We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glorious elounda”
Review of Lena Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lena Apartments
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Reviewed September 18, 2008

elounda was fabulous,everything,bars,shops beach all within walking distance. bit dissapointed in the lena apts ,bed sheets were not changed at all the whole week we were there,only allocated one towel,which was changed midweek,but apart from that we had a wonderful holiday,and hope to return next year. george kept everything going and was great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midgescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2008

Elounda is a great location. Very family friendly with safe bathing.
All the restaurants that we used were good but eating out every night is expensive in this Greek resort.

The Lena apartments are clean and tidy, if a little basic.
The pool area is clean and well maintained.
The beach is across the road from the apartments.

The two bedroom apartment that we used is on the ground floor overlooking the pool and bar area.
BE WARNED, it is noisy with friends of the owners and early morning flight departutres drinking until around 1am most nights.
The local chemist does have a good range of ear plugs!

The Air Con and safe deposit charge are slightly above average.
We paid 40 Euros for one unit for the week.

If you use the apartments knowing that it can be noisy and aware of the costs you should have a good holiday at these apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Lena Apartments with my partner. Excellent location to the town and beach. The apartment was small, basic but clean. The apartments are family owned and John (the greek owner), his wife, his son Georgie and daughters are quite welcoming. we had a fantastic stay until the day of departure. We tried to check out with the son and owed them 7euros per day for the air con which we asked for when we arrived. The son then informed us that we must also pay for the safety deposit box which we didn't ask for (however the key and box were already in our room upon arrival and we were never told we would be charged for this facility). The son then told us we couldn't check out until the father came back and demanded our passports as proof we wouldn't leave the country without paying (even though our cases were with them!!). The son claimed he didn;t know how much the safety deposit box was and we had to speak with his father later that day - this left us with an unsettling day as they could charge us what they wanted - we were expecting the worst and couldn't plan our meals and drinks for our final day as we were on a tight budget! however, when we did manage to track the father down he charged us 10 euros for the deposit box, which wasn't too bad - if only they'd told us this in the morning and been more open and friendly - BEWARE OF AIR CONDITIONING CHARGES - We were told it was 7 euros per day - which was fine - however a couple on our transfer coach were charged 80 euros for theirs as their apartment had 2 air conditioning units- 1 in each bedroom! the owner doesn't tell you this! They pointed out it was a good job they were only there for a week as they'd have paid over £140 for air con for 2 weeks. Overall a great holiday - Elounda is gorgeous but we can't help feeling the owners of Lena just want to make extra cash out of you - hidden costs for safety deposit boxes and air conditioning - We found Manos apartments next door which were very very nice - super pool bar and lovely apartments

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 234Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Lena Apartments in Elounda, Crete. They are in a super location directly over the road from the beach and only a 5 minute walk to the village centre. We had a studio apartment which compared to other apartments we have stayed in previously was very spacious. They were very clean and the cleaner called every couple of days with new towels and to empty the bins. It has the usual greek 2 rings in the kitchen and a fridge. In which, despite what people have said previously, I was able to cook a couple of meals. The pool at the Lena is excellent for children and we were able to relax by the pool whilst still watching the children in complete safety. There is a small 'baby pool' and a bigger, deeper pool. You wouldn't use it to swin for fitness in but it is ideal for holiday. The family running the Lena Apartments are very friendly and people obviously go back there year after year. They do rely on the pool bar to give them an income and obviously appreciate people who spend money there. As residents we were treated very well and the children had a great time. The friends we went with had the family apartment at the front by the bar and the children were never disturbed by noise. Elounda itself is a very family friendly resort, we have been visiting since 1999 (although the first time at the Lena) and definately wouldn't recommend it for groups expecting rowdy bars and nightclubs as you won't find these. What you will find are friendly Cretans who make you feel very welcome and offer great nights out. They treated the children (3 under 6's) like little princes and made us feel very welcome with them, which sometimes doesn't happen in the UK! We would recommend the Cypriana and the Anemomylos both of which are close to the Lena Apartments and do fab meze. Also you can't visit Elounda without going to the Eden cafe ran by Manos and his sister Elena.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spinalonga_siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We called into the travel agents to see if there were any cheap spur of the moment holdays available in October, and they came up with 3 weeks for the price of 2 at the Lena Apartments in Elounda, which we jumped at - great value! But you get what you pay for, the Lena apartments are very basic, the beds leave a lot to be desired and we had to ask for hot water quite often, we didn't need the cooking facilities which was a 2 ring hot plate that would be impossible to cook a meal on. We ate out all the time except for breakfast , but having said that the owners were very friendly and accommodating. The apartments are clean with regular linen and towel changes. What the apartments fell down on Elounda made up for, it is a beautiful place and everything you could want for a relaxing holiday, the tavernas and bars are very good and the Greek food is delicious 2 courses with wine for 2 would be about 20 Euros. Try the Ferryman and Poulas for good eating and good service. Car hire is not expensive. A trip to Spinalong is a must as is the Happy Train. We met a very friendly crowd at Lena and will go back again in the future. I would recommend Elounda to anyone seeking a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank coare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Spent a lovely week at the Lena in Elounda from 3 Jul to the 10th. Yiannis and his family made us feel really welcome. We had room 12 at the rear with 2 balconies, one gave us a fantastic view of the mountains and from the other (with a bit of neck stretching) we had a side sea view. The room was basic but very clean, previous reviewers have commented on the level of cleaning and I must agree on that point, the bed linen wasn’t changed at all in our week and the bins were only emptied twice. However that didn’t impact on us whatsoever.
We took a boat trip from the Harbour (10 Eur each) to Spinalonga, yes! I’ve read the book. However apart from that we didn’t venture far, which means we will have to return for 2 weeks next time.
The Lena apartments are located right on the beachfront about 5 minutes walk from the harbour, there were plenty of sunbeds around the pool, but for 2 Eur each you could have one on the beach right at the waters edge.
We ate out every night and did not experience any bad meals/poor service; our favourite restaurant was The Ferryman, lovely location, nice food what more can you ask?
Elounda was a lovely resort, fairly quiet, a variety of nationalities and the people were so friendly. If you do visit the Lena I would recommend Yiannis’s barbecue which is held on a Sunday evening, well worth it.
All in all we had a fantastic 7 days, met some really lovely people and look forward to returning. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Groovychick57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Arrived late afternoon and were delighted with the location and the view from our apartment which although fairly basic was clean and quite spacious. First evening we were aware of music and talking from the bar area but hey we were on holiday and the view from our terrace more than made up for it.
However, by the end of our fortnight the noise had became a major irritation. This was not helped by the fact that the noise was being made by people not even staying in the apartments - the same people who on a daily basis took over most of the sunbeds and pool area. Although we appreciate that this open access to pool bars is common in Greece we have never seen the situation before when 'visitors' got better service and attention than 'residents'.
All that aside we had a great holiday, met some lovely people and had good fun. Elounda itself was lovely and worthyof a return visit. As for the Lena Apartments we wouldn't go back there but would certainly not put anyone off goingas long as they they can live with loud music til the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScotlandKaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
#24 of 35 in Elounda
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Lena Apartments Elounda, Crete
Lena Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing