We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could do better”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This review would be better but for two things. We made the mistake of booking half board, and the evening meals were very mediocre, served in the indoor dining area and gave no choice. We ate in once, and never again. Book bed and breakfast if you want a nice dinner. Secondly, we arrived after an horrific journey where the plane got re-routed to Chania, and endured a five hour journey by coach with no drinks available. We arrived at 2.40 in the morning, tired and dehydrated, and when we asked for a drink the man at reception told us to go and find a shop open! He did not offer us the air conditioning control, and watched us struggle with the lift doors. Eventually, after she returned to insist, he sold my daughter a bottle of water. So we survived the night. It must be said that the other staff, particularly the waiting and bar staff, were charming. The location of the hotel is beautiful.

Room Tip: We had to change to get the room we asked for after being given a small front room. As mother and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    221
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
73
401
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is the jewel in the crown for Akti. Went for a 10 day break with four teenage children and they enjoyed every minute. Bed and Breakfast only but that was perfect for us. Young girl who runs the bar upstairs by the Pool is good fun and friendly. Recommend as a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archiebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent a week 7th May at this hotel and had a great time. The hotel is absolutely spotless everywhere from the reception, dining room, pool, and the rooms. We could not fault it in any way.The rooms were lovley and the breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cold foods and a hot buffet which was very fresh every morning. The staff are all so warm and friendly and really cant do enough to help you. They are always there with a lovley smile no matter what time of the day. We met the owner and we told her that the hotel was indeed a credit to her everything was perfect. The view is simply stunning and the location is perfect within easy reach to many restaurants and bars. We had a fantastic holiday and we will definately be returning very soon hopefully in September can't wait !!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor 306 which had a side sea view it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the first week of the season via Olympic Holidays and can only say that it was a true delight. The hotel lived up to all the previous reviews with a friendly warmth by all the staff. Stathis and Nikos were very good hosts and will endeavour to make sure your visit is perfect.
The highlight of visit was joining in the Greek celebrations for Easter which were on May 3rd for Good Friday with the night procession at midnight on the Saturday leading into Easter Sunday. The hotel provided candles which were lit after the church service in the church in the square. Fire crackers were lit and everyone joined in with the procession with people coming out of theirs houses to have their candles lit. It was a very emotional experience and if you can visit at the time of the Greek Orthodox Easter I am sure you will not be disappointed. The hotel organised a Spit Roast Lamb cooked on the beach opposite the hotel for Easter Sunday lunch which was enjoyed by many of guests staying in the hotel.
The food in the hotel was excellent - we were on half board - never a disappointment - and never repeated. Ellie and Stathis were very good at serving in the restaurant - Stathis made recommendations which we accepted and it was all very well presented.
The breakfast was very varied with a selection of cheese, cold meats, fruit, yoghurt and honey, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, beans, French toast, mushrooms, selection of pastries and toast.
We were lucky with the weather until the last day when the clouds arrived but hey you don't expect a solid week of sunshine at this time of the year.
I have left till last the description of the rooms as the are a tad on the small side and the sea view is slightly side on but it did not hinder our enjoyment as the bed was very comfortable and we were lucky to have a bathroom with a half bath. Never a problem with the hot water supply also toiletries were provided. On a final note the roof top pool was lovely with views around the bay and beyond to Spinalonga which is a boat ride away from the harbour 10euros per adult return. It was a very interesting trip and especially those who have read the book "the Island" but even better read is "Yiannis" giving a more realistic story of the leper colony.
All in all my husband and I had an excellent holiday and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on second or third floor with the best sea views would be 201, 202, 203 and 301, 302 and 303 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekislandchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Well folkes a new season soon begins here on Crete and Elounda in particular,things change over the winter at the Akti Olous and guests returning will find many new features and not just a coat of paint.

However its simple charm remains unchanged and the service and attention to detail just gets better from a family who really do care.
Why the tour operators do not include Crete as a winter holiday venue I do not know , the weather this winter has been simply beautiful once again.

The family Zervos all look forward to welcoming You opn your holiday and I look forward once again to seeing old friends return to this little jewel in the sun.

I have wrote so much about this hotel over the years and yes mostly it has has been good ,perhaps not perfect but what ever is .
Now living in the village I visit the hotel every day ,my family and friends stay there on vacation and this year it will be even better .

Make your holiday in Elounda at the Akti Olous Hotel all the very best for 2013 Jon and the Boo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JonWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Drinks and meals right on the beach and service with a smile! Spectular location, a short walk to a glorious beach or the option of the rooftop pool. Ok it's not flash like some of the other hotels in the area but in my opinion it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank R0x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Could nt fault Elounda people. N locals so freindly hotel spot on. The staff and family who run the hotel first class food top notch veiws from the sky bar fantastic drinks n food fairly priced. Booked for september this year cant wait.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joecram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#19 of 35 in Elounda
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing