We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loverly”
Review of Eklektos Bookshop

Eklektos Bookshop
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book Exchange - new and used books, locally handmade jewelry,gifts and cards. Offering many languages including English, French German, Dutch, Russian fiction and non- fiction.A small independent trader, just off the main square, with access from the seaside or the road.Tour Guides, maps and information available.
Eloúnda, Lasithi, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loverly”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

absolutly brillient with everything!! Lynne and John are very knowledgeable and will tell you everything you would like to know about Elounda.. They have such a wide book selection to :) A little bit of everything for everyone.. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello from Elounda!
Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. we are glad you liked our shop and that you found what we offer appealing, informative and generally useful. we try to help visitors enjoy their stay and want them to love Elounda s much as we do.

we are constantly looking at ways to improve what we offer and how we do it, and have already got ideas for improvements over the Winter.

we hope you will come back and see us next year and give us your opinions.
Thanks again for the review, and have a great Summer!
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Menai bridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An interesting, eclectic place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

How interesting. Finding a bookshop that takes in preloved books and which offers a range in different languages. Whilst, many people move onto Kindle for their holidays, its nice to be able to browse, and the owner was pleasantly unobtrusive and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Simon - thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are constantly updating and improving the services we offer and it's nice to know we are on the right track. While many people do bring their kindles, we find a lot prefer to have the feel of a book without the worry of electrical devices and water!
We have some ideas which we will be implementing over the Winter so when you come back, we will have something new to offer! We hope you enjoyed your visit to the wonderful Elounda and you come back soon. Have a great Summer
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great tourist info as well as a book shop”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

All sorts of books available in many languages. I brought my Spinalonga guide book here. The lady who runs the shop is great, very helpful and very knowledgable about the local area & fascinating facts, Thanks :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiffysAdvenutres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to review our shop. I'm glad you liked the information we can give and that you found it helpful. as there is no tourist information site here any more, we try to do what we can so that visitors will have a good time and love Elounda as much as we do!

We are always looking at ways to improve what we offer in books and info, and already have plans to implement over the Winter.
Have a good Summer, and thanks again for the review :)
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A must visit in Elounda. Warm welcome from owners Lynn and John who offer lots of local info and guide books, as well as the usual book shop supplies. Sorry we didn't take up your offer of a cuppa, but had just scoffed icecreams!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiddynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Glad you like the book and found our information helpful. we hope you had a wonderful time here in Elounda, and next time you come to see us we will have some new features and ideas that we'll be working on over the Winter.

The kettle is always on in Eklektos, so drop in next time before the ice creams...we may even spring for one for you :)
Have a great summer, and thanks again for the review
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant find in elounda!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I discovered this book shop when my kindle died!
A wide range of books, well set out, second hand or new. If they haven't got what you want they will order it for you. A great place to browse.
Handmade jewellery and pieces of art, postcards and cards also sold. I came away with some beautiful earrings and a card for a Greek friend. Lynn even translated our message into Greek for us!
If you return your books, you get a discount on your next purchase.
Lynn and John are very friendly and helpful, they dont mind if you want to sit on their veranda and read......not one to miss!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Laura! Glad you liked the earrings and it's good to know you got home OK!

We are glad you took the time to give us a review - thanks you - and pleased that you like our shop. We are always looking at ways to improve the shop to offer a better service for the visitors here in Elounda, and for those who like us live here...we have a few ideas for the winter already :) One thing we are hoping to do is extend the range of classic books on offer, and also the jewellery, with some designer silver gifts as well as the locally made pieces.

Really nice to see you and we look forward to seeing you and Stevo *Stavros* here again soon!
A big thanks again, and give Steve a hug from us both. Have a great summer
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eklektos Bookshop also viewed

 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Psichro, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Eklektos Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing