We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Manos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
W. Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at Manos apartments where we had a clean & spacious two bedroom apartment with a sea view. We would highly recommend these apartments to family & friends. They are in a super location, the beach is across the road & it is a very short & pleasant walk to the bars and restaurants. The guys behind the bar are great - Leo and Mike. Elounda is safe for everyone, people leave car keys in their cars & mobile phones on unoccupied tables without any problems. The restaurants all have very good reputations and the staff are the friendliest I have met anywhere. We particularly liked the Babel bar for drinks and snacks - if you are going to Elounda it's a must and you can even get free Greek lessons. We would definitely go to the Manos apartments again, perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandCW_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    75
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
107
189
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at Manos apartments with my 13 year old son and my sister, we had a sea view number 24 it was perfect , this was a two bedroom apartment which sleeps 5. Manos is clean and rooms were spacious , it a very short walk to the bars and restaurants with pool tables for the kids, it is safe for teenagers to explore. the greek night is a great night to meet other residents staying here, it is mainly English people who book these apartments. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definatley be going back next year, this place is suitable for couples and familes and is in a great location the beach is across the road with the usual watersports. there are no bad restaurants here all have very good reputations !! plaka is near by which is beautiful and a visit to Spinalonga is a must (read the book about it called the Island by Victoria heslop), The guys behind the bar are great Leo and Mike, the bar closes with the last man standing! which was sometimes me! I have been to Elounda for many years and will return to Manos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiseclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just back from 2 weeks with family (husband, 6yr + 3yr old), staying at Manos Apartments, Elounda. Apt are basic but clean, and all you need if only planning to have breakfast and make a pack lunch.. did manage toast on the hob each day! The team in particular Lorraine were wonderful, they made our holiday which Thomson had tried to ruin in so many ways! The pool has no shallow end, but since kids prefer beach not an issue.. beach just across the road, or town beach just 5 mins or 15 mins to Almyros Beach between Ag Nic and Sitia. Most are blue flag. Restaurants in Elounda were lovely and welcome kids whatever the time. Sarah, Kent

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof2Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The apartments are set in two blocks, both blocks being 2 apartments high. The apartment we stayed in was a 2/3 person, the main bedroom being reasonable in size with a double wardrobe, twin beds and a smallish balcony. The other bed was a single in the kitchen/living area with an even smaller balconey. Also in this area was a cooker, cuboards, fridge, cups, glasses, plates, knifes, forks etc etc. The bathroom was a good size with a shower.
The down side was being Crete it was extemely hot and air con was an extra and at about 50 euros a week i think was very expensive. Also an extra was a safly deposit box but the price for this was reasonable.
The rooms were cleaned about 4 times a week and laundry was changed 2 or 3 times week.
The pool area was kept very clean and well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and during our stay never became over crowded and although the pool is open to everyone aparently so is every pool in crete.
The bar and eating area serves averagely priced but a good selection of food and drink and Leo the main man does a good job of entertaining people. There are a couple of big TV's here and every week there is a greek night, a quiz night and football watching nights etc etc.
Over the road is a small beach and turning right from the apartments there are resturants all the way into town which is no more than a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Manos apartments are basic but comfortable and kept fairly clean. Excellent location in Elounda with a beach (safe swimming) across a (fairly) busy road and restaurants and shops from next door and on into the resort. The pool is good sized and even if there were non-residents you could always get a sunlounger. The bar serves food until 5.30 and drinks until late. There are bar TVs (unobtrusive) and entertainment twice a week that did not dusturb those who didn't take part.

We had two problems with Manos. We had three balconies but no shade until around 3pm which meant it was too hot to eat out for breakfast and lunch. You definately need to have the air-conn (E50 a week). Some of the apartments at the front had shady balconies but were overlooking the bar and near the road.

We also found the bar staff unhelpful with anything other than serving drinks and food. For example, they did not offer to carry bags or suitcases even for a family (not us) with two very small children, two suitcases and a buggy arrinving at 12.15am. This may not be their job but was not welcoming.

The Thomson rep can provide car hire but you may get cheaper through the owners or shopping around in Elounda.

There are some excellent restaurants just past the main harbour and beyong the Lotus eaters and Ferryman. We particularly enjoyed Haroupo Ergospasio (great sea frint open terrace and very friendly staff) and Thalassomylos. There is also a take-away that will deliver.

Good trips out are the boat to Spinalonga Island, Plaka (the village opposite), Krista and Mochlos. The Happy Train does go to Plaka but you only get 10 minutes in the village - unless you get a later "train" but you'd need to be certain there was another!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

After a long transfer (over 2 hours!), we arrived at the Manos. Leo welcomed us and showed us to our room. We opted for a one bedroom apartment which was quite large, it had 3 balconies in total with a sea view. The room was quite basic (as you would expect in Greece) but clean and well presented. The air conditioning cost us 50 Euros which I believe is very steep! The Manos is in a good location,opposite the beach and in 5 minutes walk of the bars and restaurants. I'd recommend the beach past Lotus Eaters as it's much less crowded. We had some excellent meals while we were there, I'd recommend The Olondi and Lotus Eaters for great Greek cuisine and Zorba's (lovely pizzas!). Babel is also great for a cold beer during the day, they made us feel very welcome. If you want a relaxing holiday with a Greek atmosphere, definitely go to Elounda. We went to Spinalonga while we were there, I'd recommend going there if you've read Victoria Hislop's the Island as it brings the book to life.
If I go back to Elounda I'd probably stay somewhere else other than Manos as there seemed to be some nicer apartment blocks in the area (Olive Grove looked nice).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EloundaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Do not be fooled by the tour operator website. The photos are old and do not show the new 'private apartment' block. It is not suitable for 'couples' as lots of families go, but moreover, anyone is welcome to use the bar and pool and all for free. So whilst the pool is full of screaming kids, who are probably not staying there, the 'couples' pay to go on the beach for peace and quiet. Do not try and remonstrate with the parents of some of these kids as, in our case, it can get nasty. The rooms are very basic, do not expect hand towels, toilet rolls, a toaster, or decent furniture. The bathrooms are small and grim. Air con is 50 euros per week, the most expensive we've found in Greece to date. If you want a nice relaxing holiday go elsewhere. However, Elounda is a great resort for a laid back day and evening. You must go to Babel for breakfast, snacks and evening drinks, Nec and Yannis are the nicest guys ever to tempt you in and look after you. Best value, best food, best service for a restaurant is Porto Rino, not much of a view, but a nice taverna and a relaxing evening guaranteed. Elounda is great resort, but as for the Manos, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusieSue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#14 of 35 in Elounda
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.5 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Apartments

Property: Manos Apartments
Address: Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Manos Apartments Hotel Elounda
Manos Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing