We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the food is really important...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palio Kantouni

Palio Kantouni
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“When the food is really important...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We visited three times! Once the three of us right after coming back from an excursion to Chryssi Island in the south and therefore quite early for normal diners and thus not experiencing the delays that many guests are talking about in their reviews - which has a valid reason why it is happening. So we were treated as if we were guests at some local home. Iced water, cold beers and a platter to go with the beers. The restaurant perched above Elounda in the village of Mavrikiano has an even more spactacular view of the Spinaloga island. The reason to come up here is simply the food and nothing else. Do not expect first class service with white towles and water or wine being poured. There is only one man (the husband) taking the order, serving, cleaning and ringing up the bill. There is only one woman (the wife) cooking inside, one portion at a time. Therestaurant can not accomodate more than 25 people at any given time, therefore if all 25 appear at the same time, the one woman show cannot handle the timing usual restaurants can. Be patient! Go for the culinaryside and leave all problems aside. Do not go to show off your friends what you found (ther is anoter one down in Elounda for this)
Fresh, simple, naive almost! Pure village food and this is the magic! Dont leave the area without visiting. Call to ensure you hae a table. Dont show up and dont show off!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EVADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    39
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aug 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We called here on one evening when they were fully booked! However the proprietor was so apologetic and suggested we book for the following evening which we did. The next evening it was much quieter and we had an amazing meal. Very good, home cooked food in a lovely family run restaurant. Great views over the bay. They could not do enough for us! We left the choice to them and had five mezes - beetroot salad (sublime), baked cheese, fried courgette with tzatziki, garlic spicy prawns and a pork casserole. Plus bread and a couple of rounds of local beer and barrel wines. The bill came to 40 euros! The best meal we had whilst we were in Crete.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple and good Cretan food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Family restaurant with simple and good food. However due to its success many if the items on the menu were not available when we were there. We had to select some more basic food than what we planned to have.
View is not "great" as depicted, the restaurant is indeed located on the hill but a bug tree hides most of the view of Elounda.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

had dinner here twice on our visit to elounda, everything was lovely all freshly cooked and the meze that marinos brings on arrival is great gives you a chance to taste all sorts of different little dishes. as a host marinos is superb and maria his wife does a great job cooking also the sweets she makes are lovely, this is one of the very few genuine creten eaterys which one can find in elounda just sitting with youre wine or whatever soaking up the most amazing view whilst dinner is being cooked a place where time is not an issue ,well worth a visit to this lovely family we definatly will be back bravo family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank figaro187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elounda, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cretan hospitality at its best ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

i wish people would take the time and trouble to actually read the reviews of restaurants before going to them "just because they are number 1". Then they won't be disappointed and leave a terrible review. Number 1 does not necessarily mean silver service gourmet cooking. It means that the people who have been to a place and love it for its style, think that it's one of the best places in town. Anyone reading the reviews for Palio Kantouni should know what to expect - good, freshly cooked, traditional food, in lovely surroundings, a beautiful view, a funny, friendly host and a feeling of relaxed well-being engendered by being showered with Cretan hospitality at its best. The fact that it is not expensive is an added bonus! If you want silver service or fast food, please stay away - that will leave more room for the people who appreciate what Kantouni is about!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Athena2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Kantouni also viewed

 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Palio Kantouni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing