We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok NOT great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Manos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok NOT great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back from Manos and agree with previous review, stayed in better appartments and yes i do realise you only sleep in the room, but even so you still need some space to move around the bedroom without having to back up or move out of the bedroom while your partner wants to pass. Booked two rooms and both were the same, small but adequate and yes i too agree that the rooms had bits of hair spread around but only if you looked closely, although in the other room i booked, a duster around the headboard and light fittings wouldnt go amiss. The Manos is situated in an ideal area and close to the centre. Pool is COLD but you get used to it. The area around the pool and bar is clean and well kept and the service is very good. I would go back to Elounda but perhaps not the Manos.

Room Tip: Even if the room you book says with cot space, the cot would either be in the kitchen or have to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    70
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
101
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

In answer to Not Dissapointed comments. We did go down and put our towels on sunbeds at 09.00 but did not go back to bed as stated but had breakfast at manos bar then went onto sunbeds. As we have been there there 6 times in the last 3 years i did not see the need to go sightseeing as i have done all that the previous times. When you work hard all year i only wanted to go and relax by the pool and enjoy ourselves with the friends we have met at Manos the previous years. I do not like the fact that someone can write this comment everyone has different views on what they do on holiday. They should mind their own business and not nit pick on others holiday, I find it strange i have to explain my holiday in this way but you do get some very ignorant people. Thanks to all the staff at manos for another excellent holiday see you soon, cannot praise them enough.

Room Tip: All of the rooms i have stayed in are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Manos apartments are situated in an ideal location as mentioned by other reviewers. However, they are flanked by skeletal concrete constructions, not so good. The pool is small, murky and gives off a strong chlorine smell. The patio area surrounding the pool is packed with bright green sunbeds barely a foot apart and you have to run the gauntlet of sizzling bodies to reach your accommodation. Number 17 was small but quiet, only noisy when others started dragging furniture about, which seems to happen quite a lot all over Greece!
The beds were comfortable and the hot water was in plentiful supply. The bed linen and towels were tired and showed signs of wear and tear. If a little care and imagination was taken over decor, and door and window stops provided against the constant wind, the apartments would appear much more comfortable and inviting.
Our apartment was not particularly clean. Hair and toothbrush splashes evidendent in the bathroom on arrival were still there when we left, as was the spillage on the balcony. The toilet bin was only emptied 3 times during our residence, not really acceptable.
As quoted by another reviewer, there is nothing Greek about Manos. In my opinion Manos is over rated and over priced. I have holidayed in Greece, both on the mainland and her islands many times and this accommodation ranks near the bottom.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've just returned from two weeks at Manos Apartments - received warm welcome from friendly staff. We had requested a quiet 1 bedroom apartment and our accommodation more than met our expecations, with a large balcony and views over the mountains - our thanks to Larraine, the English manager. All additional requests were promptly fulfilled. The other English speaking staff shared useful tips on local beaches and places to visit. The cleanliness of the pool and surrounding area were excellent, and friendly staff provided an extensive range of drinks and bar snacks during the day. We were delighted to discover the small beach just over the road from the apartments (with sun loungers and umbrellas available at a daily rental charge 7 euros) and a fresh water shower. The beach is sandy, but there are shingle and pebbles in the crystal clear water, so swim shoes recommended if you want to do more than just paddle. The larger, municipal beach is a 5 mins walk away with similar facilities.

There are restaurants and a supermarket just a minutes' walk from the apartments, and then, a 10 minute walk into the main town square and harbour, a wide variety of local, international restaurants together providing an excellent choice of fish dishes and traditional Cretan cuisine. We particularly enjoyed Megaro, Paulis and Olondi restaurants.

If you turn left on the road outside the apartments and walk along for a few minutes, there is a road to the left (to Mavrikiano) which takes you up the hill where you will find the Hope Tavern - excellent local cuisine at amazing prices. Fabulous views of Elounda. We paid 35 euros for 2 courses with wine for 2.

If you decide to visit the former Leper colony, why not go from Plaka just a 5 minute crossing by boat? There are however frequent trips from Elounda. Do take plenty of water to drink as there are only toilet facilities on the island and nowhere to purchase any drinks or refreshments. it takes about 2 hours to fully explore and walk around the whole island.

If you decide to visit the Elounda Friday market (7.00 - 13.00) just keep walking up the road behind the town church, you will find it eventually - an excellent array of local fruits and veg including cheeses.

The local bakery is situated in the road to the right of the supermarket in the town square - it is closed on a Sunday though. We particulary enjoyed the savories - spinach and cheese pies etc.

Fantastic holiday - special 'thank you' to all staff at Manos Apartments !!!

Well worth visiting this resort again!!

Johnson/Ford Hertfordshire September 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks holiday and the Manos Apartments. We asked for a quieter apartment and was given No.19 and the back overlooking the mountains. Other reviews have said how small it is and yes it is small but enough for two people with two balconies. One of them was always in the shade either morning or evening so you could choose the sun or the shade. I was very impressed with how relaxed I felt straight away and the people that look after the apartments, bar and pool all work very hard and are very polite and nothing too much trouble. The Rep James was also very kind and welcoming. The area is so beautiful. We hired a car for 3 days and had a quick look around the local area and the mountains and the little villages up there are a real treat to find the real Greece as it was. The Greek people are very friendly and although the country is in financial crisis this did not reflect in the prices. We thought were very reasonable. The tavernas all serve the most delious food and you will be spoilt for choice. The location is fab with many of the tarvernas right on the sea front many overlooking Spindalonga Island, which is a must to visit. There are many boats in the harbour going all day.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would really recommend Manos to anyone, families, couples it really is a very friendly, relaxing place to stay with fab views.
Thank you Manos and staff for a lovely holiday. xxx

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are towards the back of the complex. Although the bar area is not overly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our 7th holiday at Manos. Hercules was there to welcome us when we arrived late in the evening . Our room was spotless and we had a change of linen and towels several times a week. Larraine and Caroline work extremely hard to keep the apartments clean. Always helpful and welcome everyone with a smile. Maria and Mike are at the bar early in the morning to serve food and that much needed first coffee. The bar and surrounding area is kept spotless. Nectaria arrives at lunchtime to take over from Mike always a smile on her face and ready for a chat. The pool is checked every day by Steve the pool man who returns in the evening to clean the pool. Elounda has a variety of tavernas and we still haven't tried them all. Prices are very reasonable and everyone very friendly. The beach opposite Manos is kept clean and is not to crowded. During our stay we were reunited with friends we had made in previous years and also made new ones. With regards to comments made in other reviews we found no problems in getting sunloungers every day and only once or twice did outsiders come into Manos to use the pool. Also we all go on holiday for different reasons. My husband and myself work very hard all year and get one holiday all we want to do is relax , read books and enjoy good company oh and of course wall to wall sunshine. A big thankyou to Larraine,Caroline,Mike,Nectaria,Maria,Hercules and Steve for a fantastic relaxing holiday yet again. We will see you all next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle Emlyn uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself,my husband and our 8 yr old daughter have just returned from a fantastic trip staying at the Manos.Apartments. We were greeted by Hercules the exceptional evening bar man who immediately took us to our apartment. All neccesities were explained and offered. We stayed at No.9 apartment which had a great location on the first floor overlooking the pool. It was a two bedroom with 3 balconies, a shower and kitchen that was well equipped with sufficient utensils and even a dish cloth and tea towel. Never had this before. Great! Everything was spotlessly clean with linen and towels changed twice during the week. Thanks to Lorraine the Manageress and Caroline.
Michaelas , Nectarina and Maria who run the bar during the day are very homely friendly people who work very hard serving delicious snacks and bevrages. Nothing was too much trouble. Including amending dishes for our daughter. A Big Thankyou!
The bar / pool area was a lovely meeting place to chat to new friends where children of all ages mixed and had fun. They ranged from 6 - 19 yrs old playing in the pool or games in the shaded areas.
The pool was spotlessly clean and looked after by steve who checked the water quality every morning and evening. This was peace of mind for us as parents as our child swam and played in the water almost all day long. There were plenty of beds available around the pool despite the complex being full.
The location of the Manos across from the sea is spectacular. It has all amenaties that you need on your door step.
We just wanted to reassure guests that we found no problem with the noise in the bar and even slept early on the evening of a well attended quiz night.
So, all in all, to sum up the Manos.
They are a 'small and friendly' family run apartments which cater for all your self catering needs. We personally thoroughly enjoyed our stay in all aspects and wish to thank the whole team. A big thankyou .
Diolch xx

Room Tip: Room 9 great to keep an eye on your children from the balcony.Pool view and sea view. Fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iant066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#15 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.0 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Apartments

Property: Manos Apartments
Address: Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Manos Apartments Hotel Elounda
Manos Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing