We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most tasty home made food”

Elounda Island Villas Art Cafe
Ranked #51 of 117 Restaurants in Elounda
Cuisines: Cafe, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the most tasty home made food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This bar, with the unique location, relaxes your soul. The menu is short but everything is fresh and home made. It is open only during the day but we were offered to order dinner to take it in the room and enjoy it in our veranda!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank costasav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been visiting Elounda for 15 years but only discovered this cafe on our recent trip .
After a hot walk over the hill to Kolykitha Beach we decided to pop in and try a drink or two.
The Cafe/bar has views to die for and the service/welcome was five star.They explained that is was ok to just have a drink and we settled to enjoy a very peaceful hour with some very cold beer.
There was no pressure put on us to buy food but we inquired about what was available....and were delighted to hear that they prepared a different Cretan "Special" everyday for just 6 euros....the days dish was Briami....a dish similar to Ratatouille..not to our taste so we passed.
The position of the Cafe just in front of some really nice S/C units and situated on Kolykitha make this spot very very chilled.
we are seriously thinking of booking in here when we return at Easter...just hope they are open !
Make the effort and visit....bring some swimming things aswell...there is a lovely little spot to swim in just in front :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon-Gtr-Mancheste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
“The place that you would love to come back again”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was staying in Elounda Island Villas, so me and my friends had spent many hours in the cafe. Art Cafe runs by Lida, who is an amazing painter, so it was nice to recognize all interesting details in decoration of the place. Food was tasty, fresh and light, so usually right after the lunch we had a short walk to the close beach with beautiful black rocks. Also, cafe has astonishing view to the mountains, so while you are having food, this place gives you a feel of quietness and relaxation.My dream was to escape from a noisy and overcrowded Moscow, so I'd found it there in Elounda.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting, friendly service, good food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The cafe has a broad, roofed terrace, furnished with comfortable chairs and sofas, from which you have lovely views of the lagoon, the bay, and the mountains. If you can tear yourself away from the the scenery, you can thumb through the guidebooks on the tables or the little bookshelf behind them. We often passed it on our way to walks or swimming spots on Kolykythia (big Spinalonga), and visited three or four times. We only ate there once, but the special - stuffed cabbage leaves - was very good, just the right size, and inexpensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank valz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Level Contributor
216 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“simple but what a great spot”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this isn't a restaurant but a simple café very much off the beaten track but only a few minutes over the causeway from Elounda village. A very limited menu although a special daily but don't go too late as it will have all gone. We stuck to the omelettes which were delicious. Simple style don.t expect luxury but friendliness, service and a great spot. The café shuts at 18.00.
Oh, and while you're there have a summer dream-- home made vanilla ice cream,topped with home made raspberry sorbet and surrounded by wafers of dark chocolate.
Get 2 spoons and enjoy-- we did 3 times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hippo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elounda Island Villas Art Cafe also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Elounda Island Villas Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing