We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, well situated but standard rooms are a bit basic”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in October 2013. We'd asked in advance if we could be close to my aged mothers room and they did manage to get us onto the same floor, albeit at opposite ends. The hotel itself is well appointed and nicely situated at the quiet end of Elounda. The rooms are a bit on the basic side. We had a standard double. The bathroom had hot water occasionally and the shower head had no wall fixing, so had to be hand held and the plugs in ours and my mothers sinks didn't work. Our room was also next to the lift which was a bit noisy when used. Other than that, the hotel was good. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts were nice, as was the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are given block 4, stay away from the end room next to the lift. It's a bit noisy when in...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Akti Olous Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

+
went to Elounda Akti Olous first week in October and were hoping for a sea view room to the front however were allocated a fairly small room to the side of the building which was clean, had a tiny balcony and could just see the sea.
Food was acceptable but breakfast a monotonous repetition of tinned sausages, fried eggs (ok) bacon(ok) tomatoes. Good fresh yoghurt , nice selection of breads , jams, honey, fruit.
Whoever located the coffee machine half way along the self service food area needs to re think this as it creates a logjam as its so slow.
Swimming pool on the roof is NOT SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN as it is 1.8 metres deep all the way round with no steps or shallow end. Not much room for sunbeds on roof terrace either.
Rooftop bar is very pleasant and well run by Monique who has a sense of humour.
No smoke detection system in hotel other than a few domestic smoke alarms in corridor.
The best thing about this hotel is its location overlooking a beautiful bay towards the old leper colony of Spinalonga..

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the rooms to the front as the rest have dismal views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Crete. I believe we choose the right place and the right hotel. However, the timing might have been better as the weather changed in the last half of our holiday.

I read all the reviews about the Akti Olous and I must say I agree with the majority of them. The hotels situation could not be bettered. The hotel itself was spotless and kept clean by a small army of ladies who were so polite and had a warm greeting and smile whenever you saw them.

The rest of the staff were very good especially the lady who ran the bar in the early part of the day and then from 8pm till late (I'm really sorry I never asked your name but you are an asset to the hotel).

We had booked half board but actually only ate dinner in the restuarant on 3 occasions. The food was varied but not inspiring. The Blue Sea Restaurant which is attached to the hotel is good and you do get a discount if your on half board at the hotel. You do have to book if you'd like to eat here. The breakfast again was varied and catered for all nationalities. Our one and only gripe perhaps is that the hot food was only ever luke warm (there was everything you could wish for for a full English). I could only suggest that a microwave would be invaluable alongside the toaster for those who like it hot (the breakfast and the weather that is!!!!). However, you can take your breakfast across the road and eat at the tables of the Blue Sea restaurant. Every day should start with a coffee and a bite to eat at this location, I wish!!!!

Elounda itself is breathtaking (you get a wonderful 360 degree view of it from the hotels Sky Bar). Everyone we met were warm kind and friendly. Be prepared to put on weight as everytime you stop for a drink there is always a little addition alongside it.

Dimitri's, just opposite the Elounda church had the best gyros, cheese and spinach pies and were brilliant for lunch. They have a few tables across the road which overlooks the harbour and main road, a wonderful spot for people watching.

And finally, make use of the little Happly Trains (Blue and Red (well maroon really!!). We went on both. We took the Blue Train up into the hills with a lovely guide who was very knowledgeable and interesting. I learnt a lot of things about the Cretan/Greek way of life and in return taught her the old adage of the glass half full/half empty. If I could make a living for 6 months of the year in that part of the world my glass would definately always be half full!!

Go to Elounda and enjoy everything the Akti Olous Hotel has to offer. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: From what I can gather try to get rooms on the 2nd/3rd floor. I would think that you would get a de...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheresaJane1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from another great holiday. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it never fails, staff are always friendly and helpful food is good in the restaurant,. and its in the ideal location for a perfect relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

just returned from a Jet2 holiday at this hotel. As has previously been stated room allocation here is a bit of a lottery but ours was great .217 on the second floor, right at the front of the hotel with a good sea view.
From the first greeting by Soula on reception to check out all the staff were friendly and very efficient. We were B&B and ate most nights in the Blue Sea restaurant as we found this to be as good as and better than many others in the town.Breakfast was better than many four star places. It is aimed at both British and other European guests so some of the choices may seem a little strange to some people.My only gripe is that the coffee machine is in the wrong place and this causes a bottle neck at busy times. A fridge and kettle in the room was a great bonus as we made coffee before going down to breakfast. A fullsize British made bathroom was great (not paper in the bin ). Iwould be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank peterdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Early September saw our fourth holiday in Elounda staying once again at this lovely hotel. You could not wish for a nicer place to stay. The hotel staff are all so friendly and you are made to feel so very welcome. The location is stunning and the food and service offered at the Blue Sea Restaurant is first-class. We also enjoyed our visits to the Sky Bar with magnificent views of Elounda and surrounding area. Our comfortable room was at the side of the hotel with a magnificent view from the balcony and we did not hesitate to request air conditioning. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the side of the hotel looking towards the town stay nice and cool and towards the front...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Still here at the moment, it's our last day tomorrow. It has been an absolute pleasure staying here. Friendly staff, cleanliness is second to none, wonderful breakfast, excellent food at the restaurant, fantastic location. If you are wanting to come to elounda next year then this is the place to stay.elounda is a gem of a lace. Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kalimerajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $66 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing