We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable holiday”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We booked our whole holiday over the Internet but did consult Trip Adviser before hand.
The Akti Olous is charming it is in an excellent location. The staff are very nice and efficient. The rooms are not large but extremely clean, bed linen and towels changed every second day and the room cleaned everyday - properly cleaned not just a run over with the mop!!
We were on Bed and Breakfast, there was plenty of choice - yogurt, fruit, cold meats and cheeses, or hot options, not full British breakfast but why would you want that in Crete???
The roof top pool is again a unique experience and although not a huge area we never found it over crowded, the views are fabulous. The best bit for us was having breakfast on the jetty and feeding the fish.
Elounda is a beautiful resort, get there quickly before it changes. The hotel location is in a quiet spot but is only 5/6 minutes walk from the resort where there are plenty of really good eating places and bars. All the eating places we visited were of an excellent quality. We went to a restaurant called the Lotus Eaters, run by a family, the food is excellent and the family are lovely, they can cater for large parties and special occasions.You will always get a warm welcome. We found a bar called Babel slightly further round the bay , it was a great place to sit and watch the world go by while enjoying a cocktail or just a drink.
I would recommend the resort to families and couples, not really a singles place if you are looking for night clubs etc.
There is no higher recommendation that to say that we would go back in a minute and will do in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza-ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 687 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

Spent two relaxing weeks at the Akti Olous in Elounda. I echo all the positive points that others have made about cleanliness, friendliness etc. Some negatives: bathroom floor treacherous when wet (the shower curtain does not help) - my husband had a very bad fall on the first night. Take a non slip bath mat. Pool looked beautiful but did need cleaning round the edges. They did do this right away when a few people complained. However, I think there was too much chlorine in the water as anyone with white bits on their swimsuits had them turned green. Some people found their skin turned green too! However, free sunbeds and fabulous view with a lovely breeze make the rooftop pool a good place to spend time. Down side - if you are up there and you want a drink or something to eat the rooftop bar is not open and you have to go all the way down to the beach bar. Breakfast a bit dull but plentiful so keeps you going. There is a good sized fridge in the room so you can self cater sandwiches if you want to. Our balcony had a fabulous view but was very tiny. All in all a good place to stay and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We've just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Akti Olous hotel. The rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily with great views over the sea. We even had a shower curtain and tray, which as seasoned self caterers in Greece was a welcome treat. The air con was money well spent. We didn't spend too much time round the pool but it was always quite quiet with enough sunbeds, we found the best beach a 15 minute walk round into the town, near where the pedalos are hired out was the sandiest under foot. There are loads of lovely restaurants but the best value by far had to be the Thalassomylos, the 2nd restaurant you reach as you walk along the sea front into the town. 10 euros a head would get you a 3 course meal including wine, an ouzo and metaxxa to finish with fantastic friendly service and good greek cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the bonus of being able to check out late from our room meant the last day was more enjoyable as we had a night flight so well worth asking at reception.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chivesDaventryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Having never been to Crete before although having been tipped off that Elounda was a lovely spot I booked this hotel through the internet and arriving at half-six in the morning after a night flight wondered what to expect.

In less than an hour we were downstairs and on the restaurant tables on the jetty having the breakfast and black coffee with honey.

The resort is not massive but there are more than enough restaurants and bars and plenty of interesting walks - To the right of the hotel is a causeway and then crystal clear waters, hills, snorkelling, wild goats, sea birds and hundreds of cicadas.

The rooms were to a good standard and the family run a tight ship - with the rooms subject to vigorous cleaning every day. The hotel is smart, there are sunbeds for free on the roof pool - which again is well layed out, cracking views and also shade and tables - although the pool did need a scrub - there are also sun beds on the wee beach in front of the hotel and next to the bar - my daughters enjoyed the milk shakes.

My wife and I are 50 and we had two daughters of 22 and 18. We were looking for a hotel without too much noise - the clientelle here were a mixture of english, french, italians and east europeans - but we were all left alone to rub along together and for the fortnight we were here we did not have one disturbed night through revellers and met some lovely folk.

Would recommend this hotel, for us from a basis of little knowledge before we booked it was a good find and money well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank natterjack48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We booked the Akti Olous hotel in Elounda as we had read the good reviews on TA and we weren't disappointed, it really was a nice little hotel in a great location.
Our room was very spacious with a good size bathroom and large balcony with lovely sea views.
The hotel is in a nice location, just a 10 minute walk into the main town of Elounda with all its nice bars and tavernas. You will be spoilt for choice in where to eat in Elounda,.We didn't have a bad meal anywhere but our favourite places were The Ferryman and Olondi both next to each other a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The Akti Olous has its own little private beach right outside the hotel but our favourite beach was the main one in town and worth the 15 min walk as it has been awarded a blue flag and is sandy and clean.
The hotel has a roof top pool with a few sunbeds and parasols but the pool did get a bit dirty during our stay and we didn't see anyone clean it. Also, although the pool is quite small its deep all the way round so not really suitable for small children. The view from the pool is lovely though , you can even see across to Spinalonga island.
We only booked bed and breakfast at the hotel which was fine.The breakfast was not the best but was ok for what we paid and enough to keep you going for the day. There is a nice jetty you can sit out on to have your breakfast which was a lovely start to the day.
We did a boat trip out to Spinalonga island which we booked in town for 10 euros each and that was well worth it to have a look around the deserted leper island.
We also did a trip to AquaPlus water park. We did enjoy it but it was a very expensive day out. You can book this trip in the tourist office in town.
We got the bus into Agios Nikolas which only took 15 minutes to get to and this is a lovely town to visit, alot busier than Elounda but not 'British Bars' and 'Egg and Chip cafes' like Malia thank goodness!
It was our 1st time in Crete and we loved it, the Cretan people are all so lovely and I can happily say the same for the staff at the Akti Olous, very helpful and friendly.
I hope you have found this review helpful and I would not hesitate in recommending the Akti Olous hotel and hope that you enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed at the Akti Olous the first 2 weeks in June and missing it already. Generally I hate hotels, formalities and snobbishness just make me want to puke but the Akti Olous had none of that whilst still retaining an up market feeling. Arriving at 4:30am on Monday morning following a long journey from Norfolk and feeling completely dishevelled it was great to be met by Costa the friendly deskman who quickly had us booked in and I was soon asleep. What a great place, Breakfast was a help yourself buffet which I did to fill for the day as well as a couple of hard boiled eggs for lunch, shhh , don’t tell em :-) . Towel and sheet changes were regular , the rooms were made up and cleaned daily, although I never saw the maids even on trips back during the day. 2 euros a day for the nice large safe was cheap peace of mind but I didn’t feel a need for aircon so can’t comment here. The roof pool and lounge area were superb although the roof bar wasn’t open, I did bring my own drinks no one seemed to bother whatsoever.

My one and only disappointment was the hotels lack of internet access as I need about an hour a day for business needs, but no worry out the main door turn right and about 100 yards is the Jungle Bar, Free internet, large screen TV (where the Euro 2008 play offs were being shown) and beers ,,, all in the sun with the sea to the north ,, Lovely,,, If you should pop along say Hi to Yanis from Daniel.

As we only did B&B at the Akti Olous (the evening buffet looked divine and for 10 euros we could take part but ran out of time) we dined out in the town most evenings and for about 20 euros could have 3 courses with wine. The one restaurant that we frequented on several occasions was the Katafigio, which is left out of the hotel and the first one you come to along the beach, (about 150 yards) here Nikos and his staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, chat and humour was great but ask for your bill a good half hour before you really need to go because sweets and drinks will suddenly appear compliments of Nikos, again say Hi from Daniel and try not to refer to his wealth too much :-)

You must take the ferry to spinalonga ( 10 euros) to explore this ancient island and absorb its fascinating history as well as Knossos to see the ruin of the Minoan palace but otherwise soak the sun and chill out because this is the ultimate place to relax. Nothing here for hoodies and chavs so just stay put in Spain eh!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We have just returned from Crete and the Akti Olous was perfect for our needs. The check in and out were swift. The pool on the top floor was small and sweet, although not recommended for young ones as it was a uniform 1.8m deep with no shallow end, there are also 6 [or so] steps leading up to the pool. The roof top bar was closed but it did provide shade, The space around the pool is limited so watch out in high season.
There is a small lift and spiral staircase to the 4 floors. We stayed B & B which was good, breakfast were buffet type and could be taken outside on the Jetty/taverna. In Elounda they seem keen to build tavernas on jetties. Fish and cats eat any spare food.
The main village is about 10 mins away [you can chose to walk along the road or the shore] where shops and more tavernas can be found.

All in all a relaxing hotel not suitable for young children and the resort is not suitable for teenagers.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing