We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THANKS A MILLION ONCE AGAIN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THANKS A MILLION ONCE AGAIN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Where do I begin??? What a fantastic holiday we had at the Manos Apartments, Elounda. We have just returned this morning from Elounda and I could not let time go by before writing a review. First of all I would like to thank Larraine and Caroline for making our holiday so special not only to myself, husband and children, but also to my elderly dad as this was his first time on holiday in Crete. Larraine and Caroline are just wonderful people and nothing was a bother to them. They kept our rooms immaculate. Thank you also to Mike & Leo at the bar. Mike is such a lovely guy who works during the day. Our 2 children thought he was just wonderful as he made such a lot of them. This holiday at the Manos Apartments was everything and more we could have wished for. Well done Manos Apartments!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loorbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    70
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
101
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

After reading several negative reviews on the Manos before we were due to go on holiday I felt I must "put the record straight" so to speak.
This was our first holiday to Crete and we can honestly say that it has been the best 14 days ever. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had beautiful views, fairly basic but was kept spotless thanks to Larraine and Karen and quite spacious with 2 balconies.
The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them especially Leo who ran the bar during the evening. We didn't spend a fortune at the bar, sometimes a drink before we went out to eat in the evening or a coffee/drink on our return.
Elounda has to be one of the loveliest resorts ever, beautiful walks, pretty harbour and every restaurant we ate in was excellent. Can highly recommend the Olondi and Lotus Eaters for wonderful food. We celebrated our Pearl wedding anniversary whilst on holiday and Daniel at the Lotus Eaters really made us feel special with excellent service and wonderful food.
The Greek night at Manos is really worth supporting for 15 euros the food was very good and the greek dancing very entertaining. All in all a brill evening.
We hired a car for 3 days with Elounda Travel and local bus service is excellent value to Ag Nik (3 euro return) on air conditioned coaches.
Must visits are Spinalonga (especially if you have read "the Island"), Plaka and Ag Nik .
Overall the Manos is excellent value for money, in an excellent position and we will definately be returning for another holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuefromCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

I couldn't disagree more with a recent review about the bar staff. I have just come back from a week's holiday with my mother. We are not party animals and don't have enough money to spend a fortune at the bar, but we were made welcome from day one and always called in at the bar when we got back from our evening meal to have a coffee and occasionally a brandy and a chat for a while. Leo and Mike were always friendly whenever we passed by on our way out or in during the day or evening. The apartments are basic but very clean. All the staff are friendly. The pool area is lovely and the location couldn't have been better - not right in the middle of town and not too far out either. We felt very safe walking around in the evening and there's loads of choice for good places to eat. Our favourite was Nikos near the bus stop in the square. Small inside area on road side and outdoor area over the road. It seems to be where the locals eat too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed at the Manos for one week in September. Had a one bed apartment which was basic but kept clean and had two balconies. The apartments were of a decent size and were basic but this is to be expected in Crete. The kitchen had two hobs and a full sized fridge.

You could always get a sun lounger at the pool even tho it was open to the public and the beach is just over the road from the apartments, with the town centre a five min walk away with tavernas and bars even closer then that. The apartments were in a great location, as being just that little bit out of town meant they were more relaxed and peaceful then the ones nearer to the square and were set back off the road. The pool bar served decent well priced food from 9am - 5pm and the bar was open till the last person went to bed. All the staff esp the bar staff Leo and Mike were very welcoming and happy to help with advice, information and teaching you some useful Greek words. All the staff greated you with a smile.

A trip into Ag Nik is well worth doing for a walk round the much busier city with its 'bottomless' lake. Spinalonga Island and Plaka are also worth a visit.

Elounda is a lovely town with some fantastic resturants serving wonderful fresh traditional food as well as places doing simple food such as Pizzas and burgers. There are also lots of great bars, with the ones being set back from the main square slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

There are mixed reviews about the Manos Apartments, they are glowing if you are a party animal and prepared to spend a fortune drinking in the bar. Not so good if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday.

When we first arrived the barman pointed to a balcony immediately above the pool bar and said "you are up there". As we wanted a relaxing holiday and had requested a quiet room it could not have been worse . The manager arrived 40 minutes later and agreed to move us but only if we considered it to be a "real issue"! We were then given a room at the rear of the complex. This was much better, had a nice view and was much quieter. What we had reqested when we booked the holiday.

We visit Greece regularly 2 or 3 times a year so know what to expect but these are basic beyond belief. The balcony is so small you cannot fit two chairs and a table on them comfortably. We had to go out and buy our own cooking utensils as there was nothing to cook with. The rooms are not cleaned regularly. When we first arrived we noticed a peanut on the floor in front of the wardrobe - it was still there when we left. All they do is empty the bins (too infrequently), mop the bathroom floor occasionally and change the beds.
We had a torrential storm one day and several apartments, including ours, were flooded by rain coming under the doors.

As for the pool bar, we had a few snacks there and the food was quite good but the two main men in the bar (Michalis and Leo) were only friendly with the people who drank into the early hours every night and spent a lot of money. They were very unfriendly to us and several other people that we regularly sat and talked to, so much so that when the coach arrived to pick us up for our return journey, Michalis didn't even look up and say Goodbye - so rude.
This is the only time this has happened to us.

Elounda itself is a fabulous resort, very pretty with lots of lovely tavernas and bars. We didn't have a bad meal at all. Try the Elena Taverna (as you leave the Manos apartments turn left and it is the first one), this is run by a Greek family who will bend over backwards to make everyone feel welcome and the food is delicious and very reasonable.

Spinalonga is a lovely trip as is Knossos - very interesting. We walked down to Plaka and also up into Pano Elounda which overlooks the whole resort, beautiful views. You must also visit the little cafe on the hillside overlooking Manos apartments (in Mavrikiano) which is run by a man called Michalis. He is 97 years old and it is a real Greek experience.

All in all, Elounda is lovely but if you want a quiet holiday do not stay at the Manos!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grannylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our first full family trip to Crete, which was a year in the planning, and involved two of us tackling our fear of flying, and it was fantastic. The Manos apartments were perfect for us - a family group with ages ranging from 18 - 54. Apartments were bigger than we expected, simple (which we expected and which was fine) and kept very clean, as was the pool and other communal areas. The pool/bar area was the centre for activity, plenty of sun loungers, great food from 9.00 am till 5.30 and after that, so many great restaurants in Elounda to explore. All the bar staff were great, but we really enjoyed our conversations with Leo, life and soul of the party without being over the top, and happy to talk to us about life in Crete outside the tourist season which we really enjoyed. Greek Night at Manos highly recommended. Location was brilliant, right opposite the beach, and a short walk into main square. Elounda itself really gets under your skin, beautiful setting with so many welcoming bars and restaurants - we didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. Restaurants we particularly enjoyed included the one right on the waterfront (name begins with V) where you can see fish from your table, Okeanis right near the Manos apartments who serve the lightest mousakka you will ever eat and Marilena....Couple of very nice gift/craft type shops in Plaka which we thought was better than anything we saw in Ag Nik. In short, we loved it......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at Manos apartments where we had a clean & spacious two bedroom apartment with a sea view. We would highly recommend these apartments to family & friends. They are in a super location, the beach is across the road & it is a very short & pleasant walk to the bars and restaurants. The guys behind the bar are great - Leo and Mike. Elounda is safe for everyone, people leave car keys in their cars & mobile phones on unoccupied tables without any problems. The restaurants all have very good reputations and the staff are the friendliest I have met anywhere. We particularly liked the Babel bar for drinks and snacks - if you are going to Elounda it's a must and you can even get free Greek lessons. We would definitely go to the Manos apartments again, perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandCW_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#15 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.0 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Apartments

Property: Manos Apartments
Address: Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Manos Apartments Hotel Elounda
Manos Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing