We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$592
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Bay Palace(Elounda)
$230
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$388
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$422
$345
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
186
35
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
35
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolsix sensesmichelin starredgreat swimmingold millkids facilitiesyacht clubspectacular settingbeautiful resortevery member of staffwater sportsreturn next yearchoice of restaurantsgreat facilitiesnothing is too much troublerelaxing breakspa
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 248 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to spend a week at this gem! The Elounda Peninsula is FABULOUS! I can say the rest about the area of Elounda which was quite an ugly village… The hotels' restaurant was WOW! No need to ever leave the place! I could have stayed another week, and as a matter of fact next year i will be going back for longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikOlofson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just return from our third vacation in elounda peninsula... They have never disappointed us... Gorgeous bay, wonderful rooms with private pool just few steps from the beach, great atmosphere... Relax intimate and quite but also very friendly for kids, good restaurants and most of all - best personal service. Can't ask for more. Definitely we will return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_2010sep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We liked this hotel very much, but we found it somewhat less than perfect - and at these prices, perfect is pretty much what we would have expected! As for the things that we liked: the first was the sheer proximity of the most beautiful, crystalline sea that you can possibly imagine: it lapped invitingly on the shores and enticed us in first thing in the morning, last thing at night, and several times between! The second was the staff, especially those at the reception and the beach: they simply could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

Then to the things we didn't love so much: by far our main issue was that this hotel is part of a much larger and more anonymous "complex" of three adjoining hotels; and for all that the staff do everything they can to compensate, we couldn't escape the feeling that, to some of them, we were just another anonymous couple in another anonymous hotel room. Secondly, there were slightly too many "niggles" for an hotel in this price bracket. Chief among these was the "pan-Asian" Koh restaurant: while the hotel's own description conjured for us memories of the sublime Nobu at the Belvedere in Mykonos, the reality was so seriously underwhelming that we eschewed all further culinary experiments in the hotel complex and quickly became regulars at the delighful Giorgios taverna in nearby Plaka (helpfully recommended by the reception staff). Perhaps the other restaurants are better, but we were reluctant to try them out.

Alas, there were plenty of other "niggles", including: the mini-bar that didn't chill properly, contained no ice and wasn't refilled each day; the limited closet space; the small shower where repeated collisions with the thermostat caused the water to turn scalding or frigid; the red "do not disturb" light that seemed to attract staff to our door like moths to the light; the lack of an awning over the outside seating area. Oh, and the cookie-cutter (though hand-written) welcome card addressed to "Mr and Mrs.....", when in fact we are two guys!

After all of this, I should come back to emphasize that we really did like this place very much. I especially think that this might just be the perfect place for a family with small children (the beach seems incredibly safe and the staff are sufficiently attentive that you can leave all your cares behind.) For us, it held intimations of paradise, but didn't live up!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoElounda, General Manager at Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, elounda peninsula all suite hotel, and for your valuable feedback
We are really glad you liked our hotel very much and that you enjoyed our blue flag awarded from the European Union private sandy beach and the level of our service.
It is misfortunate that it was not communicated to you in advance that elounda peninsula is a boutique hotel within a resort, giving the opportunity to our guests to have the privacy of an all suite hotel (with its own restaurants,private sandy beach,bars,lobby etc) but also use the facilities of a whole resort such as the golf course and the Six Senses Spa. We are really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our new Pan Asian restaurant Koh, for which I must say that we had a great feedback, and it is a pity that you didn't have the opportunity to visit our other award winning restaurants.
In regards to all other points I will be looking into each one separately and I would like to thank you for bringing them into my attention.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future at the elounda peninsula.
Best Regards
Alex Glynos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just returned from this place and I really thought it was one of the nicest hotels that I have ever visited. We had an upgrade (free) to a suite when we arrived and everything got better and better. The food, service, location, sea in fact everything was spot on. I think one of the best things was that you were not allowed to reserve sun beds!!! finally!!! and it was enforced which slightly scuppered some of our european collegues who were also staying at the hotel ;)))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We didn’t have a great stay at the Elounda Peninsula. Our disappointment boils down to three things – we were allocated a lower category suite than the one we booked with the travel agent, we suffered considerable disturbance from younger guests, and service was often unacceptably poor for a property ranked as five star and charging in line with that. Here’s some more detail...

Things did not get off to a good start for us because the online travel agent we booked through confirmed a duplex suite with private pool but when we reached the hotel we were allocated Room 47, a small one level junior suite with no private pool. Of the 55 suites in the hotel, apparently just 4 are of this type. It was a very typical and unremarkable hotel room offering a small sea-facing terrace which did not receive any sun until 4pm. Outside at the back of the suite there was a disused outdoor Jacuzzi filled with leaves and other debris.

We complained to the hotel manager about the suite we’d been allocated but she insisted this was the category booked by the travel agent. We have since taken this matter up with the agent who has just about admitted responsibility for the error. Since the hotel was full they said they couldn’t help us with a different room, although on the last day of our stay they offered to move us to a room with a private pool in a different hotel. By then this was just too late to make any real difference to us and we stayed where we were. We’d looked forward to this trip for a long time and were in Elounda to celebrate a major birthday so all in all we were very disappointed by the mis-selling of our accommodation at the Hotel. I guess the lesson for future guests is to check and double-check when you book that you have definitely got a private pool if that’s important to you.

Secondly, and as other reviewers have observed, the hotel is very child-friendly. We are two adult travellers without children who value peace, tranquillity and some private space - and that’s what we thought we were paying for here. During our stay however the hotel was hosting some really loud kids whose day-long screams we couldn’t escape by the beach or on our terrace - even with our earphones turned up loud. It’s regrettable that the Hotel does not offer a designated child-free outdoor area because at the time we stayed there was nowhere we could find to sit in peace by the water and make the most of the Hotel’s great location which is superb.

We expected outstanding service at the Elounda Peninsula but time and again that wasn’t our experience. For example, we arrived at the Resort on the first day at around 330pm and had been travelling since 4am that day. We were extremely hungry but the only place in the resort offering a meal at that time was at the Beach Bar. When we asked the bar tender if we could eat our meal at a table adjacent to the bar which was in the process of being laid up for dinner we were told very clearly ‘no, you eat on the beach or at the bar’ - and so our stay began, hunched up on a bar stool eating very uncomfortably our club sandwiches and Greek salads while drinks were constantly blended loudly in front of us.

On the morning following our arrival our suite filled with the stench of stagnant drain water and our request to Reception at 9am to have this addressed urgently was still being ignored by 1pm. It was finally fixed in the late afternoon.

Housekeeping never arrived before 330pm in the afternoon and once didn’t leave us any fresh towels at all. They were back each day by 6pm for turn-down which, just a couple of hours after they completed the main service and before we’d had time to shower, seemed pointless.

Our suite had no ipod dock or in-room tea or coffee making facilities. If you wanted a tea or coffee this had to come from Room Service which involved up to a 30 minute wait. Room service ignored our requests to pick up our tray once our order was consumed and room service items discarded by the adjacent suite on the wall outside were left uncleared for more than 24 hours.

Lunch in the beachside restaurant was very good but twice we were given someone else’s bill to sign instead of our own. While the Reception staff and some of those who worked in the restaurants were friendly and hospitable, many others seemed unhappy in their work and off-hand. The usual protocol whereby staff greet guests as you pass in the corridor etc was not one consistently in play at the Elounda Peninsula.

With the hotel at full capacity we were given strict instructions on arrival at the hotel to book ahead for restaurant reservations. Keen to at least enjoy our dinner in child-free peace we chose instead to take a taxi into Elounda which is a great spot with numerous waterside restaurants and these dinners away from the hotel each evening really became the highlight of our holiday. Breakfast was quite good although it comprised mostly the same items each day.

Wi-Fi was available on a complimentary basis throughout the Resort and the management team were very visible and accessible which, given our difficulties here, we very much appreciated.

So that was our experience at the Elounda Peninsula and it’s one we’ll be looking to quickly forget. It seems that our feedback is at odds with virtually all the other reviews that sit alongside this one and so you might conclude that our experience should just be put down to very bad luck?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoElounda, General Manager at Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest
On behalf of the entire staff of the elounda peninsula all suite hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property.

In regards to the suite type booked it seems that there has been a misunderstanding between you and your Travel agency. The travel agency clearly had booked the room type offered to you upon arrival as all correspondence also proves, so the Hotel cannot be held responsible on that account. It is a pity we had no suite with a pool available to offer at the time but did however offer a free upgrade to  a bungalow with a private pool at our sister property elounda mare, when one came available.

Regarding your comment that they were a lot of children during your stay please note that during high season it is true that 60% of our occupancy is from families but on the other hand we have a 40% couples with a lot of them being repeat clients. Also at the French gourmet restaurant of the elounda peninsula we don't accept children under 5 because of the cuisine and the environment and the same goes for the Old Mill restaurant of the elounda mare. I apologise if this was not communicated to you.

In regards to all other points I will be looking into each one separately although it seems that all were dealt with during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future at the elounda peninsula and provide the level of services we are known for.
Best Regards
Alex Glynos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews