non english speaking driver. It then took an hour to get to the hotel. Not a good start with a 3 year old child.

Originally we were staying at the Elounda Deluxe Resort in a deluxe room with shared pool. To say the room was dated would be an understatement. The room was a world away from the pictures in the brochure. Horrific is the only word I can use to describe it. The first thing we noticed was the brown itchy blankets on the bed that must have been 20 years old. The air conditioning was a rattling machine on the wall and to be frank, a room at a holiday inn scrubs up better.

The next morning we went to see the manager regarding the vast differences in the pictures in the brochure and actual state of the room. Her response was to shrug and say the pictures in the brochure was what the room looked like when it was last done up in 1991. We felt we had been cheated.

Our representative from Planet holidays turned up shortly afterwards and thought it was all highly amusing (which was nice of her)
We quickly realised that this was perhaps not the first time the hotel had had this type of complaint as whilst we were in reception there were three other couples complaining about exactly the same problem.

All I can say is do not be fooled by the pictures of this hotel in the brochures as they are extremely misleading and by all accounts from some time ago.

Anyway....

We were then taken to a room at the Elounda Peninsula which management told us was the only other room available at an extra cost of £500 per night. I would not have paid 5p more for this room. It was totally unpractical and unsafe for a 3 year old child as it was a split level room and where it was so old fashioned it was hardly child friendly. After being reduced to tears, the hotel then instantly found a room as if by magic. A Junior Suite but with no access to a pool (the whole reason why we chose this hotel in the first place). This room was a vast improvement in terms of condition but still by no means a 5 star. The plastic 'spa' bath smelt so bad it was unusable and we had to call a plumber out on several occasions to try and fix it.
The bed was like sleeping on concrete and the pillows were even worse.

I could go on and on but I honestly dont have the energy to list everything wrong with the rooms at this hotel. All I can say is
they are no way up to 5 or even 4 star standard.

As for the rest of the hotel, the pool was so dirty we didnt even realise until the last day (of a week long holiday) that their were steps into it. The sun loungers are like what you'd expect to find in a pound shop (metal framed, no padding, uncomfortable). There were wooden sunloungers at the peninsula beach but not around the pool.

As for the food, the Calypso restaurant was good but no children were allowed so we only managed to eat their one night when we had a babysitter. Every other night we went to the elounda mare hotel for dinner where even the staff there agreed how bad our side of the hotel was!

If all of the above was not enough, the staff were rude, spoke little english and were very very unhelpful.

If anyone is considering staying in this hotel I would urge you to think twice. Whilst there we spoke to a number of other couples who felt exactly the same way as us and had all moved rooms as well.

I notice the mangement have replied to previous negative comments on this website and I am interested to see their response to this. I would also be interested to see them post some up to date pictures of the hotel as well.

Unfortunately this hotel has put me off Greece for life.

Ps - 1 month later im still suffering from a bad back caused by the terrible mattress!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SachaLineker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotis_Kokotos, Member of the Board at Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2008
We would like to thank these guests for not coming back to Greece. Our staff at both hotels have also asked me to express their feelings of delight at this fact. Planet holidays have also apologised to us and apparently blacklisted these clients. It seems there are many people who take advantage of a provision in British legislation and always make a huge fuss in order to receive discounts. Of course, the photographs on the website are exactly what the rooms look like when they were redone in 2004 (not 1991, of course, as the hotel hadn't been built back then!). Our hotels have unique levels of guest satisfaction and some times we have to deal with very peculiar cases. This time around we offered a huge upgrade at no extra cost and had two managers and three guest relations officers tend to this case, just to ensure not spoiling the mood of all our other guests. Naturally, the rates from Planet Holidays are special discounts for professionals and the upgrade to a Junior Suite was in excess of 500$ per day. Needless to say, the guests staying at the suites next door were enjoying themselves immensely, as you can read in TripAdvisor!! In this special case, though, we read nothing about visiting our amazing spa, never using the extensive water sports, and never taking advantage of our “second-to-none” [sic.TripAdvisor comment] childcare services. There were no other guests complaining at the same time of year, and the assertion that they did is a blatant lie. We are very content that we will not have to endure this very unfortunate situation ever again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Down
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel for two weeks. The Hotel is magnificent and we did not want to return home it truely was an incredible honeymoon and I could not have wished for anything more.

The room we stayed in had a private swimming pool which was a dream I can not imagine going on another holiday and not having the same amenities to such a high standard.

I also have to compliment the chefs as I have never tasted such delicious food anywhere and can not wait to we return so that we can eat in the Calypso restaurant again. Also on many days we had our lunch delivered to the room and I have to say the staff not only on taking the order but those who delivered it were very friendly and the food was always delivered promptly.

The entertainment was also fabulous and suited an extensive age range. While we were staying in the hotel there was a Greek wedding taking place which was fantastic to watch and I can also say from my experience as an on looker the wedding seemed to be a dream and would recommend it to any of my friends who are contemplating going away to get married and both myself and my husband agreed that in later years when we renew our wedding vows we both know were we want it to take place.

I have to thank all the staff who helped make the experience what it was and out of all the hotels I have ever stayed I can honestly say this was by far the best exeperience and can say for certain we will be returning.

Orla and Anthony O'Hare, Northern Ireland

  • Liked — I loved everthing from the scenery to the food
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didnt like.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OOH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel

Property: Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Address: Elounda Peninsula via private road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Elounda
#10 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Europe's top seafront luxury hotel", according to Conde Nast traveler, with 53 suites and villas. Private pools throughout and private sandy beach for hotel guests. Seafront presidential suites have exclusive access to the sea. Six Senses Spa (opened 2006), waterfront bar over the waves, wine cellar with hundreds of labels, and movie theatre for private screenings. 9-hole golf course within the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Peninsula All Hotel Elounda
Peninsula Elounda
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing