We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Alikes Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alikes Apartments
Ranked #1 of 3 Elounda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loaction is important but so is everything else to make a complete holiday. These apartments have the benefit of an excellent location. However, they are also clean and very well run. The staff, Maria, Jenny and Popi are very friendly and can't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. the hotel is also well situated close to many Tavernas so plenty of choices to eat out. It is also close to the causeway which opens up nice walks. We have stayed at these apartments three times now and only a little disappointed once on the first visit when we didn't get a sea view room. Maria who runs the place didn't want to see anyone disappointed so did her best to move us which she did 3 days later when a sea view room became available. We keep saying we must try somewhere else but ...

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Alikes Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 485 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Love this place so much we went back there this year for our honeymoon . Staff are always so friendly and helpful . Will be returning again next year for sure . If your planning to stay in Elounda this is the place to go .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRDUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked this holiday after being spoilt in Villas the past few years having had the opportunity to share the cost with friends so this was the first year of having to return to apartment holidays (we don't like staying in hotels). How lucky were we? the holiday and resort were booked through reviews on Trip Advisor and every word previously stated is true. The Girls Maria, Poppy and Jenny are wonderful and I hope Mr George appreciates how valuable they are to the success of his business. The premises are excellent, located right on the sea front on a quiet causeway. The apartments are spotless which is maintained by the excellent maid service DAILY. The girls manage to promote a warm, friendly and welcoming environment and cannot do enough to ensure you have a pleasant stay. A lot of the rooms overlook the glorious bay so do your best to ensure you book one of these although the few rooms that are at the rear will give you afternoon sun on the balcony and are quieter if that is what you want, having said that noise is not an issue. Elounda is a nice size resort having everything you will need, numerous good restaurants within a short walk, several metres away. Supermarkets, Banks, Bars, Shops, Car and Bike hire all available very close by. We had a fab holiday and will almost certainly be returning to Elounda and the Alykes appartments.

Room Tip: As I stated sea views are superb and there are plenty available, we had the larger apartment all hav...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dotsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Returned from 2 weeks at Alikes Apts in June 2013.....and I've never been so sad to be returning home from a holiday...EVER!!!!!!
Our first trip to Crete, but not to Greece as we've been to may other Islands. It will not be our last!

Apart from the beautiful Island, scenery and history etc, the welcome we received at the Alikes was second to none! Maria met us and showed us to our room, the dreaded room 107 (according to other Tripadvisor reviews)
It was lovely! Smaller than some of the other rooms I think, but the huge bonus of a double bed!! Not the norm in Greece!
Yes the room is close to the bar and pool, and there is some noise from the bar on an evening, but it really wasn't an issue for us! The bar closed by 1am but the music was turned down earlier than that. BBQ night (a must if you stay here!!!) was a bit more noisy, but hey! You're on holiday!!! BBQ night is worth staying for if it's only for Maria's chocolate cake!!!! Delish!!!!!

Our room was nice, lovely balcony, double wardrobe and dressing table. Kitchen had fridge, kettle, toaster, 2 rings, plates, cutlery etc - standard Greek set-up. We don't self-cater as such but made brekkie and lunch most days (toast, coffee, sandwiches etc)
The bathroom was lovely, much better than any we've ever had. The room was kept beautifully clean by the lovely cleaners Barbara and Linda.

Jenny runs the bar - she's a total darling and makes a mean 'Grass Skert'
She's a fountain of knowledge about the local area, and Crete (being an ex rep) and is happy to suggest things to do or trips etc. We're not really people who usually sit around the pool bar on an evening, but we called in ever night for a nightcap (along with most of the guests) It was just a lovely atmosphere...mainly due to Jenny!

Popi runs the bar during the day, and is as lovely as Maria and Jenny. She also makes a beautiful salad and a fab brekkie!!!

The apts themselves are in a beautiful position, overlooking the sea (we could see Spinalonga from our room, which was my main reason for choosing Crete for our holiday)
A very short walk (about 50 meters) brings you to the first of 2 restaurants, Melissos and Blue Sea. The next restaurants/taverners are a further 100 meters or so away. It's a flat walk with a proper path (another rarity in Greece) so i'd say its fairly good even for people with minor/medium walking issues.

I know it sometimes feels like you're pestered into restaurants, someone standing outside being all friendly and telling you their mousakka is the best in Greece, while bundling you into a restaurant you don't really fancy.
Not the case here.

This is without a doubt the friendliest place we've ever been, and I actually think it's genuine!!!!
The place really has the feel of a little village, but with plenty to offer!!! Many of the restaurants are built out over the water so dining is a fab experience! Prices are fair and a 2 course meal plus wine, water was approx. £30-£40 euros for 2 people. You can eat as cheap as you'd like here, Gyro is 2.5 euro, mousakka 6-8 euro. something for everyone.

We ate in a number of places over our 2 weeks - and had beautiful food everywhere without exception. Melissos, Blue Sea, Katafigio, Mam's.......the list goes on and on!!
On the subject of food tho........the portions here are HUMONGOUS!!!!!!!!!!! And I say that as a chunky-monkey. We NEVER finished a meal here!!!! Try ordering a main course only first, just to see how you get on, as the other thing here is you get loads of freebies!! Small portions of dessert are the norm here, and often a drink of some sort (usually Raki) but (insiders tip) Melissos make their own Raki and turn it into Lemoncello - truly divine!!!!
Cinnamon tea at Katafigio is also a must try (even if, like me, you truly hate cinnamon!!! You'll be a convert!!!)

In short - would we come back here to Crete? Yes. To Elounda - without a doubt. To the Alikes Apts - I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!!

Mr George (the apt owner) is around and about most days, a lovely jolly little man who cooks a mean BBQ.
I only hope that he realises that although his apts (and his restaurants Olea and Kalypso) are lovely, clean and comfortable, In my opinion what makes the Alikes Apts our kind of place is the staff. Maria, Popi, Jenny and the cleaners (who do a fab job!!!) are the jewel in Mr Georges crown. I only hope he realises as much as they truly do him proud.

Down sides................ if I was being mega picky......nah, I can't do it! I'm looking for something to complain about! I'd be back there like a shot if I had some time off work due!

If you're moaning about this place, then there really is no pleasing you. If you're even thinking about booking here, just do it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mojitolover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can only confirm all the excellent reviews already posted.
The Alykes is set in a fabulous part of the world, so scenic turn right and have lovely peaceful walks along the causeway to the island opposite.Turn left and you have a stroll in to beautiful Elounda.
The village is geared to tourism but delightfuly unspoilt keeping its identity as an old greek village in that you wont be finding John Smiths and sunday roasts or pie and mash. Lots of tavernas along the way you are spoilt for choice every day
. The apartments are set across the road from the sea with a little beach just up the road but you can get into the sea from the rocks for good snorkelling.
Most of the apartments will have a sea view but it will be disapointing to get one the few at the back as thompsons still charge the same for them, we emailed ahead to request a sea view and Maria allocated us the Thalassa apartment,, perfect.
The uniqueness of the Alykes has to be the fantastic ladies who work tirelessly seven days a week to ensure a perfect setting for your holiday. Maria the manager always on hand to help, Popi serving drinks and snacks till mid afternoon[ excellent club sanwiches] Jenny takes over until the early hours [brilliant pina colada].Behind the scenes are the excellent Linda and Barbara who keep the whole place spotless.
The whole holiday was wonderful, made so by these ladies and we can hardly wait to return. Thankyou so much ladies.

Room Tip: E mail Maria ahead to request a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for a week in October 2012 and selected these apartments from reviews on TripAdvisor.

The apartments are close to the sea with a fairly quiet road in between with easy access to many shops, bars, and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. There is an outside bar area in front of the apartments with seating for drinking and eating. There is a small swimming pool out the front and some spaces for loungers with more on the roof of the apartments.

Our apartment was largish. The bedroom had two twin beds, two large wardrobes, and a dresser. The living room had two sofa's (we think they were sofa beds) with TV and a kitchen area with fridge, cooker hob, sink, kettle and all the cutlery and crockery you could want. The toilet / shower room was very small as were the towels and of course there was the obligatory bin for the 'toilet arrangement' in Greece . There were enough power sockets in the apartment to charge up phones, use a hair dryer etc. We could not get the TV to work but were not bothered as we did not want to watch it. There was no WiFi access in the apartment but it was apparently available in the bar area. I used my 3G signal most of the time for my smartphone.

I will add in here that there were signs that it was coming to the end of the season as bulbs had blown which had to be replaced, the holder for the shower head was loose, and general wear and tear. This did not spoil things but worth a mention if you are travelling late in the season.

Jenny, Popi, and Maria were all very friendly and made you feel welcome.

We only had one breakfast in the bar area of the apartments and ate out for breakfast and dinner elsewhere. There were plenty of local restaurants and bars which were not very busy due to it being October. On the negative side some things were no longer available on the menus due to the late season but on the plus side they went out of there way to add extra free food and drinks etc to make you feel welcome.

It is a short walk to the main area in Elounda with cheap buses to Ag Nikolaos and boats to Spinalonga. We did a few local walks as well but nothing too strenuous.

Overall they were average apartments with excellent service from Jenny, Popi, and Maria. To be honest it was a great cheap end of season holiday for us but we are used to hotels and would chose a hotel if we went to Crete again.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea facing higher floor level room. Ours was non sea facing and at the side of the bui...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiptreeJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Both myself and my Partner are self confessed workaholics so when my daughter announced that she was getting married in Crete near Agios Nikolaos it was time to look for a holiday.
After deciding what we wanted from this holiday and looking around the area we decided to stay in Elounda. As we don't do breakfast and enjoy eating out we decided on the self catering option at the Alikes Apartments. This is definatley the best decision ever. The room (211) was immaculate and the housekeepers kept it this way the whole of our stay.
As for the rest of the staff Maria, Popi and Jenny there are no words to fully describe them. They are just the best there is, all three are so hard working, friendly and helpful they make your holiday, nothing is to much for them.
They all made our holiday just what we were looking for.
We hope to return to this part of the world and would definately return to the Alikes and Elounda.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alikes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alikes Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elounda
Price Range: $44 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alikes Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2002, the Alikes Hotel Apartments are a family run business, offering a high standard accommodation in the beautiful resort of Elounda on the north coast of Crete. To ensure that you have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday the Alikes offers many facilities including a gym, sauna and hammam privat parkig pool bar and snak bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alikes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alikes Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing