We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of Despina Taverna

Despina Taverna
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Barbecue, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On road to plaka, 100metres from main beach
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went to Despina last week during our trip to Elounda....and it was magnificent! Fabulous food and the views are to die for...and not expensive even though we ate till we were bursting and drank lots of the local wine...all fab! The staff were lovely, even giving me a placemat with the gorgeous views of the Sitia Mountains - which we had watched turn pink to red as the sun set, and then they were lit by a full moon which rose as if on cue from the centre of the peaks....Magical! Certainly a first rate eating and visual experience! Cannot wait to go back there! :D

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    132
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, Reading
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value for money and super views”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very good taverna offering very nice food and staggering value for money. Views across the bay are breathtaking. Waiters very friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“amazing view, delicious food, great service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went to "despina" and although the taverna was full of customers and the staff was very busy, they found for us a table with a great view. We ate delicious sea food dishes and fresh fish. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of food and the location of the taverna and the service was excellent. A wonderful place that is worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katepap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous and friendly”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having just returned from a week in Elounda and having eaten in several restaurants-this was rated a firm favourite with all the members of our family! -we returned 3 times as unable to resist the whole experience.Despina is situated up a small hill with stunning views.Family run business -.A special thanks to Michael for giving us such a warm welcome everytime ! A very friendly place with wonderful food- We tried various starters and main courses and ALL were delicious and reasonably priced.Do not leave Elounda without dining at this restaurant-it is the perfect place.May I also congratulate Michael on his impressive spoken Welsh !!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views, great food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Situated about a mile out of Elounda, raised up on a hill, off the main road. Tables over look the bay , so great views as the sun goes down.
Most of the cooking is done on an charcoal barbecue , with the food taken inside for plating.
We had Starters of sardines ( small but lots) and octopus ( a whole , cut in half, then grilled ).
A main of moussaka , was light and delicious. A sea bream, chosen from the cabinet, was fresh and perfectly cooked. With a Greek salad, we were too full for deserts , but were given a complimentary chocolate cake sample.
Friendly staff, happy to take pictures.
An exceptional meal. Cost, with 5 large beers was just over €60.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Despina Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Despina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing