We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Alikes Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alikes Apartments
Ranked #1 of 3 Elounda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in September 2012 and it was wonderful the views from the hotel were lovely. The apartments were very clean and quite spacious our apartment opened out onto the front lawn. The staff were very friendly and helpful all in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourtyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    86
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
79
265
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had our second stay at the Alikes Apartments last June and it was just as perfect as before.Maria and the rest of the staff give their all to make your stay a great experience.The location is perfect and I spent many happy hours fishing off the causeway.We requested (and got) a large balcony with a sea view,if you ask for the Anemos rooms you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just ask and Maria will do her best to comply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Alikes Apartments and just want to go back. This was our second visit and this time we also booked a week for our older children to join us. We had a lovely one bedroom apartment (number 113) for our stay with our 15 year old son, we had a large balcony and a partial sea view. The following week our older children had studio rooms 201 and 203 which both have stunning views of the bay.

As everyone says, Maria, Popi & Jenni are fantastic hosts who will do everything in their power to make sure your holiday is the best. Jenni’s cocktails are fantastic, Popi’s breakfasts are wonderful and Maria makes sure everything is perfect, including mowing the lawn and cleaning the pool. I must also mention the brilliant job that the cleaners, Barbara and Betty do, the rooms are all spotless and they are so friendly. The staff are definitely what makes the Alikes so popular with so many repeat guests such as ourselves. The Thomson Rep, James was also very good. He spent a lot of time at the apartments and was very helpful and friendly.

The BBQ night was really good and we thoroughly enjoyed the “entertainment”. We all had a brilliant night with good food and dancing for just 14 Euros each. Maria made a beautiful chocolate and orange cake for dessert. The quiz night was also a really good night. We won so we might be a bit biased.

The town of Elounda is wonderful. There is plenty of good restaurants to try in the evenings. The ones we would recommend are: The Lotus Eater, Vachus, Marilena (the meze is brilliant), Miakoda (Mexican food at its best) & Ellie’s Place next to the main beach is really good for lunchtime where you can get a gyros (pork or chicken in pitta with all the accompaniments and chips inside the pitta) for 2.50 euros. Really good value and very tasty.

We did a few trips whilst we were there, visiting Knossos and Spinalonga with Thomsons which are well and truly worth a visit. We also took the bus to Plaka which is stunning. The sea is really clear, great for snorkelling, although the beach is large white pebbles (obviously why the sea is so clear). There are plenty of restaurants for a spot of lunch.

Once again, thank you Maria, Popi & Jenni for another wonderful holiday. You really are in a class of your own!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brynjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The location of the apartments is stunning with only a road's width between them and the sea. The apartment itself was a good size, in good condition and was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The balcony was not brilliant as it had a column in the middle of it so was difficult to use and you could certainly not eat a meal on it. We were not using the apartment for cooking but if we had been it would have been difficult as there was not enough plates, pots etc. In addition there was not a table that 3/4 people could sit round to eat. The pool is not very large and is filled with saltwater from the sea so is not brilliant. The major black mark is that the air conditioning unit in the living room did not work. We had to rely on the unit in the bedroom and this was not enough to cool the whole apartment. We had our 15 year old godson with us who was sleeping in the living room and we ended up having to move his mattress into the bedroom so the three of us shared the one room. However, Elounda is stunning with great scenery, fantastic restaurants, lovely clear seas and we had a great holiday. We would definitely go back and despite the comments above, would use the Alikes Apartments again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just come back from Crete after yet another wonderful stay at the Alikes apartments. It is like a time warp, nothing had changed, well not much. Jenny, Maria and Popi were still there doing what they do best and that is looking after you. We did notice that where the old books that people leave behind there was a basket of unfinished lotions of varying types sun creams various factors, after sun cream so you don't need to bring too much over. You can as the holiday progresses, go down and have a look through the selection and help yourselves to what you need. We have noticed the odd negative comment or two about room sizes and location of room as some do not have a view as such. All we can say is that there were a group of people on our stay there who had this problem but were soon sorted out to make their stay there more welcome. We made a whole lot of new friends there at the Alikes (you know who you are) we had a thoroughly marvellous stay a second time around and would highly recommend it to anybody.

Sure some people's taste's are different, it depends what you are looking for in a holiday. Ours is good location, this one is fantastic, friendly staff, these guy's go the extra mile, good food, the barbeque was excellent and entertainment was great (pity about the stripper though!) the DJ was good. What else is there in a holiday you want extra?............mine is to come away knowing we have had all those things and more......and we did. We do tend on returning at some stage because we know we are guaranteed to get our money's worth every time

A big thanks to everybody concerned a job well done, enjoy your time off you deserve it.

Quint and Julie the Cornish Pixies

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0rnishPixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is ideal - overlooking the sea, however the balcony from the first studio we had (room 106) looked onto a wall and the bar at the side, it also smelt of drains. We have been to 8 Greek Islands and have never complained before - Maria changed our room (to 211) after 3 days and although this was better it was at the rear, without a view. I had emailed before the holiday requesting an upper floor and sea or pool view, however I do appreciate that a lot of the holidaymakers are repeat visitors and are therefore given the best rooms. A supplement should be in place for sea view rooms and then at least you have a choice. Maria, Poppi and Jenny were lovely, they worked really hard and were very helpful. We didn't use the pool. We loved Elounda and The Oasis café next door.

Room Tip: If you are unhappy with your room let Maria know - she will do her best to move you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe,Northumberland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Alykes last year and enjoyed it so much that we booked up to return this summer for a number of reasons,the primary one being that the Alykes staff are absolutely superb ! Maria,Popi and Jenny go out of their way to be helpful and their friendly and caring approach to their guests is one of the key reasons why so many people keep coming back year after year.Make no mistake,Maria,Popi and Jenny ARE the Alykes and without them the Alykes would become rather ordinary (Mr.George take note!)

The rooms are clean and sheets and towels are changed twice a week.We had a room with a sea view this year which was excellent .However, a cracked mirror and shower tray,a toilet flush that kept sticking,a screw sticking out of the side of the bed and a socket which came out of the wall exposing live wires when you removed a plug from it indicate that some money will need to be spent on this room (and others,according to other guests we spoke to) after the season has finished to bring it back up to scratch for 2014.

Elounda itself is compact and not over-developed (yet).Beyond the restaurants there's little night life in Elounda which suited us fine.There are numerous good places to eat in the evening such as Lotus Eaters,Olio and Katafygio which are just 5-10 minutes walk from the Apartments
.
We spent some days on the small beach just 100 yards up the road and came back to the Alykes for lunch.The bar menu contains the usual mixture of sandwiches,club sandwiches,crepes and salads but the difference is the care that Popi puts into preparing the food.....Special mention must also be made here for Jenny's Vanilla Milk Shake!

Small niggles about the room aside we had a great holiday and it was so relaxing that we've been back over a week and still can't adjust !

I'd love to say that we've booked up for next year but for some reason the Thomson price for the same two weeks in 2014 has gone up £400 per person to £1112 from Newcastle and that's just a ridiculous amount to pay for a self-catering apartment at the Alykes.Add to that some horrendous flight times for 2014 (Manchester is the same) and sadly the Alykes is a non-starter for 2014 although I hope that we will return one day in the not too distant future.....
Chas & Jeannie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Replicant54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.0 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#14 of 35 in Elounda
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alikes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alikes Apartments

Property: Alikes Apartments
Address: | Akti Olountos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alikes Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2002, the Alikes Hotel Apartments are a family run business, offering a high standard accommodation in the beautiful resort of Elounda on the north coast of Crete. To ensure that you have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday the Alikes offers many facilities including a gym, sauna and hammam privat parkig pool bar and snak bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Alikes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alikes Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing