We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in a great location....”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is just on the outskirts of the town of Elounda and is in a beautiful position overlooking the bay towards Elounda Island. We were fortunate enough to be given a sea view room of which I am thankful. The rooms were a little on the basic side but were perfectly comfortable. The safe cost 3Euros per day which I would say is an essential for passports etc and air con is a little more at 6Euros per day. We stayed from May 22nd June 5th. The first week we didnt need aircon but toward the end of the second week it was a must.

We stayed half board, and the food was fine, pretty much as epected when a restaurant is buffet style. We sat outside in the morning for breakfast but stayed in doors of an evening as we were not sure if we were allowed to venture outside as the outside area becomes the Blue Sea restaurant from lunch time for external paying custom. It didnt spoil our stay though.

The pool was good and offered a welcomed dip when it became too hot! Just a note though, I fell when walking round the pool in bare feet. It had become quite greasy under foot. No matter, I just shook it off.

The staff were very friendly, especially Aanka and Beglo in the restaurant and Monika up in the skybar. The hotel is family run and has a lovely down to earth feel about it.

We would definately stay again and would recommend it to couples. Beautiful location and very good value for money!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance of your holiday and request a sea view room, they will accomodate if able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 686 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stgayed in this hotel last September and with its roof garden with pool and bar and its beach restaurant you couldnt want more from this quaint hotel. \the food was good an the staff were friendly. The rooms were very nice. However, like most places abroad they could do with better showers. You could sit out on the platoon to have your breakfast and watch the fish in the clear water or sit inside out of the sun or the wind if you wanted. This is my 4th visit to Elounda and we got married here 3 years ago and will keep visiting as it is absolutely gorgeous and peaceful. Visit the canal bar or Thea restaurant. Take a trip to Plaka on the road train or up into the mountains with the friendliest tour guide Karen

Room Tip: There are 2 sections to this hotel. One part that looks out on to the beach and the other that looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have friends who live in Elounda and have stayed with them but decided on the Akti Olous as I was travelling with another friend this time. The location was gret as my Elounda friends live practically next door. We had a room with a sea view balcony and although the balcony was small, the view more than makes up for it. The room was very clean and we had fresh bedding and towels every day.

We opted for half board as it was only approx £50 more than bed & breakfast and we ate in the hotel 4 nights out of the 7 we stayed. The food was excellent every night with various salad items to start followed by a choice of 3 traditional main courses with accompanying vegetables/rice then a dessert. The service was quick and friendly and all in all great value for money. Breakfast again offered a wide choice and was delicious.

My only criticism is that the roof top pool area is quite small but as there are lots of pool bars on the front in Elounda and they are happy to let you sunbathe if you're buying a drink, this wasn't a problem as we just easily found another pool we were happy with. Had we fancied the beach there was always the small private strip at the front of the hotel.

All in all I would recommend the Akti Olous to anyone travelling to Elounda.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Well here We are once again as another season unfolds ,a little slow getting off the starting blocks this year but June came in with beautiful warm sunny weather from the start plus thirties ,warm sea,everything one could want and more.

The Hotel with a fresh coat of paint and few new staff remains as always a pleasure to visit ,a warm welcome friendly helpful .but not in your face staff and a guaranteed wonderful stay.

Old Friends turning up every day speaks volumes about this little family run jewel of an hotel,it may not be five star but what You get here is worth every penny after fourteen years I am never ever dissapointed .

Yes the rooms may be small but they are clean ,and the towels and bedding are cleaned and changed regularly throughout ones stay.

The food offered be it BB or half or full board is plentiful varied and enjoyable complimented by the Blue Sea restaurant where one can get anything from a snack to a full blown meal at affordable sensible prices.

YES I AM SOLD ON THIS HOTEL ....DO I GET ANYTHING FROM WRITING SUCH A REVIEW

NO ONLY THE PLEAURE OF PASSING ON TO OTHERS WHAT MY WIFE AND I FOUND BY ACCIDENT ALL THOSE YEARS AGO......

JONWALTON....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JonWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel was a bargain, so there isn't anything to complain about. The room was nice. The roof terrace is lovely, as is the pool area, but it got full very quickly on a morning. Elaine, who works in the bar area is a character. The hotel staff were helpful, but not overly friendly, except for the man on night duty who was lovely. The breakfast was alright, but it was nice that you could sit outside to eat it.
We were a group of four girls in our late twenties and we felt a bit too young compared to the rest of the guests!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannonGarforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Akti Olous, Elounda. We didn't really know what to expect from this 3 star hotel after reading some of the reviews. We needn't have worried. The hotel is excellent in every respect.

The staff went out of their way to please the guests. We had originally booked a large garden room but enquired about a sea view when we arrived. We were shown the sea view room first, a little on the small side but very tastefully decorated and spotless. We then looked at the garden room which was really large and again very tastefully decorated. We did opt for the sea view room which was right on the front.

We booked half board. The breakfast was quite adequate and the dinner was served in the Blue Bay Restaurant over the sea (excellent views of the bay). Could not fault the dinner at all which was served by very friendly waitresses and waiter. Later on in the season a buffet is provided for the guests, but it was very nice to be served at the table.

Would we go again, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgessWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Have travelled extensively over the years and must add the Atki Olous to our favourite places.Our room was big,spotlessly clean and had a lovely balcony, all for a very reasonable price. The staff were genuinely pleasant and friendly and the hotel was exactly what it said it was.We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Our "garden view" actually had a lovely view out to Spinalonga. Ask for a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank elena k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
517 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing