We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run ... A joy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Despina Taverna

Despina Taverna
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On road to plaka, 100metres from main beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Family run ... A joy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Despinas is located on the way out of Elounda on the road to Plaka... A nice stroll along the sea front sets you up for a most relaxing, comforting experience.
Quite simply the sons take your orders ( and love to try out their English ) and Dad cooks your food ( after he has returned from a little fishing )... And believe me.. Dad knows how to Barbeque !
Everything we ate came off the BBQ and it was superb.
No down points with Despina... It's raised position above the road means it is not bothered by traffic but also means the views are to die for.
Sitting here watching the sun set is a Joy..... Matched by the quality of the service, ambience and food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon-Gtr-Mancheste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    124
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The meals we had at the Despina were delicious and the view couldn't be beaten. The prices were average for the area. Maybe because the owners had not long taken over the running of the business, but although they were pleasant enough, I didn't feel any of the usual friendliness and welcoming attitude we are used to experiencing in Greece. They weren't unpleasant - but that 'extra mile' attitude was missing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eloundite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Greek Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have reviewed the Despina before and were keen to visit again. We did, twice as usual to get a fair opinion and have some nice food!

The view is fabulous across the bay, the waxing moon looked beautiful shining on the still water.

The staff are friendly, and the resturant is frequented by Greeks which is always a good sign.

We had the barbacued bread with garlic butter, delicious.Black eyed peas and mousaka appeared as gratis starters, followed by a Greek salad together with the fabulous mixed grill, all lovely.

Custards and Raki finished us off nicely.

This resturant is a little way out of town by the Marakavo turn off, but is well worth the effort. The prices are very good, the toilets are clean and the views are fantastic.

On our second visit we took a Greek friend who complimented us on our choice of resturant, He being a Greek likes to pretend he is not and thus he knew that everyone is authentic in their efforts to please.

Well recomended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Marvelous views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The moonrise was just the icing on the cake. Food and service were superb. We had a lovely, romantic evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eve44Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic View.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic view across elounda in both daytime and nightime,a great choice of dishes,all of them delicious served by attentive waiters,look out for the free mezes at the start of your meal and the free dessert,all for a very reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Despina Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Despina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing