We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cant fault”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This review is late but some reason it never showed up, I must have pressed the wrong button.
We went here in sept and loved it.
The breakfast out on the jetty restaurant is wonderful, buffet style but as much as you want and sitting outside with the water washing around is a lovely way to start the day.
Nice clean rooms, great location five min walk from the town.
Turn left out of the hotel and 10 mins around the town and you are at a large sandy beach with all facilities.
Turn right and about 2 mins walk and you are at a small quiet shingle beach, which is where we spent most days.
Some great restaurants and bars nearby, the Melissos next door did great meals.
The rooftop bar is great.
The only down side for me was the rooftop poll, which is small, square and 6ft deep all round, wasn't particularly clean either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tn62wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 686 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week in early October and had a wonderful time. As said in previous reviews, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. I am aware that the rooms vary in aspect and size, but we were very happy with our side sea view and comfortable little balcony. On one side we had a lovely view over to the causeway and the Island and beneath was us was a lemon tree and interesting birds such as Spotted Flycatchers and Sardinian Warblers.
Breakfast was excellent with something for everybody and plenty of variety. You can take it over the little road the jetty/pier rea and eat watching the tiny fishes below. Mind you , this was not really practical for our first two days, owing to a howling wind which reminded us of being home in West Cornwall !
We were staying on a B and B basis and ate out for our first three days. The standard of food in Elounda is great, but we did feel that we should try the Blue Sea restaurant at least once. In the end, the food at the hotel was so good , as was the service ,that we had supper in the Hotel for the rest of the holiday.
We also loved visiting the sky bar for a quiet drink before supper. The view over towards the distant mountains was wonderful and we watch the colours changing as the sun slowly set.
Elounda has lots of character and there is lots to do if you don't just want to sunbathe! Spinalonga Island is of course a must. You can easily walk from the hotel. We walked to the causeway and the salt pans every morning before breakfast and had beautiful views of kingfishers as well as being accosted by friendly ( and probably hungry) feral kittens!
All in all, highly recommended !

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WillisCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you love Crete, but not large and impersonal hotels, then this place is just perfect. I would like to keep it to myself, but I will be honest and share the experience. Running between the seafront and the road into Elounda, near the causeway over to the island of Kolykotha, the Akti Olous, in the lovely resort of Elounda, is a wonderful location for a relaxing holiday. Set over four floors, all served by a lift, the rooms vary from a luxury seafront suite to small and cosy garden rooms. Yes, some rooms are not as big as others and some have tiny bathrooms and even tinier balconies, but this is Greece, and it soon does not matter! What matters is that the staff are warm and welcoming and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Our room was serviced every day, and our sheets and towels changed very regularly. The beds were comfortable and the water was usually hot. The rooftop 'sky bar' was just the best spot for a view over Elounda one way and the causeway in the other direction. Tables and chairs were scattered on a shady verandah. This was a lovely place for a quiet drink and a read in the day. The pool on the roof was crystal clear, if a little cold occasionally. Sadly it was too deep for me to stand up in, so would be totally unsuitable for a non swimmer under 6ft, or any children! There were only 12 sunbeds, and no room for more, so in high season this could be a major issue for sun lovers wanting to use the pool area. Again though, the location of the pool on the roof took away any minor niggle. Breakfasts were buffet style, and had both cooked, continental and greek dishes. The choice even varied from day to day. Breakfast could be eaten in the hotel or carried over the road to the hotel's Blue Sea restaurant that was on a pontoon out into the sea. A perfect start to each day, relaxing in the sun watching the fish swim by. Evening meals could be taken buffet style in the hotel again, but I felt that the indoor seating area lacked character when there were so many local Greek tavernas within easy walking distance. The Blue Sea restaurant outside served good 'a la carte' food as an alternative though. Elounda itself has a good feel about it. Touristy enough to eat out somewhere different every night, but small enough to feel Greek. The Akti Olous is a perfect place to stay if you want a good small hotel by the sea.

Room Tip: The high rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pattikent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in October 2013. We'd asked in advance if we could be close to my aged mothers room and they did manage to get us onto the same floor, albeit at opposite ends. The hotel itself is well appointed and nicely situated at the quiet end of Elounda. The rooms are a bit on the basic side. We had a standard double. The bathroom had hot water occasionally and the shower head had no wall fixing, so had to be hand held and the plugs in ours and my mothers sinks didn't work. Our room was also next to the lift which was a bit noisy when used. Other than that, the hotel was good. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts were nice, as was the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are given block 4, stay away from the end room next to the lift. It's a bit noisy when in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

+
went to Elounda Akti Olous first week in October and were hoping for a sea view room to the front however were allocated a fairly small room to the side of the building which was clean, had a tiny balcony and could just see the sea.
Food was acceptable but breakfast a monotonous repetition of tinned sausages, fried eggs (ok) bacon(ok) tomatoes. Good fresh yoghurt , nice selection of breads , jams, honey, fruit.
Whoever located the coffee machine half way along the self service food area needs to re think this as it creates a logjam as its so slow.
Swimming pool on the roof is NOT SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN as it is 1.8 metres deep all the way round with no steps or shallow end. Not much room for sunbeds on roof terrace either.
Rooftop bar is very pleasant and well run by Monique who has a sense of humour.
No smoke detection system in hotel other than a few domestic smoke alarms in corridor.
The best thing about this hotel is its location overlooking a beautiful bay towards the old leper colony of Spinalonga..

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the rooms to the front as the rest have dismal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Crete. I believe we choose the right place and the right hotel. However, the timing might have been better as the weather changed in the last half of our holiday.

I read all the reviews about the Akti Olous and I must say I agree with the majority of them. The hotels situation could not be bettered. The hotel itself was spotless and kept clean by a small army of ladies who were so polite and had a warm greeting and smile whenever you saw them.

The rest of the staff were very good especially the lady who ran the bar in the early part of the day and then from 8pm till late (I'm really sorry I never asked your name but you are an asset to the hotel).

We had booked half board but actually only ate dinner in the restuarant on 3 occasions. The food was varied but not inspiring. The Blue Sea Restaurant which is attached to the hotel is good and you do get a discount if your on half board at the hotel. You do have to book if you'd like to eat here. The breakfast again was varied and catered for all nationalities. Our one and only gripe perhaps is that the hot food was only ever luke warm (there was everything you could wish for for a full English). I could only suggest that a microwave would be invaluable alongside the toaster for those who like it hot (the breakfast and the weather that is!!!!). However, you can take your breakfast across the road and eat at the tables of the Blue Sea restaurant. Every day should start with a coffee and a bite to eat at this location, I wish!!!!

Elounda itself is breathtaking (you get a wonderful 360 degree view of it from the hotels Sky Bar). Everyone we met were warm kind and friendly. Be prepared to put on weight as everytime you stop for a drink there is always a little addition alongside it.

Dimitri's, just opposite the Elounda church had the best gyros, cheese and spinach pies and were brilliant for lunch. They have a few tables across the road which overlooks the harbour and main road, a wonderful spot for people watching.

And finally, make use of the little Happly Trains (Blue and Red (well maroon really!!). We went on both. We took the Blue Train up into the hills with a lovely guide who was very knowledgeable and interesting. I learnt a lot of things about the Cretan/Greek way of life and in return taught her the old adage of the glass half full/half empty. If I could make a living for 6 months of the year in that part of the world my glass would definately always be half full!!

Go to Elounda and enjoy everything the Akti Olous Hotel has to offer. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: From what I can gather try to get rooms on the 2nd/3rd floor. I would think that you would get a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheresaJane1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from another great holiday. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it never fails, staff are always friendly and helpful food is good in the restaurant,. and its in the ideal location for a perfect relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#3 of 35 in Elounda
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $64 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing