We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned 2 days ago from this friendly hotel. We were welcomed by Sula on arrival at 8pm and taken up to our 2nd floor room. We had a side view towards the front looking towards the causeway. The room was immaculately clean and a reasonable size. We could sit in the sun on the balcony early in the morning. Loved going for breakfast on the pontoon and feeding the fish. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was quite good but we tried other restaurants in the town as well. The location of the hotel is perfect only taking 5 minutes to walk along to the harbour. It was very quiet at night time for sleeping. We preferred to sit on the roof by the pool or under the shade rather than the tiny pebbly beach. It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the sandy beach if that's what you prefer. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and this made it one of our best holidays ever. Most relaxing!

Room Tip: Higher floors towards the front were better
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Akti Olous Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 680 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited this hotel on 4.9 12 for 2 weeks,This is one of the nicest & friendliest hotel we have stayed at.The owners and all their staff were so friendly and nothing was a bother to them.We had a room on the 3rd floor with a side sea view the beds & towels were changed every 2 days and the room was kept spotless,We stayed half board but opted to eat in the Blue sea restaurant where they took 7 euros each off our bill every night.The menu is vast & the portions are more than enough.The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of continental & english.
There are plenty of eating places on the way into elounda harbour which is only 5mins stroll away.Spinalonga a good trip to go on but book through the hotel reception its a lot cheaper.We loved this holiday so much that on returning home on the 18th sept we booked to go back the following day for 3/9/13.We were there the same time as the 3 witches of eastwick as they call themselves and enjoyed their company hope to see them next year.This is a 3 star hotel but merits being a lot higher.Our recommendation came from some friends who have stayed at this hotel for 10 yrs all we can say is thank you for your recommendation.We went through Jet 2 the flight both ways was very good and spot on time the transfers 1hr 45mins pity it couldnt be a little bit less. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited 4.9.12 for 1 week with friends. One of the 3 Witches of Eastwick. Hotel was amazing perfectly situated for all amenities. This should be a 5 star for the exceptional staff who made our holiday the most enjoyable holiday so far. We would highly recommend for a relaxing ,friendly and welcoming experience. Our Room was ideal for 3 people very clean top marks to the room maids. We will hopefully be returning next year. Spinalonga is a must visit very emotional if you have read the book The Island. We met some very nice people and hopefully would love see them again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunderlandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week and paid £370 each for b&b inc flights with On The Beach and were really happy with our choice

The room itself set in the 'other' building was not special in any way yet it was large and airy with good sized bathroom, fridge, hair dryer and decent wardrobe space. It even had a chaise longue! Maid service was excellent, in fact staff service throughout was brilliant, they even helped arrange one of our trips. You get the feeling this like so many things on Crete is a well run family run business.

The main lobby area and restaurant space appears to have been recently refurbished and was very comfortable (free WiFi available in the lobby area). The restaurant area extends (across the road) using a pontoon and is a lovely place to have breakfast 'on the water'. Breakfast was plentiful if repetitive, cereals, yogurt & honey, toast, eggs, bacon, beans, etc.

The hotel is set along the beach road approx 200m from Elounda centre, not sure how busy Elounda gets in high season but I imagine this helps keep it quiet. Free parking is available.

The Akti Olous does have a small strip of pebble beach with free loungers but it also has a very good roof top pool again with loungers and very nicely worked bar and sitting area with lovely views across the bay (WiFi also available here)

All in all I would definitely recommend this as a budget priced peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VolcanicFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent holiday in Elounda in early September for two weeks (third year running) especially our stay at the Atki Olous Hotel. The staff were so helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. We were well looked after and thought our room was brilliant - extremely clean and comfortable. We love it there so much we will be going again next year. The location is quiet stunning.

We enjoyed a meal in the hotel's Blue Sea Restaurant where the food and service is first class.

.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors have a better view of the mountains and rooms toward the front...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently returned from a week at Akti Olous on a half board basis. The breakfast you couldn't fault but the buffet evening meal there wasn't much choice to pick from it was a set meal but nothing to say what you were eating. The room we had was at the very back near the main road and facing a wall with no view whatsover. If we opened the balcony door you got the smell of oil so consequently it wasn't opened too much. The hotel was cleaned every day.. The lady who was on the Sky bar at night who is polish was very pleasant and welcoming nothing was a bother to her. We will certainly go back to Elounda but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 407lilypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 04/09/2012,there were 3 of us ( ladies vacation), we called ourselves the 3 witches of eastwick.We had a superb time , the hotel was lovely and clean,and in a great location, with very friendly staff.
From the hotel A'LACarte restaurant we could view the island of Spinalonga and the peninsula.
From the roof top bar and pool the view was even more spectacular.
Quiet and peaceful, location with a 5-10 minute stroll into Elounda Square,where the harbour is located
.A visit to Spinalonga island is a must.
Elounda is a very beautiful place, for a quiet and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: some rooms do not have a sea view, if you prefer a sea view it is to be requested at time of booking...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $66 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing